-/ close



guerra
07-10-2005, 12:34 AM
I'M TRYING TO REINSTALL A SOFTWARE BUT IN THE PROCESS THERE IS A ERROR
WINDOW CANNOT '-/ CLOSE' AND THE PROCESS CONTINUE BUT I'M LOSTING INFORMATION
IN THE SOFTWARE, SOMEBODY HAS ANY IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON?
--
thank you

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:34 AM
guerra wrote:

> I'M TRYING TO REINSTALL A SOFTWARE BUT IN THE PROCESS THERE IS A ERROR
> WINDOW CANNOT '-/ CLOSE' AND THE PROCESS CONTINUE BUT I'M LOSTING
> INFORMATION IN THE SOFTWARE, SOMEBODY HAS ANY IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON?

1. Please do not type in all caps - it is considered shouting, rude, and
is just plain hard to read.

2. What is the software's name?

Malke
--
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic!"
MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:34 AM
guerra wrote:

> I'M TRYING TO REINSTALL A SOFTWARE BUT IN THE PROCESS THERE IS A ERROR
> WINDOW CANNOT '-/ CLOSE' AND THE PROCESS CONTINUE BUT I'M LOSTING INFORMATION
> IN THE SOFTWARE, SOMEBODY HAS ANY IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON?

Have you contacted the software vendor?

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

guerra
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
Sorry, I did'n know... I'm trying to reinstall the SBC DSL service, but the
setup program is working in the shortcuts, and the base of the programs, the
error appears and keep working the setup, but at the end, I cannot find the
icons for the DSL service, and I talked with the guys from SBC DSL and they
told me that the problem is witn my computer, and I don't have any idea...
--
thank you


"Malke" wrote:

> guerra wrote:
>
> > I'M TRYING TO REINSTALL A SOFTWARE BUT IN THE PROCESS THERE IS A ERROR
> > WINDOW CANNOT '-/ CLOSE' AND THE PROCESS CONTINUE BUT I'M LOSTING
> > INFORMATION IN THE SOFTWARE, SOMEBODY HAS ANY IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON?
>
> 1. Please do not type in all caps - it is considered shouting, rude, and
> is just plain hard to read.
>
> 2. What is the software's name?
>
> Malke
> --
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic!"
> MS-MVP Windows - Shell/User
>

guerra
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
yes, but they tell me that my computer is no working good, because we tried
throug internet...
--
thank you


"Rock" wrote:

> guerra wrote:
>
> > I'M TRYING TO REINSTALL A SOFTWARE BUT IN THE PROCESS THERE IS A ERROR
> > WINDOW CANNOT '-/ CLOSE' AND THE PROCESS CONTINUE BUT I'M LOSTING INFORMATION
> > IN THE SOFTWARE, SOMEBODY HAS ANY IDEA WHAT'S GOING ON?
>
> Have you contacted the software vendor?
>
> --
> Rock
> MS MVP Windows - Shell/User
>
>

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
guerra wrote:

> yes, but they tell me that my computer is no working good, because we
> tried throug internet...

OK, so you just got SBC/Yahoo DSL and you are trying to install the
software. The original installation didn't work and you are trying to
reinstall? If this is correct, just uninstall everything, unplug the
DSL router and start completely over.

If this is *not* correct - that you had DSL working, it stopped working,
and you are now trying to reinstall - post back with a full description
of the problem. Remember, we can't see your computer from here.

If you previously had an Internet connection on this computer, there is
a good possibility that you have malware on it. This would definitely
cause problems when trying to install SBC/Yahoo's service. So post back
with more information for more help. Here are some links to help you
make a good newsgroup post:

http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html

This isn't meant to hurt your feelings - I'm giving you these links to
help you maximize your chances of getting help. :-)

Malke
--
MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic"

guerra
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
the error said. Windows cannot find '-/Close' make shure that write
correctly the name of the file, press start button and go to search to find
the file, I tried to uninstall the software but doesn't work, it appears a
error and said failed to lunch uninstaller
--
thank you


"Malke" wrote:

> guerra wrote:
>
> > yes, but they tell me that my computer is no working good, because we
> > tried throug internet...
>
> OK, so you just got SBC/Yahoo DSL and you are trying to install the
> software. The original installation didn't work and you are trying to
> reinstall? If this is correct, just uninstall everything, unplug the
> DSL router and start completely over.
>
> If this is *not* correct - that you had DSL working, it stopped working,
> and you are now trying to reinstall - post back with a full description
> of the problem. Remember, we can't see your computer from here.
>
> If you previously had an Internet connection on this computer, there is
> a good possibility that you have malware on it. This would definitely
> cause problems when trying to install SBC/Yahoo's service. So post back
> with more information for more help. Here are some links to help you
> make a good newsgroup post:
>
> http://www.dts-l.org/goodpost.htm
> http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
>
> This isn't meant to hurt your feelings - I'm giving you these links to
> help you maximize your chances of getting help. :-)
>
> Malke
> --
> MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
> Elephant Boy Computers
> www.elephantboycomputers.com
> "Don't Panic"
>

Malke
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
guerra wrote:

> the error said. Windows cannot find '-/Close' make shure that write
> correctly the name of the file, press start button and go to search to
> find the file, I tried to uninstall the software but doesn't work, it
> appears a
> error and said failed to lunch uninstaller

OK, you didn't answer any of the questions I asked you so I can't help
you. Here are things you can try:

1. Do a System Restore to before you tried to install the software.
2. If that works, reinstall the software.
3. Do not try and install the DSL software until you know that your
computer is 100% virus and malware-free. If you don't know how to
determine that, use the steps described here:

http://www.elephantboycomputers.com/page2.html#Removing_Malware

4. If none of the above works and/or it is too difficult, have a
professional computer repair person come and set up your DSL for you.
This should not be very expensive and will probably be your best course
of action.

Good luck,

Malke
--
MS-MVP Windows User/Shell
Elephant Boy Computers
www.elephantboycomputers.com
"Don't Panic"


-/ close