HELP! Windows XP Home logs off immediately - copying userinit.exedoesn't fix it!



ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
Hi,

My daughter's Windows XP SP2 system starting having a problem as
follows:

1) Boot system
2) XP Logon page appears
3) I click a user, and attempt to login
4) It says "Loading preferences", then almost immediately logs me off

I've tried the fix of booting to the XP CD, going to Repair, and copying
C:\windows\system32\userinit.exe to wsaupdater.exe, but after typing
"exit" in the Repair Console and going back to the logon page, I am
seeing exactly the same behavior.

I've tried this several times, and checked, and the userinit.exe file
and the wsaupdater.exe file are exactly the same size in
C:\windows\system32.

Can anyone help with this? Is there something else that I need to do?

Thanks in advance,
Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C0AE5.3050167A@cox.net...
> Hi,
>
> My daughter's Windows XP SP2 system starting having a problem as
> follows:
>
> 1) Boot system
> 2) XP Logon page appears
> 3) I click a user, and attempt to login
> 4) It says "Loading preferences", then almost immediately logs me off
>
> I've tried the fix of booting to the XP CD, going to Repair, and
> copying
> C:\windows\system32\userinit.exe to wsaupdater.exe, but after typing
> "exit" in the Repair Console and going back to the logon page, I am
> seeing exactly the same behavior.
>
> I've tried this several times, and checked, and the userinit.exe file
> and the wsaupdater.exe file are exactly the same size in
> C:\windows\system32.
>
> Can anyone help with this? Is there something else that I need to do?
>

The problem may be an incorrect system drive letter rather than
userinit.exe. Open the registry on the system that is causing you
trouble via a networked
machine, navigate to "HKLM\SYSTEM\MountedDevices" and delete all values
that look like this:

\DosDevices\C

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
WTC wrote:
>
> "ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
> news:428C0AE5.3050167A@cox.net...
> > Hi,
> >
> > My daughter's Windows XP SP2 system starting having a problem as
> > follows:
> >
> > 1) Boot system
> > 2) XP Logon page appears
> > 3) I click a user, and attempt to login
> > 4) It says "Loading preferences", then almost immediately logs me off
> >
> > I've tried the fix of booting to the XP CD, going to Repair, and
> > copying
> > C:\windows\system32\userinit.exe to wsaupdater.exe, but after typing
> > "exit" in the Repair Console and going back to the logon page, I am
> > seeing exactly the same behavior.
> >
> > I've tried this several times, and checked, and the userinit.exe file
> > and the wsaupdater.exe file are exactly the same size in
> > C:\windows\system32.
> >
> > Can anyone help with this? Is there something else that I need to do?
> >
>
> The problem may be an incorrect system drive letter rather than
> userinit.exe. Open the registry on the system that is causing you
> trouble via a networked
> machine, navigate to "HKLM\SYSTEM\MountedDevices" and delete all values
> that look like this:
>
> \DosDevices\C


William,

Thanks for the suggestion, but I can't connect to her machine (with
regedit). I get a popup error box "Error Connecting Network Registry".
I have a feeling from the message that the remote registry service may
not be running on her machine :(.

FYI, I have also tried booting to Safemode, and get the same results
when trying to login, i.e., it just logs off.

I've also just tried expanding USERINIT.EX_ from the XP CD into
C:\windows\system32\userinit.exe and c:\windows\system32\wsaupdater.exe,
and still get the same results :(...

Can anyone help with this?

