Outlook dialling out problem



Jim Scott
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
I'm confused. When I was on dial-up there was no problem dialling out from
Outlook Contacts. I have had a love hate with Outlook and this time when I
re-installed it, I have moved to broadband and when I attempt to dial-out I
get the error message "An internal error occurred in the automatic phone
dialler....."

My dial-up modem is still connected and claims to be working, and I know it
is because another program called Phonedeck dials-out fine and I can hear
it doing so.

(XP SP2 Outlook 2002)
Can anyone help?
The outlook groups say its not an outlook fault, but some thing to do with
the dialler.
--
Jim

Tyneside - North East of England
To email me directly omit the X from my address

Peter Foldes
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do you not think that OL defaults there.

Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups

news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation

--
Peter

Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.

"Jim Scott" <mr.jimscott@Xvirgin.net> wrote in message news:Xns9662BB0C132FEmrjimscottXvirginnet@194.168.222.122...
> I'm confused. When I was on dial-up there was no problem dialling out from
> Outlook Contacts. I have had a love hate with Outlook and this time when I
> re-installed it, I have moved to broadband and when I attempt to dial-out I
> get the error message "An internal error occurred in the automatic phone
> dialler....."
>
> My dial-up modem is still connected and claims to be working, and I know it
> is because another program called Phonedeck dials-out fine and I can hear
> it doing so.
>
> (XP SP2 Outlook 2002)
> Can anyone help?
> The outlook groups say its not an outlook fault, but some thing to do with
> the dialler.
> --
> Jim
>
> Tyneside - North East of England
> To email me directly omit the X from my address

Jim Scott
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
"Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
news:u5mp9jhYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl:

> Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do
> you not think that OL defaults there.
>
> Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups
>
> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation
>
Like I said.
They sent me here :oP


--
Jim

Tyneside - North East of England
To email me directly omit the X from my address

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:46 AM
Jim Scott wrote:

> "Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
> news:u5mp9jhYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl:
>
>> Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do
>> you not think that OL defaults there.
>>
>> Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups
>>
>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation
>>
> Like I said.
> They sent me here :oP
>
>
What I don't understand about your post is that you say you have
broadband but you are dialing out. You shouldn't be doing any dialing
with broadband. Please give us the details of your Internet connection,
including the name of the ISP.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Jim Scott
07-10-2005, 12:47 AM
Malke <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in
news:#ESHyykYFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl:

> Jim Scott wrote:
>
>> "Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
>> news:u5mp9jhYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl:
>>
>>> Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do
>>> you not think that OL defaults there.
>>>
>>> Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups
>>>
>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation
>>>
>> Like I said.
>> They sent me here :oP
>>
>>
> What I don't understand about your post is that you say you have
> broadband but you are dialing out. You shouldn't be doing any dialing
> with broadband. Please give us the details of your Internet
> connection, including the name of the ISP.
>
> Malke

It is virgin broadband, but what I want to do is have my PC dial a
telephone number for me.

--
Jim

Tyneside - North East of England
To email me directly omit the X from my address

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:47 AM
Jim Scott wrote:

> Malke <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in
> news:#ESHyykYFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl:
>
>> Jim Scott wrote:
>>
>>> "Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
>>> news:u5mp9jhYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl:
>>>
>>>> Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do
>>>> you not think that OL defaults there.
>>>>
>>>> Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups
>>>>
>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation
>>>>
>>> Like I said.
>>> They sent me here :oP
>>>
>>>
>> What I don't understand about your post is that you say you have
>> broadband but you are dialing out. You shouldn't be doing any dialing
>> with broadband. Please give us the details of your Internet
>> connection, including the name of the ISP.
>>
>> Malke
>
> It is virgin broadband, but what I want to do is have my PC dial a
> telephone number for me.
>
That really doesn't answer the full question. Here are some links to
help you make a good newsgroup post:

http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

I'm not saying this to hurt your feelings; I'm trying to help you
maximize the chances of getting an answer. You need to give full
details about exactly what your setup is, what you are trying to do,
and with what program. This group is read by people all over the world
and while I have heard of Virgin, I have no idea if "virgin broadband"
means DSL, cable, or some other setup. If you have DSL, then you aren't
using the computer's phone modem to connect. If you are trying to use
the phone modem to connect to something else, describe what you are
doing. Are you trying to fax? Connect to a site that only accepts modem
connections? Run a dialup Internet connection at the same time you are
using a cable/dsl Internet connection?

