Reposted HELP Urgently Needed



Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
Here is the setup...


Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines


The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.

But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
which will not function correctly over the satellite.

My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and if
the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and everything
is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
running windows XP.

Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss

You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as the
user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway 1)

IPconfig /all as follows

IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW

IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
DHCP 192.168.130.200
DNS 192.168.130.200
192.168.130.53
PRIMARY 192.168.130.200

I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....

Any help would be much appreciated!

Kind Regards Simon

.................

Clark
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
Are they all using the same version of XP, all SP2? Does the owner of the
one that doesn't work remember making any changes or clicking on any windows
that suggested changes?

If it can't get to the internet, could it be an AOL problem?

Clark

"Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
news:%238zD0xcZFHA.3364@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> Here is the setup...
>
>
> Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
> Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
> Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
> Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>
>
> The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>
> But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
> which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>
> My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and if
> the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
> internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and
> everything
> is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
> running windows XP.
>
> Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>
> You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as the
> user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway 1)
>
> IPconfig /all as follows
>
> IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>
> IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
> SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
> DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
> DHCP 192.168.130.200
> DNS 192.168.130.200
> 192.168.130.53
> PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>
> I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>
> Any help would be much appreciated!
>
> Kind Regards Simon
>
> ................
>
>
>
>
>
>

Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
They are all runnig windows xp service pack 2. No the owner of the laptop
remembers making no changes. If I use gateway 2 with either AOL or Internet
explorer niether can access the internet, if I use gateway 1 all is fine
appart from aol being VERY VERY slow because of the satellite.

Any more ideas????




"Clark" <who@whoknows.com> wrote in message
news:tqYme.741$RV5.87@newssvr30.news.prodigy.com...
> Are they all using the same version of XP, all SP2? Does the owner of the
> one that doesn't work remember making any changes or clicking on any
> windows that suggested changes?
>
> If it can't get to the internet, could it be an AOL problem?
>
> Clark
>
> "Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:%238zD0xcZFHA.3364@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>> Here is the setup...
>>
>>
>> Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
>> Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
>> Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
>> Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>>
>>
>> The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>>
>> But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
>> which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>>
>> My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and
>> if
>> the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
>> internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and
>> everything
>> is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
>> running windows XP.
>>
>> Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>>
>> You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as the
>> user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway
>> 1)
>>
>> IPconfig /all as follows
>>
>> IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>>
>> IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
>> SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
>> DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
>> DHCP 192.168.130.200
>> DNS 192.168.130.200
>> 192.168.130.53
>> PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>>
>> I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>>
>> Any help would be much appreciated!
>>
>> Kind Regards Simon
>>
>> ................
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>
>

Chuck
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
On Tue, 31 May 2005 11:28:51 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
<simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:

>Here is the setup...
>
>
>Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
>Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
>Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
>Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>
>
>The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>
>But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
>which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>
>My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and if
>the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
>internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and everything
>is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
>running windows XP.
>
>Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>
>You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as the
>user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway 1)
>
>IPconfig /all as follows
>
>IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>
>IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
>SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
>DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
>DHCP 192.168.130.200
>DNS 192.168.130.200
> 192.168.130.53
>PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>
>I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>
>Any help would be much appreciated!
>
>Kind Regards Simon

Simon,

Check your MTU settings.
http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article04-107
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=314825
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=319661
http://www.allensmith.net/Windows/ICS/xpICSmtu.htm

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Clark
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
I would go through and check the settings on the laptops and compare them to
the one that doesn't work. Maybe you will notice something.

Don't take this as an expert opinion, because I may be totally wrong. You
show you have a DNS server in your network--is that correct? Gateway 2 is
the .130.50 machine? I have a small network, so I use the DNS servers I got
from the DSL provider. I also don't have AOL, but do they not have their
own servers?

Have you checked the security settings on the laptop? Any MAC filtering or
WEP/WAP settings that might need to be altered?

Clark

"Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
news:%23jlDwNeZFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> They are all runnig windows xp service pack 2. No the owner of the laptop
> remembers making no changes. If I use gateway 2 with either AOL or
> Internet explorer niether can access the internet, if I use gateway 1 all
> is fine appart from aol being VERY VERY slow because of the satellite.
>
> Any more ideas????
>
>
>
>
> "Clark" <who@whoknows.com> wrote in message
> news:tqYme.741$RV5.87@newssvr30.news.prodigy.com...
>> Are they all using the same version of XP, all SP2? Does the owner of
>> the one that doesn't work remember making any changes or clicking on any
>> windows that suggested changes?
>>
>> If it can't get to the internet, could it be an AOL problem?
>>
>> Clark
>>
>> "Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
>> news:%238zD0xcZFHA.3364@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>> Here is the setup...
>>>
>>>
>>> Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
>>> Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
>>> Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
>>> Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>>>
>>>
>>> The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>>>
>>> But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
>>> which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>>>
>>> My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and
>>> if
>>> the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
>>> internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and
>>> everything
>>> is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
>>> running windows XP.
>>>
>>> Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>>>
>>> You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as
>>> the
>>> user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway
>>> 1)
>>>
>>> IPconfig /all as follows
>>>
>>> IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>>>
>>> IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
>>> SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
>>> DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
>>> DHCP 192.168.130.200
>>> DNS 192.168.130.200
>>> 192.168.130.53
>>> PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>>>
>>> I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>>>
>>> Any help would be much appreciated!
>>>
>>> Kind Regards Simon
>>>
>>> ................
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
Clark,