Thanks,
Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C1599.576255B8@cox.net...
>
>
> WTC wrote:
>>
>> "ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
>> news:428C0AE5.3050167A@cox.net...
>> > Hi,
>> >
>> > My daughter's Windows XP SP2 system starting having a problem as
>> > follows:
>> >
>> > 1) Boot system
>> > 2) XP Logon page appears
>> > 3) I click a user, and attempt to login
>> > 4) It says "Loading preferences", then almost immediately logs me
>> > off
>> >
>> > I've tried the fix of booting to the XP CD, going to Repair, and
>> > copying
>> > C:\windows\system32\userinit.exe to wsaupdater.exe, but after
>> > typing
>> > "exit" in the Repair Console and going back to the logon page, I am
>> > seeing exactly the same behavior.
>> >
>> > I've tried this several times, and checked, and the userinit.exe
>> > file
>> > and the wsaupdater.exe file are exactly the same size in
>> > C:\windows\system32.
>> >
>> > Can anyone help with this? Is there something else that I need to
>> > do?
>> >
>>
>> The problem may be an incorrect system drive letter rather than
>> userinit.exe. Open the registry on the system that is causing you
>> trouble via a networked
>> machine, navigate to "HKLM\SYSTEM\MountedDevices" and delete all
>> values
>> that look like this:
>>
>> \DosDevices\C
>
> Thanks for the suggestion, but I can't connect to her machine (with
> regedit). I get a popup error box "Error Connecting Network
> Registry".
> I have a feeling from the message that the remote registry service may
> not be running on her machine :(.
>
> FYI, I have also tried booting to Safemode, and get the same results
> when trying to login, i.e., it just logs off.
>
> I've also just tried expanding USERINIT.EX_ from the XP CD into
> C:\windows\system32\userinit.exe and
> c:\windows\system32\wsaupdater.exe,
> and still get the same results :(...
>
> Can anyone help with this?
>


Can you remove the hard drive from her machine, and place it in your
machine as a slave?

If so, then open the registry, highlight [HKLM] then click on "File"
then "Load Hive". Navigate to "windows\system32\config" on *her hard
drive* and select the file "system" (has no file extension). Enter a
name for the hive. Then navigate to:

[HKLM\<the name you entered>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices]

and then delete all the values that look like:

\DosDevices\C

Once you have done this, Highlight [HKLM\<the name you entered>], then
click "File > Unload Hive". Then remove the Hard and replace back into
her machine.

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
> Can you remove the hard drive from her machine, and place it in your
> machine as a slave?
>
> If so, then open the registry, highlight [HKLM] then click on "File"
> then "Load Hive". Navigate to "windows\system32\config" on *her hard
> drive* and select the file "system" (has no file extension). Enter a
> name for the hive. Then navigate to:
>
> [HKLM\<the name you entered>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices]
>
> and then delete all the values that look like:
>
> \DosDevices\C
>
> Once you have done this, Highlight [HKLM\<the name you entered>], then
> click "File > Unload Hive". Then remove the Hard and replace back into
> her machine.
>


William,

I have other Win2K machines, but no other XP machine. Can I do what you
suggest if I move her hard drive to one of the Win2K machines?

Also, I just started regedit, and I don't see a "File" menu item. Did
you mean to use regedt32 instead or regedit?

Thanks,
Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C1E8E.9E603835@cox.net...
>
>> Can you remove the hard drive from her machine, and place it in your
>> machine as a slave?
>>
>> If so, then open the registry, highlight [HKLM] then click on "File"
>> then "Load Hive". Navigate to "windows\system32\config" on *her hard
>> drive* and select the file "system" (has no file extension). Enter a
>> name for the hive. Then navigate to:
>>
>> [HKLM\<the name you entered>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices]
>>
>> and then delete all the values that look like:
>>
>> \DosDevices\C
>>
>> Once you have done this, Highlight [HKLM\<the name you entered>],
>> then
>> click "File > Unload Hive". Then remove the Hard and replace back
>> into
>> her machine.
>>
>
>
> I have other Win2K machines, but no other XP machine. Can I do what
> you
> suggest if I move her hard drive to one of the Win2K machines?
>
> Also, I just started regedit, and I don't see a "File" menu item. Did
> you mean to use regedt32 instead or regedit?
>

With the win 2000 machine, I don't think you can use that method, will a
friend let you do this who is running an XP system? Does she have
another Hard Drive in her system or possibly a unused one that you can
install XP temporarily onto?

Or you could try using BartPE Live Bootable CD on her machine. This
should let you do the method I described.
http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
>
> With the win 2000 machine, I don't think you can use that method, will a
> friend let you do this who is running an XP system? Does she have
> another Hard Drive in her system or possibly a unused one that you can
> install XP temporarily onto?
>
> Or you could try using BartPE Live Bootable CD on her machine. This
> should let you do the method I described.
> http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/


Hi,

I was thinking of trying to build a BartPE CD, but couldn't figure out
what to do about the slipstream requirement. Then, I realized that I
have an MSDN subscription, so now I'm in the process of downloading the
"Win XP Home with SP2" ISO image.

