XP won't start after system board change.



Joe Mcgyver
07-09-2005, 11:40 PM
My Original system board has problems. So I replaced the system board. It
used to be a AMD k-6/2 500mhz. The system board I replaced it with is a Intel
Pentium 3 1 gig. I used the same Vidoe, NIC, SB, and drives, and Power
supply. I get a blue screen on startup now with my Windows XP Professional
sp2.

no_one
07-09-2005, 11:40 PM
perform a repair install.


"Joe Mcgyver" <Joe Mcgyver@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:12C13D4F-8335-4511-8D36-8B29B4BF11B3@microsoft.com...
> My Original system board has problems. So I replaced the system board. It
> used to be a AMD k-6/2 500mhz. The system board I replaced it with is a
> Intel
> Pentium 3 1 gig. I used the same Vidoe, NIC, SB, and drives, and Power
> supply. I get a blue screen on startup now with my Windows XP Professional
> sp2.

Bob Knowlden
07-09-2005, 11:40 PM
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/moving_xp.html

"Changing a Motherboard or Moving a Hard Drive with XP Installed"

The short answer is that you'll need to perform a repair installation of XP:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;315341

Some claim that a clean installation of XP is necessary with a new
mainboard, but a repair install may suffice for you. (I've never done it for
as major a change as going from an AMD system to Intel, though.)

Whatever you do, it's recommended to have a backup of all the data (from the
drives) that you can't afford to lose.


Address scrambled. Replace nkbob with bobkn.

"Joe Mcgyver" <Joe Mcgyver@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:12C13D4F-8335-4511-8D36-8B29B4BF11B3@microsoft.com...
> My Original system board has problems. So I replaced the system board. It
> used to be a AMD k-6/2 500mhz. The system board I replaced it with is a
> Intel
> Pentium 3 1 gig. I used the same Vidoe, NIC, SB, and drives, and Power
> supply. I get a blue screen on startup now with my Windows XP Professional
> sp2.


XP won't start after system board change.