How to do NEW INSTALL on my ONLY disk w/W2K



jewels
07-10-2005, 12:47 AM
Can someone please explain:

I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM. I
want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD (licensed).
When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.

Any ideas?

jewels

ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard Disk,
Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.

Tom Porterfield
07-10-2005, 12:47 AM
On Fri, 27 May 2005 13:54:59 -0700, jewels wrote:

> Can someone please explain:
>
> I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM. I
> want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
> currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD (licensed).
> When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
> it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
> already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
> old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
> about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
> partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
> Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
>
> Any ideas?

Start the install from within Windows 2000. During the initial install
screens click the button for advanced options and indicate that you want to
select the install location. This will prevent it from copying files to
the HD during the initial stage of setup and will instead run the initial
part of setup from the CD. This will you will be able to delete/format the
existing partition during install. Make sure you have SCSI drivers
available for your CD in case you need them.
--
Tom Porterfield
MS-MVP Windows
http://support.telop.org

Please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup only.

Peter Foldes
07-10-2005, 12:47 AM
If you can get a hold of or have one Win98 Fdisk it will do the job for you

--
Peter

Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.

"jewels" <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com...
> Can someone please explain:
>
> I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM. I
> want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
> currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD (licensed).
> When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
> it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
> already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
> old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
> about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
> partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
> Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
>
> Any ideas?
>
> jewels
>
> ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard Disk,
> Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.
>
>

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
Boot your computer from the Windows XP CD. You can then perform all
necessary options from within the setup program. You can delete the old
partition, create a new partition and format same as NTFS (preferable) and
install the O/S clean.

If you have an "upgrade" version of the XP CD you will be asked to insert a
copy of a "qualifying" product (your Windows 2000 CD) into the tray to prove
that you are eligible to perform the upgrade. Have this CD handy before you
start.

Good luck!

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"jewels" <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com...
> Can someone please explain:
>
> I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM.
> I
> want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
> currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD
> (licensed).
> When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
> it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
> already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
> old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
> about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
> partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
> Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
>
> Any ideas?
>
> jewels
>
> ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard Disk,
> Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.
>
>

Stephen
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
jewels wrote:
>> Can someone please explain:
>>
>> I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI
>> CD-ROM. I want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean
>> install". I'm currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an
>> XP Upgrade CD (licensed). When I try to do the install, I only have
>> one option for where to install it: my one hard drive. When I
>> select it, XP setup says "windows version already on it, may cause
>> problems with two systems etc". I don't want the old system on
>> there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care about
>> losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
>> partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the
>> partition. Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
>>
>> Any ideas?
>>
>> jewels
>>
>> ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard
>> Disk, Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.

[unofficial] Just boot from the WinXP CD-ROM. It will override everything
and you can do a clean install. If the WinXP CD-ROM you are using doesn't
include SP2 amke sure to apply SP2 BEFORE connecting to the Internet for the
first time. The average mean time to infestation is just 16 minutes from
connection [without SP2].

It might be smart to gather all the software CD-ROMs [including the old
Win2000 CD-ROM], have your all the product key numbers handy, ISP and other
settings recorded, and the driver software CD-ROM(s) ready before going
ahead with the installation.

Michael Stevens
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
In news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com,
jewels <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> replied with a ;-)
> Can someone please explain:
>
> I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI
> CD-ROM. I want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean
> install". I'm currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP
> Upgrade CD (licensed). When I try to do the install, I only have one
> option for where to install it: my one hard drive. When I select
> it, XP setup says "windows version already on it, may cause problems
> with two systems etc". I don't want the old system on there. I want
> a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care about losing my files
> and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the partition. But
> I can't because setup files are in use on the partition. Hello? I
> have no other choices except quit setup.
>
> Any ideas?
>
> jewels
>
> ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard
> Disk, Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.

