Repair Internet connection



SL
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
When I log onto the internet, I get an icon that looks like two monitors in
the right toolbar. If I right click on this it gives me the option to
repair the connection. All this works as admin, but I want to give all
users the abilitiy to repair the connection. Anyone know how?????

I'm using XP Pro.

Thanks

S

R. McCarty
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
It isn't necessary to Repair the connection. That is a status monitor
for the Local Area Connection. The two monitors represent the
inbounds/outbounds network traffic. When you Right Click on a
icon you are accessing the context menu to modify the item. As to
rights for the LAC that is a function of the account privileges. If
you are using Home edition then only Admin/Limited are available.
Maybe I'm not understanding what you are trying to accomplish,
are you having issues with Network connectivity that requires use
of the Repair option ?


"SL" <none@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:OtNWyPeYFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> When I log onto the internet, I get an icon that looks like two monitors
> in the right toolbar. If I right click on this it gives me the option to
> repair the connection. All this works as admin, but I want to give all
> users the abilitiy to repair the connection. Anyone know how?????
>
> I'm using XP Pro.
>
> Thanks
>
> S
>

SL
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
Yes, World of Warfare somehow fouls up my settings. When I get off it, I
can't use the internet unless I reboot. If I logout, login as admin, repair
connection, then log back in as user, it works. So I'd like to be able to
just repair it as a user.

I'm using XP Pro

thanks

S

"R. McCarty" <PcEngWork-NoSpam_@mindspring.com> wrote in message
news:OjCX0UeYFHA.3712@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> It isn't necessary to Repair the connection. That is a status monitor
> for the Local Area Connection. The two monitors represent the
> inbounds/outbounds network traffic. When you Right Click on a
> icon you are accessing the context menu to modify the item. As to
> rights for the LAC that is a function of the account privileges. If
> you are using Home edition then only Admin/Limited are available.
> Maybe I'm not understanding what you are trying to accomplish,
> are you having issues with Network connectivity that requires use
> of the Repair option ?
>
>
> "SL" <none@earthlink.net> wrote in message
> news:OtNWyPeYFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>> When I log onto the internet, I get an icon that looks like two monitors
>> in the right toolbar. If I right click on this it gives me the option to
>> repair the connection. All this works as admin, but I want to give all
>> users the abilitiy to repair the connection. Anyone know how?????
>>
>> I'm using XP Pro.
>>
>> Thanks
>>
>> S
>>
>
>

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:45 AM
SL wrote:

> Yes, World of Warfare somehow fouls up my settings. When I get off
> it, I
> can't use the internet unless I reboot. If I logout, login as admin,
> repair
> connection, then log back in as user, it works. So I'd like to be
> able to just repair it as a user.
>
> I'm using XP Pro
>
> thanks
>

And now for something completely different... you should be taking this
question to Blizzard's tech support or their user forums. Tons of
people use WOW without having their Internet connection messed up. This
may be a known issue for which there is a patch or another user may
have experienced this.

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

SL
07-10-2005, 12:46 AM
Yea, but I really wish someone knew what to change to make all accounts able
to repair the internet connection.


"Malke" <invalid@not-real.com> wrote in message
news:ObsK45eYFHA.1404@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> SL wrote:
>
>> Yes, World of Warfare somehow fouls up my settings. When I get off
>> it, I
>> can't use the internet unless I reboot. If I logout, login as admin,
>> repair
>> connection, then log back in as user, it works. So I'd like to be
>> able to just repair it as a user.
>>
>> I'm using XP Pro
>>
>> thanks
>>
>
> And now for something completely different... you should be taking this
> question to Blizzard's tech support or their user forums. Tons of
> people use WOW without having their Internet connection messed up. This
> may be a known issue for which there is a patch or another user may
> have experienced this.
>
> Malke
> --
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic!"
> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User


Repair Internet connection