Thanks for the suggestions but I have tried all of those.........


Any other ideas?



Kind Regards


Simon


"Clark" <who@whoknows.com> wrote in message
news:ZQ_me.758$RV5.295@newssvr30.news.prodigy.com...
>I would go through and check the settings on the laptops and compare them
>to the one that doesn't work. Maybe you will notice something.
>
> Don't take this as an expert opinion, because I may be totally wrong. You
> show you have a DNS server in your network--is that correct? Gateway 2 is
> the .130.50 machine? I have a small network, so I use the DNS servers I
> got from the DSL provider. I also don't have AOL, but do they not have
> their own servers?
>
> Have you checked the security settings on the laptop? Any MAC filtering
> or WEP/WAP settings that might need to be altered?
>
> Clark
>
> "Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
> news:%23jlDwNeZFHA.2128@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> They are all runnig windows xp service pack 2. No the owner of the laptop
>> remembers making no changes. If I use gateway 2 with either AOL or
>> Internet explorer niether can access the internet, if I use gateway 1 all
>> is fine appart from aol being VERY VERY slow because of the satellite.
>>
>> Any more ideas????
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> "Clark" <who@whoknows.com> wrote in message
>> news:tqYme.741$RV5.87@newssvr30.news.prodigy.com...
>>> Are they all using the same version of XP, all SP2? Does the owner of
>>> the one that doesn't work remember making any changes or clicking on any
>>> windows that suggested changes?
>>>
>>> If it can't get to the internet, could it be an AOL problem?
>>>
>>> Clark
>>>
>>> "Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in
>>> message news:%238zD0xcZFHA.3364@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>>> Here is the setup...
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
>>>> Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
>>>> Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
>>>> Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>>>>
>>>> But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
>>>> which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>>>>
>>>> My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and
>>>> if
>>>> the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
>>>> internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and
>>>> everything
>>>> is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
>>>> running windows XP.
>>>>
>>>> Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>>>>
>>>> You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as
>>>> the
>>>> user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway
>>>> 1)
>>>>
>>>> IPconfig /all as follows
>>>>
>>>> IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>>>>
>>>> IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
>>>> SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
>>>> DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
>>>> DHCP 192.168.130.200
>>>> DNS 192.168.130.200
>>>> 192.168.130.53
>>>> PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>>>>
>>>> I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>>>>
>>>> Any help would be much appreciated!
>>>>
>>>> Kind Regards Simon
>>>>
>>>> ................
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>

Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Chuck,

I have tried the below but still with no success, do you or anybody else
have any further advise?


Kind Regards


Simon



"Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
news:u9ro91ls6o27u8fo8r6f8bjja772inemqk@4ax.com...
> On Tue, 31 May 2005 11:28:51 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
> <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:
>
>>Here is the setup...
>>
>>
>>Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
>>Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
>>Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
>>Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>>
>>
>>The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>>
>>But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
>>which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>>
>>My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and if
>>the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
>>internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and
>>everything
>>is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
>>running windows XP.
>>
>>Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>>
>>You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as the
>>user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway 1)
>>
>>IPconfig /all as follows
>>
>>IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>>
>>IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
>>SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
>>DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
>>DHCP 192.168.130.200
>>DNS 192.168.130.200
>> 192.168.130.53
>>PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>>
>>I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>>
>>Any help would be much appreciated!
>>
>>Kind Regards Simon
>
> Simon,
>
> Check your MTU settings.
> http://www.annoyances.org/exec/show/article04-107
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=314825
> http://support.microsoft.com/?id=319661
> http://www.allensmith.net/Windows/ICS/xpICSmtu.htm
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.

Chuck
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
On Tue, 31 May 2005 20:26:14 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
<simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:

>Chuck,
>
>I have tried the below but still with no success, do you or anybody else
>have any further advise?
>
>
>Kind Regards
>
>
>Simon

Simon,

Provide complete "ipconfig /all" for 4 computers:
- The problem computer.
- One computer that can use Gateway #2.
- Gateway #1.
- Gateway #2.

