Log in probs



Steve G
07-09-2005, 11:45 PM
I have a win xp service pack 1 machine that went from an office and a domain
to a home office with cox broadband. To get the machine on the cox broadband
I changed the machine from the domain to the workgroup for the cox network
then restarted the machine. after reboot I cannot log into the machine, with
the old user name and password. When I changed the domain to the workgroup I
did not change the user name orpassword jut domain to workgroup. Any thoughts
on how I can log back into the machine and fix the log in problem ??? Please
help.

Malke
07-09-2005, 11:45 PM
Steve G wrote:

> I have a win xp service pack 1 machine that went from an office and a
> domain to a home office with cox broadband. To get the machine on the
> cox broadband I changed the machine from the domain to the workgroup
> for the cox network then restarted the machine. after reboot I cannot
> log into the machine, with the old user name and password. When I
> changed the domain to the workgroup I did not change the user name
> orpassword jut domain to workgroup. Any thoughts on how I can log back
> into the machine and fix the log in problem ??? Please help.

This has nothing to do with your Internet connection. When you disjoined
the computer from the domain, you lost the use of the domain user
account and that is why you can't log on with the old user name and
password. You will need to log on with the *local* administrator
account ("log on to this machine"). Ask the IT people from whom you got
the machine for the local administrator password - the user name will
be "Administrator".

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Steve G
07-09-2005, 11:45 PM
Thanks for the reply . We do not have \ getting co-operation from the old
system admin and I don't know the local admin user name and password. I need
to get files off this machine for one of the partners I was thinking about
slaving the hard drive then accessing it and adding a new user with admin
rights. Then put the drive back in the old box and reboot. Thoughts ?

"Malke" wrote:

> Steve G wrote:
>
> > I have a win xp service pack 1 machine that went from an office and a
> > domain to a home office with cox broadband. To get the machine on the
> > cox broadband I changed the machine from the domain to the workgroup
> > for the cox network then restarted the machine. after reboot I cannot
> > log into the machine, with the old user name and password. When I
> > changed the domain to the workgroup I did not change the user name
> > orpassword jut domain to workgroup. Any thoughts on how I can log back
> > into the machine and fix the log in problem ??? Please help.
>
> This has nothing to do with your Internet connection. When you disjoined
> the computer from the domain, you lost the use of the domain user
> account and that is why you can't log on with the old user name and
> password. You will need to log on with the *local* administrator
> account ("log on to this machine"). Ask the IT people from whom you got
> the machine for the local administrator password - the user name will
> be "Administrator".
>
> Malke
> --
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic!"
> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
>

Malke
07-09-2005, 11:46 PM
Steve G wrote:

> Thanks for the reply . We do not have \ getting co-operation from the
> old system admin and I don't know the local admin user name and
> password. I need to get files off this machine for one of the partners
> I was thinking about slaving the hard drive then accessing it and
> adding a new user with admin rights. Then put the drive back in the
> old box and reboot. Thoughts ?
>
You could try doing the above - you don't need to make a new user
account. Just see if you are able to take ownership of the files. You
can also boot with either Knoppix or a Bart's PE to get the files off.
You don't need to take the drive out in that case.

Knoppix is a Linux distro on a live cd. You will need a computer with
two cd drives, one of which is a cd/dvd-rw OR a usb thumb drive with
enough capacity to hold your data. To get Knoppix, you need a computer
with a fast Internet connection and third-party burning software.
Download the Knoppix .iso from www.knoppix.net and create your bootable
cd. Then boot with it and it will be able to see the Windows files. If
you will be using the usb thumb drive to copy your data, plug it in
before you boot the system with Knoppix. Otherwise, use the K3b burning
program to burn the files to cd/dvd-r's.

You would need to build the Bart's PE yourself:
http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

Then after you've gotten the files off, format the drive and do a clean
install of Windows.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Steve G
07-09-2005, 11:46 PM
I need that computer to be put in a home office and cannot reformat because
the owner has programs on there that he does not have the install cd's. Is
their a way without having the original sys admin around to log onto the
machine and then add a user so we can set it up in the home office and all
his programs and files are still intact ? Thanks again for you soultions.

"Malke" wrote:

> Steve G wrote:
>
> > Thanks for the reply . We do not have \ getting co-operation from the
> > old system admin and I don't know the local admin user name and
> > password. I need to get files off this machine for one of the partners
> > I was thinking about slaving the hard drive then accessing it and
> > adding a new user with admin rights. Then put the drive back in the
> > old box and reboot. Thoughts ?
> >
> You could try doing the above - you don't need to make a new user
> account. Just see if you are able to take ownership of the files. You
> can also boot with either Knoppix or a Bart's PE to get the files off.
> You don't need to take the drive out in that case.
>
> Knoppix is a Linux distro on a live cd. You will need a computer with
> two cd drives, one of which is a cd/dvd-rw OR a usb thumb drive with
> enough capacity to hold your data. To get Knoppix, you need a computer
> with a fast Internet connection and third-party burning software.
> Download the Knoppix .iso from www.knoppix.net and create your bootable
> cd. Then boot with it and it will be able to see the Windows files. If
> you will be using the usb thumb drive to copy your data, plug it in
> before you boot the system with Knoppix. Otherwise, use the K3b burning
> program to burn the files to cd/dvd-r's.
>
> You would need to build the Bart's PE yourself:
> http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
>
> Then after you've gotten the files off, format the drive and do a clean
> install of Windows.
>
> Malke
> --
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic!"
> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
>

Malke
07-09-2005, 11:47 PM
Steve G wrote:

> I need that computer to be put in a home office and cannot reformat
> because the owner has programs on there that he does not have the
> install cd's. Is their a way without having the original sys admin
> around to log onto the machine and then add a user so we can set it up
> in the home office and all his programs and files are still intact ?
> Thanks again for you soultions.
>

Bad idea. However, you can always get into the machine with Ntpasswd:

http://home.eunet.no/~pnordahl/ntpasswd/

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User


Log in probs