Am I correct that I can use this with the buildpe to build a BartPE CD?

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C2B27.9ED86ABF@cox.net...
>
>>
>> With the win 2000 machine, I don't think you can use that method,
>> will a
>> friend let you do this who is running an XP system? Does she have
>> another Hard Drive in her system or possibly a unused one that you
>> can
>> install XP temporarily onto?
>>
>> Or you could try using BartPE Live Bootable CD on her machine. This
>> should let you do the method I described.
>> http://www.nu2.nu/pebuilder/
>
>
> I was thinking of trying to build a BartPE CD, but couldn't figure out
> what to do about the slipstream requirement. Then, I realized that I
> have an MSDN subscription, so now I'm in the process of downloading
> the
> "Win XP Home with SP2" ISO image.
>
> Am I correct that I can use this with the buildpe to build a BartPE
> CD?
>


Yes it will. Have you burned an ISO image before? (might be a stupid
question)

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
>
> Yes it will. Have you burned an ISO image before? (might be a stupid
> question)


William,

It's been awhile, but "yes", I have.

The download is still going... it's about 1/2 way through, as it's kind
of slow (~100 KB/sec)...

I'll post back after the download is complete and I've had a chance to
burn and tried to boot the CD.

Thanks again,
Jim

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
ohaya wrote:
>
> >
> > Yes it will. Have you burned an ISO image before? (might be a stupid
> > question)
>
> William,
>
> It's been awhile, but "yes", I have.
>
> The download is still going... it's about 1/2 way through, as it's kind
> of slow (~100 KB/sec)...
>
> I'll post back after the download is complete and I've had a chance to
> burn and tried to boot the CD.
>
> Thanks again,
> Jim


Hi,

BTW, I don't think you answered my question about the "File" menu item
not appearing in Regedit. Was that (the missing "File" menu item)
because the Win2K regedit doesn't have it?

Or did you mean to use regedt32?

Jim

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
ohaya wrote:
>
> >
> > Yes it will. Have you burned an ISO image before? (might be a stupid
> > question)
>
> William,
>
> It's been awhile, but "yes", I have.
>
> The download is still going... it's about 1/2 way through, as it's kind
> of slow (~100 KB/sec)...
>
> I'll post back after the download is complete and I've had a chance to
> burn and tried to boot the CD.
>
> Thanks again,
> Jim


Hi,

I forgot to mention in my earlier posts that her C: drive is FAT32, not
NTFS. Since that's the case, couldn't I just boot a Win98 floppy, and
copy the registry hive files off of the hard drive, take the floppy over
to a different XP machine (if I can find one), and run regedit or
regedt32 on that other machine?

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C30C4.DB4F324E@cox.net...
>
>
> ohaya wrote:
>>
>> >
>> > Yes it will. Have you burned an ISO image before? (might be a
>> > stupid
>> > question)
>>
>> William,
>>
>> It's been awhile, but "yes", I have.
>>
>> The download is still going... it's about 1/2 way through, as it's
>> kind
>> of slow (~100 KB/sec)...
>>
>> I'll post back after the download is complete and I've had a chance
>> to
>> burn and tried to boot the CD.
>>
>
> BTW, I don't think you answered my question about the "File" menu item
> not appearing in Regedit. Was that (the missing "File" menu item)
> because the Win2K regedit doesn't have it?
>
> Or did you mean to use regedt32?
>


Windows 2000 doesn't have the File menu option that includes Load Hive.

--
William

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C31CE.EC27EDFA@cox.net...
>
>
> ohaya wrote:
>>
>> >
>> > Yes it will. Have you burned an ISO image before? (might be a
>> > stupid
>> > question)
>>
>> William,
>>
>> It's been awhile, but "yes", I have.
>>
>> The download is still going... it's about 1/2 way through, as it's
>> kind
>> of slow (~100 KB/sec)...
>>
>> I'll post back after the download is complete and I've had a chance
>> to
>> burn and tried to boot the CD.
>>
>
> I forgot to mention in my earlier posts that her C: drive is FAT32,
> not
> NTFS. Since that's the case, couldn't I just boot a Win98 floppy, and
> copy the registry hive files off of the hard drive, take the floppy
> over
> to a different XP machine (if I can find one), and run regedit or
> regedt32 on that other machine?
>

The file is probably too big to do this, on my machine it is [6,400 kb].
But in theory you could.

