start up problem



SPIN
07-09-2005, 11:45 PM
just put together a computer. when i start up it says cmos memory size wrong,
press f1 set up
f2t to load default
the key board lights up when power turned on but apears not to work

JS
07-09-2005, 11:45 PM
SPIN wrote:
> just put together a computer. when i start up it says cmos memory size wrong,
> press f1 set up
> f2t to load default
> the key board lights up when power turned on but apears not to work

Could be a duff CMOS battery or motherboard.

uggabugga
07-09-2005, 11:45 PM
Recently, I built a machine and the motherboard blew out after 2 months. I
bought another motherboard to get the PC working while the warranty repair
was being done. When I put the memory in the new board, I was unable to get
the PC to boot unless I loaded the BIOS into a safe mode (not Windows Safe
Mode) built into the board. It would not start up with the BIOS defaults.

It took a while to figure it out but I got it. I had 4 DDR modules. 2 -
256MB PNY DDR400 and 2 - 512MB Kingston DDR400. Well apparently even though
it says that the PNY memory is DDR400 right on the boxes, they really are
only DDR333. The machine would only boot with the BIOS defaults loaded if I
removed the falsely labeled DDR memory or manually set the memory to 333. It
could be something as easy as that.
--
That's just like my opinion, Man........


"SPIN" wrote:

> just put together a computer. when i start up it says cmos memory size wrong,
> press f1 set up
> f2t to load default
> the key board lights up when power turned on but apears not to work


start up problem