acpi apm and AMI bios



Tony Guan
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
Dear all,

Our device uses AMI bios, which is not fully acpi implemented, but it
supports apm.

My question is: how to enable apm support in XPE? I mean let xpe use APM to
do power management.



--
BRGs
Tony Guan

KM
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
Tony,

You will have to add the following components to your Configuration:
"NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node"
"Device: NtApm"
"Class Installer - NT Apm/Legacy Support"

If you also have "Power Meter Control Panel" or "Power Configuration Tool"in the configuration, you will get a GUI or command line
to tool to change APM settings at run time.

KM

> Dear all,
>
> Our device uses AMI bios, which is not fully acpi implemented, but it supports apm.
>
> My question is: how to enable apm support in XPE? I mean let xpe use APM to do power management.
>
>
>
> --
> BRGs
> Tony Guan

Tony Guan
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
Yes, I have all the components you mentioned.
But I cannot find the apm option in 'Power option".
Thanks for your prompt answering!
--
BRGs
Tony Guan

"KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> 写入消息新闻:%23PrBS99aFHA.2756@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Tony,
>
> You will have to add the following components to your Configuration:
> "NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node"
> "Device: NtApm"
> "Class Installer - NT Apm/Legacy Support"
>
> If you also have "Power Meter Control Panel" or "Power Configuration
> Tool"in the configuration, you will get a GUI or command line to tool to
> change APM settings at run time.
>
> KM
>
>> Dear all,
>>
>> Our device uses AMI bios, which is not fully acpi implemented, but it
>> supports apm.
>>
>> My question is: how to enable apm support in XPE? I mean let xpe use APM
>> to do power management.
>>
>>
>>
>> --
>> BRGs
>> Tony Guan
>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
Tony,

I forgot to mention one more required component "Microsoft APM Legacy Battery".

Did you turn on APM in the BIOS?
Just in case, read this:
http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prdc_mcc_pnpe.asp

in Device Manager make sure NTApm driver service is running. If not, check out SetupApi.log.

Use apmstat utility to determine whether you BISO is APM enabled. (you will find the utility on XP Pro install CD or in Resource
Kit)
Read more here:
http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prdc_mcc_cpvh.asp

KM


> Yes, I have all the components you mentioned.
> But I cannot find the apm option in 'Power option".
> Thanks for your prompt answering!
> --
> BRGs
> Tony Guan
>
> "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> 写入消息新闻:%23PrBS99aFHA.2756@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> Tony,
>>
>> You will have to add the following components to your Configuration:
>> "NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node"
>> "Device: NtApm"
>> "Class Installer - NT Apm/Legacy Support"
>>
>> If you also have "Power Meter Control Panel" or "Power Configuration Tool"in the configuration, you will get a GUI or command
>> line to tool to change APM settings at run time.
>>
>> KM
>>
>>> Dear all,
>>>
>>> Our device uses AMI bios, which is not fully acpi implemented, but it supports apm.
>>>
>>> My question is: how to enable apm support in XPE? I mean let xpe use APM to do power management.
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> --
>>> BRGs
>>> Tony Guan
>>
>>
>
>

Tony Guan
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
thanks a lot!
I will try!

--
BRGs
Tony Guan
"KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> 写入消息新闻:O$ezhm%23aFHA.3876@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Tony,
>
> I forgot to mention one more required component "Microsoft APM Legacy
> Battery".
>
> Did you turn on APM in the BIOS?
> Just in case, read this:
> http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prdc_mcc_pnpe.asp
>
> in Device Manager make sure NTApm driver service is running. If not, check
> out SetupApi.log.
>
> Use apmstat utility to determine whether you BISO is APM enabled. (you
> will find the utility on XP Pro install CD or in Resource Kit)
> Read more here:
> http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/Default.asp?url=/resources/documentation/Windows/XP/all/reskit/en-us/prdc_mcc_cpvh.asp
>
> KM
>
>
>> Yes, I have all the components you mentioned.
>> But I cannot find the apm option in 'Power option".
>> Thanks for your prompt answering!
>> --
>> BRGs
>> Tony Guan
>>
>> "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> 写入消息新闻:%23PrBS99aFHA.2756@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>>> Tony,
>>>
>>> You will have to add the following components to your Configuration:
>>> "NT Apm/Legacy Interface Node"
>>> "Device: NtApm"
>>> "Class Installer - NT Apm/Legacy Support"
>>>
>>> If you also have "Power Meter Control Panel" or "Power Configuration
>>> Tool"in the configuration, you will get a GUI or command line to tool to
>>> change APM settings at run time.
>>>
>>> KM
>>>
>>>> Dear all,
>>>>
>>>> Our device uses AMI bios, which is not fully acpi implemented, but it
>>>> supports apm.
>>>>
>>>> My question is: how to enable apm support in XPE? I mean let xpe use
>>>> APM to do power management.
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> --
>>>> BRGs
>>>> Tony Guan
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>


acpi apm and AMI bios