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
> The file is probably too big to do this, on my machine it is [6,400 kb].
> But in theory you could.
>


William,

Ok, I now have a bootable BartPE CD. Really weird!!

I started regedit, and did the "Load Hive". There is no
HKLM\<hivename>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices, but there is a
HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C3F5B.B615A4B7@cox.net...
>
>> The file is probably too big to do this, on my machine it is [6,400
>> kb].
>> But in theory you could.
>>
>
>
> Ok, I now have a bootable BartPE CD. Really weird!!
>
> I started regedit, and did the "Load Hive". There is no
> HKLM\<hivename>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices, but there is a
> HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?
>

Rename it to MountedDevices and delete all value that look like
\DosDevices\A, \DosDevices\B and so on.

You should export the key first, so if something goes wrong. right click
on the "MountedDevices?" and select Export.

I think this will solve your problem,

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
WTC wrote:
>
> "ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
> news:428C3F5B.B615A4B7@cox.net...
> >
> >> The file is probably too big to do this, on my machine it is [6,400
> >> kb].
> >> But in theory you could.
> >>
> >
> >
> > Ok, I now have a bootable BartPE CD. Really weird!!
> >
> > I started regedit, and did the "Load Hive". There is no
> > HKLM\<hivename>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices, but there is a
> > HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?
> >
>
> Rename it to MountedDevices and delete all value that look like
> \DosDevices\A, \DosDevices\B and so on.
>
> You should export the key first, so if something goes wrong. right click
> on the "MountedDevices?" and select Export.
>
> I think this will solve your problem,

William,

Sorry for being obtuse, but I don't understand what you mean by "Rename
it to MountedDevices"? What is "it"?

Also, should I delete ALL of the
"HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices\DosDevices\*" keys, or just the
...\DosDevices\C?

FYI, I already tried deleting the \DosDevices\C (only) and rebooted, and
still have the same problem.

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C446A.8BF21D04@cox.net...
>
>
> WTC wrote:
>>
>> "ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
>> news:428C3F5B.B615A4B7@cox.net...
>> >
>> >> The file is probably too big to do this, on my machine it is
>> >> [6,400
>> >> kb].
>> >> But in theory you could.
>> >>
>> >
>> >
>> > Ok, I now have a bootable BartPE CD. Really weird!!
>> >
>> > I started regedit, and did the "Load Hive". There is no
>> > HKLM\<hivename>\SYSTEM\MountedDevices, but there is a
>> > HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?
>> >
>>
>> Rename it to MountedDevices and delete all value that look like
>> \DosDevices\A, \DosDevices\B and so on.
>>
>> You should export the key first, so if something goes wrong. right
>> click
>> on the "MountedDevices?" and select Export.
>>
>> I think this will solve your problem,
>
> Sorry for being obtuse, but I don't understand what you mean by
> "Rename
> it to MountedDevices"? What is "it"?
>
> Also, should I delete ALL of the
> "HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices\DosDevices\*" keys, or just the
> ..\DosDevices\C?
>
> FYI, I already tried deleting the \DosDevices\C (only) and rebooted,
> and
> still have the same problem.
>

Sorry I misunderstood, about the renaming part. I thought it read
"HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?".

Yes I would delete all the "DosDevices\*".

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
>
> Sorry I misunderstood, about the renaming part. I thought it read
> "HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?".
>
> Yes I would delete all the "DosDevices\*".


William,

Sigh :(....

I deleted all of them, and did the "Unload Hive", rebooted, and no joy.
I tried to login but it logged me off immediately again :(...


I was wondering. I've seen some msgs about XP silently refusing to
login when the Event Viewer is full. The MS KB article says to call MS
to get a new MSGina.dll.

Is it possible that that is my problem (that the Event Viewer got
full)???


Any other ideas?

