Windows Xp Internet Recognition



Jon
07-10-2005, 12:43 AM
I changed a setting that was recomended to do that would stop my pc from
showing what version of windows was running when i used the internet. Now
each time i try to get updates from Microsoft or use Hotmail my browser tells
me that i must use a pc with windows to continue.
As i have now forgotten what the setting i changed was or how to do it i am
now stuck. HELP !!!!

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 12:43 AM
Hi,

Your problem is covered here:
http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/troubleshoot/

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Jon" <Jon@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:1DE73528-69CD-4399-A71A-50CECA68FAC7@microsoft.com...
>I changed a setting that was recomended to do that would stop my pc from
> showing what version of windows was running when i used the internet. Now
> each time i try to get updates from Microsoft or use Hotmail my browser
> tells
> me that i must use a pc with windows to continue.
> As i have now forgotten what the setting i changed was or how to do it i
> am
> now stuck. HELP !!!!

Richard Urban
07-10-2005, 12:43 AM
That was certainly a big "oops"!

Why don't you go back to the source of your information, read, and see what
it is you changed? It may give you some insight as to what you need to do.
Of course, I'm betting you don't remember where you got this great tip from!

--
Regards,

Richard Urban

aka Crusty (-: Old B@stard :-)

If you knew as much as you think you know,
You would realize that you don't know what you thought you knew!


"Jon" <Jon@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:1DE73528-69CD-4399-A71A-50CECA68FAC7@microsoft.com...
>I changed a setting that was recomended to do that would stop my pc from
> showing what version of windows was running when i used the internet. Now
> each time i try to get updates from Microsoft or use Hotmail my browser
> tells
> me that i must use a pc with windows to continue.
> As i have now forgotten what the setting i changed was or how to do it i
> am
> now stuck. HELP !!!!

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:43 AM
Jon wrote:

> I changed a setting that was recomended to do that would stop my pc from
> showing what version of windows was running when i used the internet. Now
> each time i try to get updates from Microsoft or use Hotmail my browser tells
> me that i must use a pc with windows to continue.
> As i have now forgotten what the setting i changed was or how to do it i am
> now stuck. HELP !!!!

Did you make the change in the firewall application - something like
stealth mode browsing?

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

Peter Foldes
07-10-2005, 12:43 AM
Hide Windows Version is a available tweak in Xsetup Tweaking utility

--
Peter

Please Reply to Newsgroup for the benefit of others
Requests for assistance by email can not and will not be acknowledged.

"Jon" <Jon@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:1DE73528-69CD-4399-A71A-50CECA68FAC7@microsoft.com...
>I changed a setting that was recomended to do that would stop my pc from
> showing what version of windows was running when i used the internet. Now
> each time i try to get updates from Microsoft or use Hotmail my browser tells
> me that i must use a pc with windows to continue.
> As i have now forgotten what the setting i changed was or how to do it i am
> now stuck. HELP !!!!


Windows Xp Internet Recognition