Does *Netware* come default in XP?



Chad Harris
07-09-2005, 11:49 PM
On an XP Pro SP2 box. About a month ago I started seeing a box from Netware
(I assume Novelle) that references servers I'm not using on boot to Windows.
I just hit OK but lately when I tried to fast user switch I got the Netware
error that said it prevented it.

I try to know when I download software, and I don't remember this and it's
not a "hack" so is Netware a default part of Windows XP for networking and
the service that activates itwas somehow turned on or it was some how
activated?

The error corresponds to this MSKB:

Error Message When You Try to Turn On Welcome Screen or Fast User Switching
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315347

Tia,

Chad Harris
_______________________________________________________

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:49 PM
Hi Chad,

Netware is not normally installed by default, but it is included as an
option. Likely something you have installed is using it. Uninstalling it
would be an option in the properties of your network connection. Whether or
not it is actually needed would be determined by what is using it.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Chad Harris" <ddram32_nospam@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:OC$B7dCZFHA.1368@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> On an XP Pro SP2 box. About a month ago I started seeing a box from
> Netware (I assume Novelle) that references servers I'm not using on boot
> to Windows. I just hit OK but lately when I tried to fast user switch I
> got the Netware error that said it prevented it.
>
> I try to know when I download software, and I don't remember this and it's
> not a "hack" so is Netware a default part of Windows XP for networking and
> the service that activates itwas somehow turned on or it was some how
> activated?
>
> The error corresponds to this MSKB:
>
> Error Message When You Try to Turn On Welcome Screen or Fast User
> Switching
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315347
>
> Tia,
>
> Chad Harris
> _______________________________________________________
>

Steve N.
07-09-2005, 11:49 PM
Rick "Nutcase" Rogers wrote:

> Hi Chad,
>
> Netware is not normally installed by default, but it is included as an
> option. Likely something you have installed is using it. Uninstalling it
> would be an option in the properties of your network connection. Whether or
> not it is actually needed would be determined by what is using it.
>

No, Netware doesn't come included in any way, Netware is a network
server operating system. What is included in Windows is a crappy Client
Service for Netware and it doesn't work.

To access Netware services get the Novell client from Novell. It's free.

Steve

Steve N.
07-09-2005, 11:49 PM
Chad Harris wrote:

> On an XP Pro SP2 box. About a month ago I started seeing a box from Netware
> (I assume Novelle) that references servers I'm not using on boot to Windows.
> I just hit OK but lately when I tried to fast user switch I got the Netware
> error that said it prevented it.
>
> I try to know when I download software, and I don't remember this and it's
> not a "hack" so is Netware a default part of Windows XP for networking and
> the service that activates itwas somehow turned on or it was some how
> activated?
>
> The error corresponds to this MSKB:
>
> Error Message When You Try to Turn On Welcome Screen or Fast User Switching
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315347
>
> Tia,
>
> Chad Harris

The Novell client disables fast user switching and the welcome screen.

If you are not using a Novell network and it is the real Netware client
(with the red Novell login) then unistall it in add/remove programs. If
it is the MS Client Service for Novell Networks then uninstall it in
Network properties, Local area connection properties.

Steve

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:50 PM
"Client Service for Netware" is an option in the available networking
options in a default installation, look under clients. It is not installed
by default, but is there none the less.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Steve N." <me@here.now> wrote in message
news:ZTime.3011$MI4.2810@newsread2.news.pas.earthlink.net...
> Rick "Nutcase" Rogers wrote:
>
>> Hi Chad,
>>
>> Netware is not normally installed by default, but it is included as an
>> option. Likely something you have installed is using it. Uninstalling it
>> would be an option in the properties of your network connection. Whether
>> or not it is actually needed would be determined by what is using it.
>>
>
> No, Netware doesn't come included in any way, Netware is a network server
> operating system. What is included in Windows is a crappy Client Service
> for Netware and it doesn't work.
>
> To access Netware services get the Novell client from Novell. It's free.
>
> Steve
>

Steve N.
07-09-2005, 11:57 PM
Rick "Nutcase" Rogers wrote:

> "Client Service for Netware" is an option in the available networking
> options in a default installation, look under clients. It is not installed
> by default, but is there none the less.
>

Re-read what I wrote. All of it.

Steve


Does *Netware* come default in XP?