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Peter Foldes
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
Malke

It is the last line of your question that OP is trying accomplish. Virgin Broadband is DSL. He would need a modem connection to accomplish this I believe .
--
Peter

Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.

"Malke" <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in message news:%23Gh$%234wYFHA.580@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...

> Run a dialup Internet connection at the same time you are
> using a cable/dsl Internet connection?

Jim Scott
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
"Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
news:e#Y8OpyYFHA.1088@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl:

> Malke
>
> It is the last line of your question that OP is trying accomplish.
> Virgin Broadband is DSL. He would need a modem connection to
> accomplish this I believe .

Correct.
--
Jim

Tyneside - North East of England
To email me directly omit the X from my address

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
Jim Scott wrote:

> "Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
> news:e#Y8OpyYFHA.1088@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl:
>
>> Malke
>>
>> It is the last line of your question that OP is trying accomplish.
>> Virgin Broadband is DSL. He would need a modem connection to
>> accomplish this I believe .
>
> Correct.

Then answer the questions I asked you and provide a full description and
explanation or your situation or get a local computer professional to
come in and fix your situation. I'm not playing at 20 questions here.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Jim Scott
07-10-2005, 12:48 AM
Malke <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in news:#Gh$#4wYFHA.580
@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl:

> Jim Scott wrote:
>
>> Malke <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in
>> news:#ESHyykYFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl:
>>
>>> Jim Scott wrote:
>>>
>>>> "Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
>>>> news:u5mp9jhYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl:
>>>>
>>>>> Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do
>>>>> you not think that OL defaults there.
>>>>>
>>>>> Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups
>>>>>
>>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
>>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
>>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation
>>>>>
>>>> Like I said.
>>>> They sent me here :oP
>>>>
>>>>
>>> What I don't understand about your post is that you say you have
>>> broadband but you are dialing out. You shouldn't be doing any dialing
>>> with broadband. Please give us the details of your Internet
>>> connection, including the name of the ISP.
>>>
>>> Malke
>>
>> It is virgin broadband, but what I want to do is have my PC dial a
>> telephone number for me.
>>
> That really doesn't answer the full question. Here are some links to
> help you make a good newsgroup post:
>
> http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
> I'm not saying this to hurt your feelings; I'm trying to help you
> maximize the chances of getting an answer. You need to give full
> details about exactly what your setup is, what you are trying to do,
> and with what program. This group is read by people all over the world
> and while I have heard of Virgin, I have no idea if "virgin broadband"
> means DSL, cable, or some other setup. If you have DSL, then you aren't
> using the computer's phone modem to connect. If you are trying to use
> the phone modem to connect to something else, describe what you are
> doing. Are you trying to fax? Connect to a site that only accepts modem
> connections? Run a dialup Internet connection at the same time you are
> using a cable/dsl Internet connection?
>
> Malke

I'll try again but I really thought I had given all I know. One last time
then.
I am on XP SP2.
My isp is Virgin and is ADSL through an external modem.
When I use Outlook 2002 I can send and receive emails and my browser works
fine. I also have a dial-up modem connected and functioning.

What I want to do is to use windows dialer to dial numbers from my contacts
addresses so that I do not have to key them in by hand. Since this is what
my telephone does as it is on the same, and only, outgoing line. When I
hear the number dialling from the modem noise, I can the pick up the normal
telephone handset and wait for the call to connect.
As I mentioned before, I have another address book which does exactly this,
so I know it is possible.
Currently I have an email client + an address book + a calendar and would
like to have them all in one ie Outlook.


