JavaScript and Service Pack 2 Information Bar



Joe Lewis
07-09-2005, 11:41 PM
Hi,

I'm a web developer and a site I am working on right now employs JavaScript
for advanced site navigation functionality. However, when I load the page the
Information Bar drops and warns me that the site runs active content and I
must click on the bar to "allow blocked content" before the menu will load.
Is there something I can do within the code to signal SP2 that the code I am
running is not malicious and is able to be run without danger to the user so
I can get around this darn information bar? This site is for a small business
and I'm afraid people are not going to want to come to the site if they have
to click on the bar every time to get the menu to load. Any insight would be
much appreciated. Thanks.

JS
07-09-2005, 11:41 PM
Joe Lewis wrote:
> Hi,
>
> I'm a web developer and a site I am working on right now employs JavaScript
> for advanced site navigation functionality. However, when I load the page the
> Information Bar drops and warns me that the site runs active content and I
> must click on the bar to "allow blocked content" before the menu will load.
> Is there something I can do within the code to signal SP2 that the code I am
> running is not malicious and is able to be run without danger to the user so
> I can get around this darn information bar?

I sincerely hope not. Think about it: if *you* could do that, what's to
stop people with malicious intent from doing it too?

> This site is for a small business
> and I'm afraid people are not going to want to come to the site if they have
> to click on the bar every time to get the menu to load. Any insight would be
> much appreciated. Thanks.

You could:

* Use good old HTML for navigation.

* Tell them how to disable IE's new security settings.

* Get them to use a browser which manages to be secure and functional at
the same time (Firefox, Opera...)

Ramesh, MS-MVP
07-09-2005, 11:41 PM
Joe,

This restriction is seen only when you view the page locally. Running from a
web server, users don't get the Information bar.

See also:

Local Machine Zone Lockdown - Developer Implications:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/security/productinfo/XPSP2/securebrowsing/lockdown_devimp.aspx

In Internet Explorer, on the Tools menu, click Internet Options. On the
Advanced tab, scroll down to the Security section of the list. Select the
Allow active content to run in files on My Computer check box, and then
click OK.

--
Ramesh, Microsoft MVP
Windows XP Shell/User
http://windowsxp.mvps.org


"Joe Lewis" <Joe Lewis@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C7FDECAF-3909-4BEE-9E08-1DF2749CE093@microsoft.com...
> Hi,
>
> I'm a web developer and a site I am working on right now employs
> JavaScript
> for advanced site navigation functionality. However, when I load the page
> the
> Information Bar drops and warns me that the site runs active content and I
> must click on the bar to "allow blocked content" before the menu will
> load.
> Is there something I can do within the code to signal SP2 that the code I
> am
> running is not malicious and is able to be run without danger to the user
> so
> I can get around this darn information bar? This site is for a small
> business
> and I'm afraid people are not going to want to come to the site if they
> have
> to click on the bar every time to get the menu to load. Any insight would
> be
> much appreciated. Thanks.

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-09-2005, 11:41 PM
Also, you could instruct them how to add the web site to IE's trusted sites
to allow ASP/JSP pages without the annoying active content bar warning.

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"Joe Lewis" <Joe Lewis@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C7FDECAF-3909-4BEE-9E08-1DF2749CE093@microsoft.com...
> Hi,
>
> I'm a web developer and a site I am working on right now employs
> JavaScript
> for advanced site navigation functionality. However, when I load the page
> the
> Information Bar drops and warns me that the site runs active content and I
> must click on the bar to "allow blocked content" before the menu will
> load.
> Is there something I can do within the code to signal SP2 that the code I
> am
> running is not malicious and is able to be run without danger to the user
> so
> I can get around this darn information bar? This site is for a small
> business
> and I'm afraid people are not going to want to come to the site if they
> have
> to click on the bar every time to get the menu to load. Any insight would
> be
> much appreciated. Thanks.

Larry(LJL269)
07-09-2005, 11:46 PM
On Mon, 23 May 2005 22:17:51 -0400, "Star Fleet Admiral
Q"
<Star_Fleet_Admiral_Q(NO-SPAM)@(SPAM-NOT)hotmail.com>
wrote:

|Also, you could instruct them how to add the web site to IE's trusted sites
|to allow ASP/JSP pages without the annoying active content bar warning.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/ie/previous/webaccess/pwrtwks.mspx
works in IE6 & makes this & other tasks child's play.

https://netfiles.uiuc.edu/ehowes/www/resource.htm
provides a large list of PITA sites 4 Restricted Zone.

HTH-Larry
Any advise is my attempt to contribute more than I have received but I can only assure you that it works on my PC. GOOD LUCK.


JavaScript and Service Pack 2 Information Bar