To provide complete "ipconfig /all":
# Start - Run - "cmd".
# Type "ipconfig /all >c:\ipconfig.txt" into the command window.
# Open Notepad, and make sure that Format - Word Wrap is NOT checked!.
# Open file c:\ipconfig.txt from Notepad.
# Copy and paste entire contents of the file into your next message.
# Identify operating system (by name, version, and Service Pack level) with each
ipconfig listing.
# Please don't munge or omit any detail, as there is nothing provided by
ipconfig that could provide help, to any bad guy, in identifying an entry point
to your LAN. The good guys, on the other hand, may need any or all of the
details, to accurately diagnose your problem. Help Us To Help You.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/troubleshooting-internet-service.html#AskingForHelp>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Armin
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Simon Glencross wrote:
> Chuck,
>
> I have tried the below but still with no success, do you or anybody else
> have any further advise?

Have you checked the Proxy settings in IE? Perhaps he needed a proxy
to access the net when he was away and forgot to remove it again?

Armin

Chuck
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
On Tue, 31 May 2005 20:26:14 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
<simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:

>Chuck,
>
>I have tried the below but still with no success, do you or anybody else
>have any further advise?
>
>
>Kind Regards
>
>
>Simon

Simon,

WRT the problem laptop, maybe figuring out what may have changed would be a good
starting point. What type of network was used when it was here in America? Was
it also used for Internet access then, if so of what service?

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Checked this earlier.

Thanks anyway


"Armin" <meanon@telus.net> wrote in message
news:1117571444.532479.286090@g49g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
>
>
> Simon Glencross wrote:
>> Chuck,
>>
>> I have tried the below but still with no success, do you or anybody else
>> have any further advise?
>
> Have you checked the Proxy settings in IE? Perhaps he needed a proxy
> to access the net when he was away and forgot to remove it again?
>
> Armin
>

Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Chuck,

While in America I setup a Lynksys Wireless G Router for internet access
with DHCP enabled.

Everything worked fine while they where away..


"Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
news:p4ip91tkd899fh2osk2mhn3g4vgbhdi04c@4ax.com...
> On Tue, 31 May 2005 20:26:14 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
> <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:
>
>>Chuck,
>>
>>I have tried the below but still with no success, do you or anybody else
>>have any further advise?
>>
>>
>>Kind Regards
>>
>>
>>Simon
>
> Simon,
>
> WRT the problem laptop, maybe figuring out what may have changed would be
> a good
> starting point. What type of network was used when it was here in
> America? Was
> it also used for Internet access then, if so of what service?
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.

Chuck
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
On Tue, 31 May 2005 22:26:43 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
<simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:

>Chuck,
>
>While in America I setup a Lynksys Wireless G Router for internet access
>with DHCP enabled.
>
>Everything worked fine while they where away..

Simon,

So was it you in America, or someone else? I'm not asking for idle amusement,
sometimes the smallest detail might point towards a problem resolution.

Try, in the meantime, checking the LSP / Winsock.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/problems-with-lsp-winsock-layer-in.html>

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Simon Glencross
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Chuck,

It was the Managing Director who was in the states, I am the IT person who
setup the router for the states and the laptop.

Here is the ipconfig /all from the xp machine which is not connecting to the
internet through Gateway 2.

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lakesidehotel
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100
3B Mi
ni PCI Adapter
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-23-4D-25-29
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.21
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.50
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.200
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.200
192.168.130.53
Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.201
Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 192.168.130.200
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 01 June 2005 00:01:12
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 09 June 2005 00:01:12

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network
Connecti
on
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-46-A2-FC-D7

I have reset the winsock but still no success!


Any other ideas?






"Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
news:b4qp91lip5kq08kmv8u1c7rpgra8p6b22s@4ax.com...
> On Tue, 31 May 2005 22:26:43 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
> <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:
>
>>Chuck,
>>
>>While in America I setup a Lynksys Wireless G Router for internet access
>>with DHCP enabled.
>>
>>Everything worked fine while they where away..
>
> Simon,
>
> So was it you in America, or someone else? I'm not asking for idle
> amusement,
> sometimes the smallest detail might point towards a problem resolution.
>
> Try, in the meantime, checking the LSP / Winsock.
> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/problems-with-lsp-winsock-layer-in.html>
>
> --
> Cheers,
> Chuck
> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
> Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
> My email is AT DOT
> actual address pchuck sonic net.

Chuck
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
On Wed, 1 Jun 2005 00:13:44 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
<simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:

>Chuck,
>
>It was the Managing Director who was in the states, I am the IT person who
>setup the router for the states and the laptop.
>
>Here is the ipconfig /all from the xp machine which is not connecting to the
>internet through Gateway 2.

<SNIP>

>I have reset the winsock but still no success!
>
>
>Any other ideas?