--
Jim

Tyneside - North East of England
To email me directly omit the X from my address

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
Jim Scott wrote:

>
> I'll try again but I really thought I had given all I know. One last
> time then.
> I am on XP SP2.
> My isp is Virgin and is ADSL through an external modem.
> When I use Outlook 2002 I can send and receive emails and my browser
> works fine. I also have a dial-up modem connected and functioning.
>
> What I want to do is to use windows dialer to dial numbers from my
> contacts addresses so that I do not have to key them in by hand. Since
> this is what my telephone does as it is on the same, and only,
> outgoing line. When I hear the number dialling from the modem noise, I
> can the pick up the normal telephone handset and wait for the call to
> connect. As I mentioned before, I have another address book which does
> exactly this, so I know it is possible.
> Currently I have an email client + an address book + a calendar and
> would like to have them all in one ie Outlook.
>
>
Much better description. Now at least we all understand exactly what you
are trying to do. Since this procedure works with another telephone
book but doesn't work in Outlook, my guess is that there is no way for
Outlook to use two different connections at the same time or for it to
"know" that when you access the Contact list you really don't want to
get your email with the broadband. I'm sorry that the Outlook
newsgroups sent you here, but I really don't think this is a Windows
issue - it is an Outlook issue. Obviously Outlook isn't capable of
getting your mail via broadband and allowing you to use its Contact
list for a phone dialer.

The only place I can think of that you might get a *definitive* answer
to this is from one of the Microsoft Outlook developers/coders. I have
no idea how you would contact one of them, either. I guess you'll have
to duplicate your Contact list in the other phonebook program that
works.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Gert B. Frob
07-10-2005, 12:49 AM
"Jim Scott" <mr.jimscott@Xvirgin.net> wrote in message
news:Xns9664C9F3473D0mrjimscottXvirginnet@194.168.222.124...
> Malke <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in news:#Gh$#4wYFHA.580
> @TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl:
>
> > Jim Scott wrote:
> >
> >> Malke <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in
> >> news:#ESHyykYFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl:
> >>
> >>> Jim Scott wrote:
> >>>
> >>>> "Peter Foldes" <okf22@email.msn.com> wrote in
> >>>> news:u5mp9jhYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl:
> >>>>
> >>>>> Just quickly and I might be wrong here but if you have Broadband do
> >>>>> you not think that OL defaults there.
> >>>>>
> >>>>> Better ask an expert at the Outlook groups
> >>>>>
> >>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.general
> >>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.outlook
> >>>>> news:\\msnews.microsoft.com\microsoft.public.outlook.installation
> >>>>>
> >>>> Like I said.
> >>>> They sent me here :oP
> >>>>
> >>>>
> >>> What I don't understand about your post is that you say you have
> >>> broadband but you are dialing out. You shouldn't be doing any dialing
> >>> with broadband. Please give us the details of your Internet
> >>> connection, including the name of the ISP.
> >>>
> >>> Malke
> >>
> >> It is virgin broadband, but what I want to do is have my PC dial a
> >> telephone number for me.
> >>
> > That really doesn't answer the full question. Here are some links to
> > help you make a good newsgroup post:
> >
> > http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
> > http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
> >
> > I'm not saying this to hurt your feelings; I'm trying to help you
> > maximize the chances of getting an answer. You need to give full
> > details about exactly what your setup is, what you are trying to do,
> > and with what program. This group is read by people all over the world
> > and while I have heard of Virgin, I have no idea if "virgin broadband"
> > means DSL, cable, or some other setup. If you have DSL, then you aren't
> > using the computer's phone modem to connect. If you are trying to use
> > the phone modem to connect to something else, describe what you are
> > doing. Are you trying to fax? Connect to a site that only accepts modem
> > connections? Run a dialup Internet connection at the same time you are
> > using a cable/dsl Internet connection?
> >
> > Malke
>
> I'll try again but I really thought I had given all I know. One last time
> then.
> I am on XP SP2.
> My isp is Virgin and is ADSL through an external modem.
> When I use Outlook 2002 I can send and receive emails and my browser works
> fine. I also have a dial-up modem connected and functioning.
>
> What I want to do is to use windows dialer to dial numbers from my
contacts
> addresses so that I do not have to key them in by hand. Since this is what
> my telephone does as it is on the same, and only, outgoing line. When I
> hear the number dialling from the modem noise, I can the pick up the
normal
> telephone handset and wait for the call to connect.
> As I mentioned before, I have another address book which does exactly
this,
> so I know it is possible.
> Currently I have an email client + an address book + a calendar and would
> like to have them all in one ie Outlook.
>
>
> --
> Jim
>
> Tyneside - North East of England
> To email me directly omit the X from my address

Have a look here:

http://www.worldstart.com/tips/tips.php/443

Nothing to do with Outlook, etc. Enjoy.


Outlook dialling out problem