Hibernate & Standby on XP Home



Paul
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
Pro.

Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?

Thanks for looking.

Paul

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Paul wrote:

> On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving
> option of Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my
> other PC with XP Pro.
>
> Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP
> Home?
>
> Thanks for looking.
>
> Paul

This doesn't have anything to do with Home or Pro, but rather is
dependent on your computer's hardware. Is the computer with XP Home an
older one? We would need more details on it to give more specific
advice. It would also be helpful to know if you ever had the power
management options on that computer or if the disappearance of the
options is recent.

Malke
--
MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic"

S.Sengupta
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
'So you've lost (or never had) Standby and/or Hibernate?'
http://www.rickrogers.org/standby.htm

regards,
ssg MS-MVP


Paul wrote:
> On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
> Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
> Pro.
>
> Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
>
> Thanks for looking.
>
> Paul

Paul
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
The PC in question is about three years old. It's an AMD 1.3 Duron procesor.
The option was never available as far as I was aware. We are using it as the
kids PC but it would be good to us less power.

Thanks

Paul

"Paul" wrote:

> On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
> Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
> Pro.
>
> Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
>
> Thanks for looking.
>
> Paul

Paul
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
That's correct. I guess the question is "can I find it as a software or is it
dependent on my hardware?"

Paul

"S.Sengupta" wrote:

> 'So you've lost (or never had) Standby and/or Hibernate?'
> http://www.rickrogers.org/standby.htm
>
> regards,
> ssg MS-MVP
>
>
> Paul wrote:
> > On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
> > Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
> > Pro.
> >
> > Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
> >
> > Thanks for looking.
> >
> > Paul
>

S.Sengupta
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Update all your hardware drivers.
regards,
ssg MS-MVP

Paul wrote:

> That's correct. I guess the question is "can I find it as a software or is it
> dependent on my hardware?"
>
> Paul
>
> "S.Sengupta" wrote:
>
>
>>'So you've lost (or never had) Standby and/or Hibernate?'
>>http://www.rickrogers.org/standby.htm
>>
>>regards,
>>ssg MS-MVP
>>
>>
>>Paul wrote:
>>
>>>On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
>>>Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
>>>Pro.
>>>
>>>Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
>>>
>>>Thanks for looking.
>>>
>>>Paul
>>

Paul
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
That sounds like good advice. How do I go about updating my hardware drivers,
because I've never done that before? What hardware are we talking about? I do
update Windows XP automatically, but not my hardware.

Thanks for the help, it's very appreciated.

Paul

"S.Sengupta" wrote:

> Update all your hardware drivers.
> regards,
> ssg MS-MVP
>
> Paul wrote:
>
> > That's correct. I guess the question is "can I find it as a software or is it
> > dependent on my hardware?"
> >
> > Paul
> >
> > "S.Sengupta" wrote:
> >
> >
> >>'So you've lost (or never had) Standby and/or Hibernate?'
> >>http://www.rickrogers.org/standby.htm
> >>
> >>regards,
> >>ssg MS-MVP
> >>
> >>
> >>Paul wrote:
> >>
> >>>On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
> >>>Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
> >>>Pro.
> >>>
> >>>Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
> >>>
> >>>Thanks for looking.
> >>>
> >>>Paul
> >>
>

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Paul wrote:

> The PC in question is about three years old. It's an AMD 1.3 Duron
> procesor. The option was never available as far as I was aware. We are
> using it as the kids PC but it would be good to us less power.
>
>

If the option was never available, it could very well be that the
motherboard just doesn't support it. That's an older processor. If this
is an OEM machine (Compaq, Dell, etc.) then you would look for updates
for the BIOS and other hardware on the OEM's website for your specific
machine. If it is a custom or home-built, you would need to look for
those updates on the motherboard mftr.'s website. To determine the make
of the motherboard and other hardware, you can either open up the
machine and look or install a system inventory program like Everest
Home Edition from Lavalys (free):

http://www.lavalys.com/index.php?page=product&view=1

You need to be very careful updating the BIOS and if you aren't sure
about doing any of this, think twice about it. You might want to ask a
knowledgeable friend or computer professional instead of doing this
yourself.

Malke
--
MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic"

S.Sengupta
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Firstly you visit motherboard's manufacturer's site and try to update
BIOS.Please read the instructions very carefully before you update the BIOS.
Next after completion of BIOS update you visit Graphic/Video card's
manufacturer's site as well as Audio driver's manufacturer's site and
download,install the latest drivers.
To get confirm which things are instlled in your machine download and
install Everest Home Edition - system information tool.It's a freeware
and is a system information and benchmarking tool with full hardware &
software information.

regards,
ssg MS-MVP
Paul wrote:

> That sounds like good advice. How do I go about updating my hardware drivers,
> because I've never done that before? What hardware are we talking about? I do
> update Windows XP automatically, but not my hardware.
>
> Thanks for the help, it's very appreciated.
>
> Paul
>
> "S.Sengupta" wrote:
>
>
>>Update all your hardware drivers.
>>regards,
>>ssg MS-MVP
>>
>>Paul wrote:
>>
>>
>>>That's correct. I guess the question is "can I find it as a software or is it
>>>dependent on my hardware?"
>>>
>>>Paul
>>>
>>>"S.Sengupta" wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>>>'So you've lost (or never had) Standby and/or Hibernate?'
>>>>http://www.rickrogers.org/standby.htm
>>>>
>>>>regards,
>>>>ssg MS-MVP
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>Paul wrote:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>>On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option of
>>>>>Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
>>>>>Pro.
>>>>>
>>>>>Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
>>>>>
>>>>>Thanks for looking.
>>>>>
>>>>>Paul
>>>>

GTS
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Open Power Management from Control Panel. Is there and APM tab? If so, is
Enable Advanced Power Management checked? It would be unusual if the
machine is 3 years old and doesn't support at least APM though it might not
support the more advanced ACPI. It's true that you might need to update
chipset drivers or the BIOS, but I would check this first.

Also see Windows XP and Advanced Power Management (APM) Support
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;307525
--

"Paul" <Paul@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:8BA28089-9ECB-4E11-BBF5-92388FDD7461@microsoft.com...
> On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving option
> of
> Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my other PC with XP
> Pro.
>
> Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP Home?
>
> Thanks for looking.
>
> Paul

T. Waters
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Rather than take on the risks associated with updating your BIOS, which may
not even be the problem, consider the fact that the majority of your
computer's electricity comsumption comes from the monitor. If you simply set
the monitor to turn off after 10 minutes, and the hard drive after, say, 45
minutes, you do not need to be excessively concerned about wasting
electricity.
Start - Control Panel - Power Options - Power Scheme tab
Set the turn-off interval for your monitor and hard drive.
Apply and OK.

Paul wrote:
> The PC in question is about three years old. It's an AMD 1.3 Duron
> procesor. The option was never available as far as I was aware. We
> are using it as the kids PC but it would be good to us less power.
>
> Thanks
>
> Paul
>
> "Paul" wrote:
>
>> On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving
>> option of Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on my
>> other PC with XP Pro.
>>
>> Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on XP
>> Home?
>>
>> Thanks for looking.
>>
>> Paul

S.Sengupta
07-10-2005, 12:36 AM
Verify with your computer or peripheral manufacturer that your hardware
supports standby or hibernation. Older hardware might not be
ACPI-compliant or might predate recent revisions in the Advanced Power
Management standard.

To determine whether your system is using ACPI features

Start>Run>type in: devmgmt.msc>OK.
In the console tree, expand the Computer folder.
If the computer description includes ACPI,then your PC is using ACPI
functionality.

To determine if your computer supports hibernate and standby features:-

Start>Run>typein: powercfg.cpl>OK.
In the Power Options Properties dialog box, verify that a Hibernate tab
exists. If present, select the Hibernate tab, check the Enable
hibernation box, and click Apply.
In the Power Options Properties dialog box, verify that an Advanced tab
exists. If present, verify that Standby and Hibernate are selectable
options in the Power buttons drop down lists.
If the Standby and Hibernate options are not present, then your computer
does not support these features.

regards,
ssg MS-MVP


S.Sengupta wrote:
> Firstly you visit motherboard's manufacturer's site and try to update
> BIOS.Please read the instructions very carefully before you update the
> BIOS.
> Next after completion of BIOS update you visit Graphic/Video card's
> manufacturer's site as well as Audio driver's manufacturer's site and
> download,install the latest drivers.
> To get confirm which things are instlled in your machine download and
> install Everest Home Edition - system information tool.It's a freeware
> and is a system information and benchmarking tool with full hardware &
> software information.
>
> regards,
> ssg MS-MVP
> Paul wrote:
>
>> That sounds like good advice. How do I go about updating my hardware
>> drivers, because I've never done that before? What hardware are we
>> talking about? I do update Windows XP automatically, but not my hardware.
>>
>> Thanks for the help, it's very appreciated.
>>
>> Paul
>>
>> "S.Sengupta" wrote:
>>
>>
>>> Update all your hardware drivers.
>>> regards,
>>> ssg MS-MVP
>>>
>>> Paul wrote:
>>>
>>>
>>>> That's correct. I guess the question is "can I find it as a software
>>>> or is it dependent on my hardware?"
>>>>
>>>> Paul
>>>>
>>>> "S.Sengupta" wrote:
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>> 'So you've lost (or never had) Standby and/or Hibernate?'
>>>>> http://www.rickrogers.org/standby.htm
>>>>>
>>>>> regards,
>>>>> ssg MS-MVP
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Paul wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>>> On my PC with XP Home loaded I don't seem to have the power saving
>>>>>> option of Hibernate or Standby available. These are available on
>>>>>> my other PC with XP Pro.
>>>>>> Does anyone have any ideas on making these facilities avilable on
>>>>>> XP Home?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Thanks for looking.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Paul
>>>>>
>>>>>


Hibernate & Standby on XP Home