Need help with replacing motherboard on WinXP m/c



lifezcul
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
My eMachines PC recently stopped booting. I took it to repair shop & the
technician recommended replacing motherboard. After replacing the
motherboard (different OEM), PC boots up but doesn't start WinXP
(Home). It gives warnings about unsafe shutdown & asks to start in safe
mode. Selecting safe mode restarts PC again. He said the hard disk needs
to be formatted with new WinXP installation.
I've eMachines "Restore" CDs that came with PC, but it warns that I'll
loose all the data if I use them.

Is there a way to keep my data & applications on the hard disk safe
while reinstalling WinXP?

Will "Restore" work with new motherboard? Appreciate your advice.


--
lifezculPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
lifezcul wrote:

> My eMachines PC recently stopped booting. I took it to repair shop & the
> technician recommended replacing motherboard. After replacing the
> motherboard (different OEM), PC boots up but doesn't start WinXP
> (Home). It gives warnings about unsafe shutdown & asks to start in safe
> mode. Selecting safe mode restarts PC again. He said the hard disk needs
> to be formatted with new WinXP installation.
> I've eMachines "Restore" CDs that came with PC, but it warns that I'll
> loose all the data if I use them.
>
> Is there a way to keep my data & applications on the hard disk safe
> while reinstalling WinXP?
>
> Will "Restore" work with new motherboard? Appreciate your advice.
>
>

There are a couple of issues working against you. First the version of
windows you have is OEM from eMachines. The EULA, End User License
Agreement, ties that installation to the computer. It can be
reinstalled on the same system or on a replacement motherboard from the
same OEM but cannot be moved to another computer or other vendor's
motherboard.

Aside from the licensing issue which is for you to decide, the recovery
CD might not work at all on the new motherboard depending on how
eMachines does it.

First you should save any data that is critical that hasn't already been
saved. To do this slave the hard drive in another XP system and save
the essential data. Then try to do the restore with the eMachines
recover disk.

If that doesn't work you will need to buy a copy of XP, either OEM or
retail. Whether a retail upgrade version would work in upgrading the
installed OS so you don't loose programs and data, after you try the
recovery CDs - I don't know - maybe someone else can answer that.

The OEM version will not be able to do an upgrade - only a clean
install. After that you will need to install any programs from the
original media and restore data from the backups.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

Mike Hall \(MS-MVP\)
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
--
Mike Hall
MVP - Windows Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm





"lifezcul" <lifezcul.1ppuja@> wrote in message
news:U-udnTlucZzfIQrfRVn_vg@giganews.com...
>
> My eMachines PC recently stopped booting. I took it to repair shop & the
> technician recommended replacing motherboard. After replacing the
> motherboard (different OEM), PC boots up but doesn't start WinXP
> (Home). It gives warnings about unsafe shutdown & asks to start in safe
> mode. Selecting safe mode restarts PC again. He said the hard disk needs
> to be formatted with new WinXP installation.
> I've eMachines "Restore" CDs that came with PC, but it warns that I'll
> loose all the data if I use them.
>
> Is there a way to keep my data & applications on the hard disk safe
> while reinstalling WinXP?
>
> Will "Restore" work with new motherboard? Appreciate your advice.
>
>
> --
> lifezculPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>

Bruce Chambers
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
lifezcul wrote:
> My eMachines PC recently stopped booting. I took it to repair shop & the
> technician recommended replacing motherboard. After replacing the
> motherboard (different OEM), PC boots up but doesn't start WinXP
> (Home). It gives warnings about unsafe shutdown & asks to start in safe
> mode. Selecting safe mode restarts PC again.


This is to be expected. Normally, and assuming a retail license (many
OEM installations are not transferable to a new motherboard at all -
check yours before starting), unless the new motherboard is virtually
identical (same chipset, same IDE controllers, same BIOS version, etc.)
to the one on which the WinXP installation was originally performed,
you'll need to perform a repair (a.k.a. in-place upgrade) installation,
at the very least:

How to Perform an In-Place Upgrade of Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/directory/article.asp?ID=KB;EN-US;Q315341

The "why" is quite simple, really, and has nothing to do with
licensing issues, per se; it's a purely technical matter, at this point.
You've pulled the proverbial hardware rug out from under the OS. (If
you don't like -- or get -- the rug analogy, think of it as picking up a
Cape Cod style home and then setting it down onto a Ranch style
foundation. It just isn't going to fit.) WinXP, like Win2K before it,
is not nearly as "promiscuous" as Win9x when it comes to accepting any
old hardware configuration you throw at it. On installation it
"tailors" itself to the specific hardware found. This is one of the
reasons that the entire WinNT/2K/XP OS family is so much more stable
than the Win9x group.


> He said the hard disk needs
> to be formatted with new WinXP installation.