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C4EE3.316C23C4@cox.net...
>
>>
>> Sorry I misunderstood, about the renaming part. I thought it read
>> "HKLM\<hivename>\MountedDevices?".
>>
>> Yes I would delete all the "DosDevices\*".
>
>
> Sigh :(....
>
> I deleted all of them, and did the "Unload Hive", rebooted, and no
> joy.
> I tried to login but it logged me off immediately again :(...
>
>
> I was wondering. I've seen some msgs about XP silently refusing to
> login when the Event Viewer is full. The MS KB article says to call
> MS
> to get a new MSGina.dll.
>
> Is it possible that that is my problem (that the Event Viewer got
> full)???
>
>
> Any other ideas?
>


It is possible, could you post a link to that KB article. I would give
them a ring if this doesn't work out.
Could you load this hive "software" found in "windows\system32"
Then go to [HKLM\<hivename>\Microsoft\Windows
NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon] and see if the key "Userinit" has the value
of "c:\windows\system32\userinit.exe,"

Note: Make sure there is a comma (,) after userinit.exe.

You could also try to do a repair install.
How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP
http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315341

Use Method 2 and read the article very carefully.

Use the XP Home SP2 disk you created to do this with.

Anyways, I will stay up for a little bit more then I am off to bed.

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
> It is possible, could you post a link to that KB article. I would give
> them a ring if this doesn't work out.
> Could you load this hive "software" found in "windows\system32"
> Then go to [HKLM\<hivename>\Microsoft\Windows
> NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon] and see if the key "Userinit" has the value
> of "c:\windows\system32\userinit.exe,"
>
> Note: Make sure there is a comma (,) after userinit.exe.
>
> You could also try to do a repair install.
> How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP
> http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315341
>
> Use Method 2 and read the article very carefully.
>
> Use the XP Home SP2 disk you created to do this with.
>
> Anyways, I will stay up for a little bit more then I am off to bed.


William,

Well, I was JUST about to post that I just fixed this problem, and saw
your post above :) [really!]!!

I think that the problem was that the "Userinit" key was COMPLETELY
missing from the registry.

When I was doing the deletes of the DosDevices stuff earlier, I had
loaded in the SOFTWARE hive, and I noticed that the Userinit key was
missing totally. I kind of ignored it, because I was trying to get the
DosDevices\* deleted.

Then, after deleting all of the DosDevices\* didn't do anything, I was
about to give up, but then I figured I'd try to ADD the Userinit and
populate it with "C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe".

I did that, and then rebooted the system, thinking "probably won't make
a difference", and VOILA, the system let me log in!!!!


All of the articles, etc. that I've seen talk about the Userinit key
being changed to "C:\WINDOWS\system32\wsaupdater.exe,", but NONE of them
ever mentioned the possibility of the Userinit key being totally missing
:(...


Thanks for all of your help and patience!!

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C5673.29612F6C@cox.net...
>> It is possible, could you post a link to that KB article. I would
>> give
>> them a ring if this doesn't work out.
>> Could you load this hive "software" found in "windows\system32"
>> Then go to [HKLM\<hivename>\Microsoft\Windows
>> NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon] and see if the key "Userinit" has the
>> value
>> of "c:\windows\system32\userinit.exe,"
>>
>> Note: Make sure there is a comma (,) after userinit.exe.
>>
>> You could also try to do a repair install.
>> How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP
>> http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315341
>>
>> Use Method 2 and read the article very carefully.
>>
>> Use the XP Home SP2 disk you created to do this with.
>>
>> Anyways, I will stay up for a little bit more then I am off to bed.
>
>
> Well, I was JUST about to post that I just fixed this problem, and saw
> your post above :) [really!]!!
>
> I think that the problem was that the "Userinit" key was COMPLETELY
> missing from the registry.
>
> When I was doing the deletes of the DosDevices stuff earlier, I had
> loaded in the SOFTWARE hive, and I noticed that the Userinit key was
> missing totally. I kind of ignored it, because I was trying to get
> the
> DosDevices\* deleted.
>
> Then, after deleting all of the DosDevices\* didn't do anything, I was
> about to give up, but then I figured I'd try to ADD the Userinit and
> populate it with "C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe".
>
> I did that, and then rebooted the system, thinking "probably won't
> make
> a difference", and VOILA, the system let me log in!!!!
>
>
> All of the articles, etc. that I've seen talk about the Userinit key
> being changed to "C:\WINDOWS\system32\wsaupdater.exe,", but NONE of
> them
> ever mentioned the possibility of the Userinit key being totally
> missing
> :(...
>
>
> Thanks for all of your help and patience!!
>


You are very welcome.