Simon,

You might find a solution if you can compare ipconfig for the 4 computers as I
suggested earlier. Here's a brief guide on what to look for, maybe it will
help.
<http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/reading-ipconfig-and-diagnosing.html>

If that doesn't help, post the other 3 here, and I'll look later this evening.

--
Cheers,
Chuck
http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
My email is AT DOT
actual address pchuck sonic net.

Clark
07-10-2005, 12:53 AM
Are you using the WZC to control the card or the Intel driver? I had a
problem with mine on this Dell and ended up using the generic Intel driver
and manager with the WZC turned off. Of course, prior to that I uninstalled
the card and reinstalled it.

All this aside, if it worked prior to the trip, then something you (or the
director) changed is probably causing the problem. As I suggested earlier,
check the laptops that do work against the settings on this one.

Clark

"Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
news:uUxTOdjZFHA.1152@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Chuck,
>
> It was the Managing Director who was in the states, I am the IT person who
> setup the router for the states and the laptop.
>
> Here is the ipconfig /all from the xp machine which is not connecting to
> the internet through Gateway 2.
>
> Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:
>
> Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : lakesidehotel
> Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/Wireless LAN 2100
> 3B Mi
> ni PCI Adapter
> Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-04-23-4D-25-29
> Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
> Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
> IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.21
> Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
> Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.50
> DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.200
> DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.200
> 192.168.130.53
> Primary WINS Server . . . . . . . : 192.168.130.201
> Secondary WINS Server . . . . . . : 192.168.130.200
> Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 01 June 2005 00:01:12
> Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 09 June 2005 00:01:12
>
> Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
>
> Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
> Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) PRO/100 VE Network
> Connecti
> on
> Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 08-00-46-A2-FC-D7
>
> I have reset the winsock but still no success!
>
>
> Any other ideas?
>
>
>
>
>
>
> "Chuck" <none@example.net> wrote in message
> news:b4qp91lip5kq08kmv8u1c7rpgra8p6b22s@4ax.com...
>> On Tue, 31 May 2005 22:26:43 +0100, "Simon Glencross"
>> <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote:
>>
>>>Chuck,
>>>
>>>While in America I setup a Lynksys Wireless G Router for internet access
>>>with DHCP enabled.
>>>
>>>Everything worked fine while they where away..
>>
>> Simon,
>>
>> So was it you in America, or someone else? I'm not asking for idle
>> amusement,
>> sometimes the smallest detail might point towards a problem resolution.
>>
>> Try, in the meantime, checking the LSP / Winsock.
>> <http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/2005/05/problems-with-lsp-winsock-layer-in.html>
>>
>> --
>> Cheers,
>> Chuck
>> http://nitecruzr.blogspot.com/
>> Paranoia is not a problem - it's a normal response from experience.
>> My email is AT DOT
>> actual address pchuck sonic net.
>
>

Robert Arnold
07-10-2005, 12:55 AM
When you say can;t acess the internet what exactly do you mean? What apps
are you using to test the access?

If you are testing with IE/OE then has a wierd proxy configuration been
inserted. To check this in IE Tools - Internet Options - Connections tab -
Proxy button.

If you can ping the gateway2, can you ping the next step down the line (or
should that be, up the link).


Rob

"Simon Glencross" <simon.glencross@sg.consultancy.co.uk> wrote in message
news:%238zD0xcZFHA.3364@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> Here is the setup...
>
>
> Windows 2003 Server ( DNS & DHCP inastalled)
> Satellite Internet Connection (Defualt Gateway 1)
> Sonic Wall Internet Connection (Default Gateway 2)
> Mixture of Windows XP and 2000 Machines
>
>
> The majority of workstations use Gateway 1.
>
> But I have three laptops which us Gateway 2 as these users also use AOL
> which will not function correctly over the satellite.
>
> My problem is that 1 of the laptop owners has returned from America and if
> the laptop (running Windows XP) uses gateway 2 it will not access the
> internet ? but will using gateway 1, I have checked gateway 2 and
> everything
> is fine and other workstations / laptops can access gateway 2 which are
> running windows XP.
>
> Any help would be much appreciated on this one as I am at a loss
>
> You may be thinking why not use Gateway 1 but this is not possible as the
> user uses AOL and it will not function over satllite broadband (Gateway 1)
>
> IPconfig /all as follows
>
> IPCONFIG /ALL BELOW
>
> IP ADDRESS 192.168.130.201
> SUBNETMASK 255.255.255.0
> DEFAULT GATEWAY 192.168.130.50
> DHCP 192.168.130.200
> DNS 192.168.130.200
> 192.168.130.53
> PRIMARY 192.168.130.200
>
> I can ping gateway 2 from the XP Machine.....
>
> Any help would be much appreciated!
>
> Kind Regards Simon
>
> ................
>
>
>
>
>
>


Reposted HELP Urgently Needed