Click on or copy and paste the link below into your web browser address bar.
How to clean install XP.
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/cleanxpinstall.html

--
Michael Stevens MS-MVP XP
xpnews@bogusmichaelstevenstech.com
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com
For a better newsgroup experience. Setup a newsreader.
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/outlookexpressnewreader.htm

jewels
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
Thanks for the advice Tom. I was working this problem at work on Friday, and
plan to start tackling it again Tuesday morning. I believe my main problem
was that, having a SCSI CD-Rom drive, I was not able to boot from the XP CD.
I think I had gone into the advanced option during the install, but I don't
think I switched the default directory. Which leads me to ask, if I do as
you say, and select the install location myself, what would I make the
install location?

Thanks,
Julie

"Tom Porterfield" wrote:

> On Fri, 27 May 2005 13:54:59 -0700, jewels wrote:
>
> > Can someone please explain:
> >
> > I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM. I
> > want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
> > currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD (licensed).
> > When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
> > it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
> > already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
> > old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
> > about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
> > partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
> > Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
> >
> > Any ideas?
>
> Start the install from within Windows 2000. During the initial install
> screens click the button for advanced options and indicate that you want to
> select the install location. This will prevent it from copying files to
> the HD during the initial stage of setup and will instead run the initial
> part of setup from the CD. This will you will be able to delete/format the
> existing partition during install. Make sure you have SCSI drivers
> available for your CD in case you need them.
> --
> Tom Porterfield
> MS-MVP Windows
> http://support.telop.org
>
> Please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup only.
>

jewels
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
Peter-

I was hoping to avoice the Fdisk option, but I may be forced to use it if I
can't get the first replyer's option to work. Thanks.

j

"Peter Foldes" wrote:

> If you can get a hold of or have one Win98 Fdisk it will do the job for you
>
> --
> Peter
>
> Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
> Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.
>
> "jewels" <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com...
> > Can someone please explain:
> >
> > I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM. I
> > want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
> > currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD (licensed).
> > When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
> > it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
> > already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
> > old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
> > about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
> > partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
> > Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
> >
> > Any ideas?
> >
> > jewels
> >
> > ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard Disk,
> > Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.
> >
> >
>

jewels
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
I think that's where my problem lies, Rich. I don't think the SCSI CD-ROM is
being seen in the boot chain. I'm working on this...

"Richard Urban" wrote:

> Boot your computer from the Windows XP CD. You can then perform all
> necessary options from within the setup program. You can delete the old
> partition, create a new partition and format same as NTFS (preferable) and
> install the O/S clean.
>
> If you have an "upgrade" version of the XP CD you will be asked to insert a
> copy of a "qualifying" product (your Windows 2000 CD) into the tray to prove
> that you are eligible to perform the upgrade. Have this CD handy before you
> start.
>
> Good luck!
>
> --
> Regards,
>
> Richard Urban
>
> aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)
>
> If you knew as much as you think you know,
> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>
>
> "jewels" <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com...
> > Can someone please explain:
> >
> > I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI CD-ROM.
> > I
> > want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
> > currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD
> > (licensed).
> > When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to install
> > it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows version
> > already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want the
> > old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care
> > about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the
> > partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the partition.
> > Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
> >
> > Any ideas?
> >
> > jewels
> >
> > ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard Disk,
> > Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.
> >
> >
>
>
>

jewels
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
Thanks Michael. I'm working on the options at this point. Nice site you
have there by the way...