--
William

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
Nice feedback folks, great information to share. Good job on the
troubleshooting as well.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message news:428C5673.29612F6C@cox.net...
>> It is possible, could you post a link to that KB article. I would give
>> them a ring if this doesn't work out.
>> Could you load this hive "software" found in "windows\system32"
>> Then go to [HKLM\<hivename>\Microsoft\Windows
>> NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon] and see if the key "Userinit" has the value
>> of "c:\windows\system32\userinit.exe,"
>>
>> Note: Make sure there is a comma (,) after userinit.exe.
>>
>> You could also try to do a repair install.
>> How to perform an in-place upgrade (reinstallation) of Windows XP
>> http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=315341
>>
>> Use Method 2 and read the article very carefully.
>>
>> Use the XP Home SP2 disk you created to do this with.
>>
>> Anyways, I will stay up for a little bit more then I am off to bed.
>
>
> William,
>
> Well, I was JUST about to post that I just fixed this problem, and saw
> your post above :) [really!]!!
>
> I think that the problem was that the "Userinit" key was COMPLETELY
> missing from the registry.
>
> When I was doing the deletes of the DosDevices stuff earlier, I had
> loaded in the SOFTWARE hive, and I noticed that the Userinit key was
> missing totally. I kind of ignored it, because I was trying to get the
> DosDevices\* deleted.
>
> Then, after deleting all of the DosDevices\* didn't do anything, I was
> about to give up, but then I figured I'd try to ADD the Userinit and
> populate it with "C:\WINDOWS\system32\userinit.exe".
>
> I did that, and then rebooted the system, thinking "probably won't make
> a difference", and VOILA, the system let me log in!!!!
>
>
> All of the articles, etc. that I've seen talk about the Userinit key
> being changed to "C:\WINDOWS\system32\wsaupdater.exe,", but NONE of them
> ever mentioned the possibility of the Userinit key being totally missing
> :(...
>
>
> Thanks for all of your help and patience!!
>
> Jim

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
Rick \"Nutcase\" Rogers wrote:
>
> Nice feedback folks, great information to share. Good job on the
> troubleshooting as well.
>


Rick,

Yes, it was almost like a realtime chat, wasn't it :)?

Just to round off this thread, I think that William had asked about an
MS article that I had mentioned regarding Windows silently rejecting
logon attempts. As it turns out, this wasn't my problem, but here's the
link to the article:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;313322&Product=winxp

Jim

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" <rick@mvps.org> wrote in message
news:e56sYDGXFHA.2448@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> Nice feedback folks, great information to share. Good job on the
> troubleshooting as well.
>

Thanks, Rick.

--
William

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
"ohaya" <ohaya@cox.net> wrote in message
news:428C75DA.37318FD@cox.net...
>
>
> Rick \"Nutcase\" Rogers wrote:
>>
>> Nice feedback folks, great information to share. Good job on the
>> troubleshooting as well.
>>
>
> Yes, it was almost like a realtime chat, wasn't it :)?
>
> Just to round off this thread, I think that William had asked about an
> MS article that I had mentioned regarding Windows silently rejecting
> logon attempts. As it turns out, this wasn't my problem, but here's
> the
> link to the article:
>
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;313322&Product=winxp
>


Thank for the link, Jim.

--
William

ohaya
07-09-2005, 11:36 PM
> > Yes, it was almost like a realtime chat, wasn't it :)?
> >
> > Just to round off this thread, I think that William had asked about an
> > MS article that I had mentioned regarding Windows silently rejecting
> > logon attempts. As it turns out, this wasn't my problem, but here's
> > the
> > link to the article:
> >
> > http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;313322&Product=winxp
> >
>
> Thank for the link, Jim.


William,

No, thank you to YOU!

Despite the pain and looong night, I guess the 'upside' (besides getting
her PC working again) was that:

1) I learned how to make a BartPE CD (something I've thought about
before), and

2) I learned how to edit the Registry after booting from the BartPE CD.

So, other than the sleep deprivation, overall, it was a positive thing,
and I thank you (again) for "hanging in there" with me last night...

Jim


HELP! Windows XP Home logs off immediately - copying userinit.exedoesn't fix it!