As he's now voided any warranty you might have had from eMachines,
you'll also now have to unnecessarily purchase another license for WinXP.


> I've eMachines "Restore" CDs that came with PC, but it warns that I'll
> loose all the data if I use them.
>
> Is there a way to keep my data & applications on the hard disk safe
> while reinstalling WinXP?
>

Not if all you have to use is an OEM Recovery CD. Such CDs are
specifically designed to do nothing for erase everything on the hard
drive and return the computer to the precise state that it was in when
it left the factory. It should be possible to use a retail CD (a
generic OEM CD might also work, but I'm not 100% positive) to perform a
repair installation, if the technician is at all competent.
(Unfortunately, I have to wonder about this; a competent technician
wouldn't have deliberately replaced an eMachines motherboard with
another brand, thereby placing you in this position. Nor would he have
expected WinXP to boot with the new motherboard.)


> Will "Restore" work with new motherboard?


Only if the new motherboard was provided by eMachines, and is an exact
duplicate of the failed motherboard. In other words, no. Is there any
particular reason you didn't avail yourself of eMachines support and
warranty channels?




--

Bruce Chambers

Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having
both at once. - RAH

lifezcul
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
I got generic CD & now I am able to use "Repair" installation option. It
detects Windows installation on hard disk. After selecting it to repair,
it asks Admin password. I am using my admin password, but it doesn't
like it. I've tried this at least 5-6 times now..This is the same
password I used to use when PC was fine.
I am confused as to why it doesn't proceed with what I enter.. Is there
a way to move ahead cuz the repair procedure stuck at this point?

PC is 2 1/2 yrs old and is out of standard warranty, so I doubt
eMachine would have helped me with motherboard.


--
lifezculPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
lifezcul wrote:

> I got generic CD & now I am able to use "Repair" installation option. It
> detects Windows installation on hard disk. After selecting it to repair,
> it asks Admin password. I am using my admin password, but it doesn't
> like it. I've tried this at least 5-6 times now..This is the same
> password I used to use when PC was fine.
> I am confused as to why it doesn't proceed with what I enter.. Is there
> a way to move ahead cuz the repair procedure stuck at this point?
>
> PC is 2 1/2 yrs old and is out of standard warranty, so I doubt
> eMachine would have helped me with motherboard.
>
>

The password they are asking for is the password for the built in
administrator account which is not necessarily the account with admin
privileges you have been using. In XP Home it's normally blank so just
hit enter. For Pro it prompted for a password for this account when the
original installation was done. It's whatever was set at that time if
it wasn't later changed.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

Bruce Chambers
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
lifezcul wrote:
> I got generic CD & now I am able to use "Repair" installation option. It
> detects Windows installation on hard disk. After selecting it to repair,
> it asks Admin password. I am using my admin password, but it doesn't
> like it. I've tried this at least 5-6 times now..This is the same
> password I used to use when PC was fine.
> I am confused as to why it doesn't proceed with what I enter.. Is there
> a way to move ahead cuz the repair procedure stuck at this point?
>
> PC is 2 1/2 yrs old and is out of standard warranty, so I doubt
> eMachine would have helped me with motherboard.
>
>


The password being requested is that of the built-in
_Administrator_ account, not the password for any other administrative
user accounts that the computer's owner may have created. Unless the
owner deliberately set the Administrator's password via the Management
Console (_not_ the Control Panel), it's probably still blank. WinXP
Pro asks the installer to set the Administrator's password during
installation, but WinXP Home doesn't.


--

Bruce Chambers

Help us help you:
http://dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having
both at once. - RAH

lifezcul
07-10-2005, 12:50 AM
Actually I was going into "Recovery console" by pressing R earlier. That
was wrong. I had to go ahead with install and then press R to repair
installation. It went ok after that. Its asking me Product Key now.
Should I enter the key on the CD that I used to boot PC with OR
the key that's associated with the PC (printed at the back on PC)?


--
lifezculPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

lifezcul
07-10-2005, 12:50 AM
If I enter product key from CD (and NOT from sticker on my PC), would it
cause problems with Activation when i try to use PC?

Appreciate your feedback.


--
lifezculPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

lifezcul
07-10-2005, 12:51 AM
My PC is back to normal now. Thanks for all the help!

The only remaining issue is accessing Internet through router. I'm able
to go online with cable modem directly connected to PC but not when PC
is connected through router. I'm going to contact Dlink to resolve it.


--
lifezculPosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
lifezcul wrote:

> My PC is back to normal now. Thanks for all the help!
>
> The only remaining issue is accessing Internet through router. I'm able
> to go online with cable modem directly connected to PC but not when PC
> is connected through router. I'm going to contact Dlink to resolve it.
>
>

Great, glad you have it fixed.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User


Need help with replacing motherboard on WinXP m/c