"Michael Stevens" wrote:

> In news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com,
> jewels <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> replied with a ;-)
> > Can someone please explain:
> >
> > I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI
> > CD-ROM. I want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean
> > install". I'm currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP
> > Upgrade CD (licensed). When I try to do the install, I only have one
> > option for where to install it: my one hard drive. When I select
> > it, XP setup says "windows version already on it, may cause problems
> > with two systems etc". I don't want the old system on there. I want
> > a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't care about losing my files
> > and programs). So, my other choice is to delete the partition. But
> > I can't because setup files are in use on the partition. Hello? I
> > have no other choices except quit setup.
> >
> > Any ideas?
> >
> > jewels
> >
> > ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard
> > Disk, Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.
>
> Click on or copy and paste the link below into your web browser address bar.
> How to clean install XP.
> http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/cleanxpinstall.html
>
> --
> Michael Stevens MS-MVP XP
> xpnews@bogusmichaelstevenstech.com
> http://www.michaelstevenstech.com
> For a better newsgroup experience. Setup a newsreader.
> http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/outlookexpressnewreader.htm
>
>
>
>

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
You have to go into the computer bios and appropriately set the boot
options. If you have a M/B that is less than 2 years old you can likely set
it to boot from a SCSI device.

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"jewels" <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8BDA8E14-8682-40BA-8854-B897CFA04C2B@microsoft.com...
>I think that's where my problem lies, Rich. I don't think the SCSI CD-ROM
>is
> being seen in the boot chain. I'm working on this...
>
> "Richard Urban" wrote:
>
>> Boot your computer from the Windows XP CD. You can then perform all
>> necessary options from within the setup program. You can delete the old
>> partition, create a new partition and format same as NTFS (preferable)
>> and
>> install the O/S clean.
>>
>> If you have an "upgrade" version of the XP CD you will be asked to insert
>> a
>> copy of a "qualifying" product (your Windows 2000 CD) into the tray to
>> prove
>> that you are eligible to perform the upgrade. Have this CD handy before
>> you
>> start.
>>
>> Good luck!
>>
>> --
>> Regards,
>>
>> Richard Urban
>>
>> aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)
>>
>> If you knew as much as you think you know,
>> You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!
>>
>>
>> "jewels" <jewels@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:898BABB0-D08B-4107-83CC-C635F1BDBE71@microsoft.com...
>> > Can someone please explain:
>> >
>> > I have a computer with one hard drive, a floppy drive, and a SCSI
>> > CD-ROM.
>> > I
>> > want to install Windows XP Pro. I want to do a "clean install". I'm
>> > currently running W2K Pro (licensed), and I have an XP Upgrade CD
>> > (licensed).
>> > When I try to do the install, I only have one option for where to
>> > install
>> > it: my one hard drive. When I select it, XP setup says "windows
>> > version
>> > already on it, may cause problems with two systems etc". I don't want
>> > the
>> > old system on there. I want a clean new XP Pro system only (I don't
>> > care
>> > about losing my files and programs). So, my other choice is to delete
>> > the
>> > partition. But I can't because setup files are in use on the
>> > partition.
>> > Hello? I have no other choices except quit setup.
>> >
>> > Any ideas?
>> >
>> > jewels
>> >
>> > ps... My bios has the order of bootup as ATAPI CD-ROM, Floppy, Hard
>> > Disk,
>> > Network. I don't seem to have an option for SCSI CD-ROM.
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>>

Tom Porterfield
07-10-2005, 12:52 AM
On Mon, 30 May 2005 15:04:01 -0700, jewels wrote:

> Thanks for the advice Tom. I was working this problem at work on Friday, and
> plan to start tackling it again Tuesday morning. I believe my main problem
> was that, having a SCSI CD-Rom drive, I was not able to boot from the XP CD.
> I think I had gone into the advanced option during the install, but I don't
> think I switched the default directory. Which leads me to ask, if I do as
> you say, and select the install location myself, what would I make the
> install location?

You can leave the install location as the default of c:\windows if you
like. The point being that if you specify that option, it won't copy the
files to the HD first and run setup from the HD, thus allowing you to
format the partition that has W2K. Which from my reading of your original
post, was the intent, a clean install.
--
Tom Porterfield
MS-MVP Windows
http://support.telop.org

Please post all follow-ups to the newsgroup only.


How to do NEW INSTALL on my ONLY disk w/W2K