Add/REmove Programs not functioning



ssswilson
07-09-2005, 11:46 PM
When I go to the add/remove section, it only lists 3 programs and then stops.
I realize something may be corrupted, but is there a solution other than
starting from scratch and reinstalling everything.

Is it possible to reinstall XP Pro overtop of existing system so I don't
have to reinstall all the programs?

Steve Rollins
07-09-2005, 11:47 PM
Sounds like the sysoc.inf maybe corrupt. Insert your windows xp cd and try
the following from either a command prompt or from Start | Run. Substitute
the d:\ for whatever driver letter you cdrom is.

expand D:\i386\sysoc.in_ C:\sysoc.inf

This will extract the original installation file from the cd to c:\. Once
expanded copy the sysoc.inf to c:\windows\inf and overwrite the existing
file. If you cannot see the inf folder you will need to unhide by clicking
tools | folder options | View | Show Hidden files and folders.

Give your pc a reboot after you've copied the file and try add/remove programs

Steve


"ssswilson" wrote:

> When I go to the add/remove section, it only lists 3 programs and then stops.
> I realize something may be corrupted, but is there a solution other than
> starting from scratch and reinstalling everything.
>
> Is it possible to reinstall XP Pro overtop of existing system so I don't
> have to reinstall all the programs?

R. McCarty
07-09-2005, 11:47 PM
The table that lists all the Add/Remove items is found in the Registry
HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall
Not all items actually are shown in the Control Panel Applet as some
are hidden or are System level.
I would check for an entry just below the last visible in CP's applet.
Always Export/Save any Registry key/value before modifying.

"Steve Rollins" <Steverollins@nospamgmail.com> wrote in message
news:B9F9F00A-317C-4417-9B01-49ECEE3610C6@microsoft.com...
> Sounds like the sysoc.inf maybe corrupt. Insert your windows xp cd and
> try
> the following from either a command prompt or from Start | Run.
> Substitute
> the d:\ for whatever driver letter you cdrom is.
>
> expand D:\i386\sysoc.in_ C:\sysoc.inf
>
> This will extract the original installation file from the cd to c:\. Once
> expanded copy the sysoc.inf to c:\windows\inf and overwrite the existing
> file. If you cannot see the inf folder you will need to unhide by
> clicking
> tools | folder options | View | Show Hidden files and folders.
>
> Give your pc a reboot after you've copied the file and try add/remove
> programs
>
> Steve
>
>
> "ssswilson" wrote:
>
>> When I go to the add/remove section, it only lists 3 programs and then
>> stops.
>> I realize something may be corrupted, but is there a solution other than
>> starting from scratch and reinstalling everything.
>>
>> Is it possible to reinstall XP Pro overtop of existing system so I don't
>> have to reinstall all the programs?

Wesley Vogel
07-09-2005, 11:47 PM
Just because Windows XP has the Add or Remove Programs feature it doesn't
mean your application will appear in the list.

Do the programs end at particular letter in the alphabet? A maybe? If so,
you may have a huge white space, scroll down in Add or Remove Programs to
see if this is the problem.

If it is...

Courtesy of Kelly
Microsoft-MVP Windows® XP-Shell/User
2004 Windows MVP "Winny" Award

Add or Remove - White Space
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_a.htm#ws

[[This is generally due to the DisplayIcon having a negative number. From
here you can either remove the negative number or remove the last
application listed:
Start/Run/Regedit:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\{} ]]

AutoCad Fix
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/autocadaddremovefix.zip

Autodesk Land Desktop 3 Fix
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/regs_edits/autodesk-landdesktop3-addremovefix.zip

===

I have AutoCAD LT 2000i. The white space in Add or Remove Programs usually
shows up after the AutoCAD LT 2000i listing. If you want to tweak the
registry...

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
{5783F2D7-0065-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}
Value Name: DisplayIcon
Value Type: REG_SZ
Value Data: C:\Program Files\AutoCAD LT 2000i\aclt.exe,-1

Notice the aclt.exe,-1?? You can change it to read aclt.exe,1

Or you can run one of the fixes. I have both autocadaddremovefix.zip &
autodesk-landdesktop3-addremovefix.zip. They both include icons.
autocadaddremovefix.vbs is the one that works for me. It's easier to use
the fix than changing the -1.

I get the white space in Add or Remove Programs every time that I add or
remove a program. It isn't always AutoCAD LT that has the white space after
it, sometimes it's another program. At any rate, one of the fixes will
work. Until the next time. ;-)

autocadaddremovefix.vbs adds an autocad.ico icon to the %systemroot%\web
folder. It also adds this to the registry >>
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
{5783F2D7-0101-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}
Value Name: DisplayIcon
Value Type: REG_EXPAND_SZ
Value Data: %systemroot%\web\autocad.ico

autodesk-landdesktop3-addremovefix.vbs adds an acad.ico icon to the
%systemroot%\web folder. It also adds this to the registry >>
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
{5783F2D7-0138-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}
Value Name: DisplayIcon
Value Type: REG_EXPAND_SZ
Value Data: %systemroot%\web\acad.ico
-----
***
From snowman...
AutoCAD 2002 is
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Uninstall\
{5783F2D7-0101-0409-0000-0060B0CE6BBA}
-----
***
From anonymous poster...

One application causes the problem for me. I just removed the reference to
that program in regedit and the black spot dissapeared.


--
Hope this helps. Let us know.

Wes
MS-MVP Windows Shell/User

In news:E3F9AFF2-96F4-415E-9B33-82729171BDB1@microsoft.com,
ssswilson <ssswilson@discussions.microsoft.com> hunted and pecked:
> When I go to the add/remove section, it only lists 3 programs and then
> stops. I realize something may be corrupted, but is there a solution
> other than starting from scratch and reinstalling everything.
>
> Is it possible to reinstall XP Pro overtop of existing system so I don't
> have to reinstall all the programs?


Add/REmove Programs not functioning