Missing the ColdFusion msi installer file



Bloke
07-10-2005, 12:33 AM
I am trying to reinstall Coldfusion MX on my Windows XP Pro. It starts to
install and then it stops. A window pops up and says it can't find the
ColdFusion Mx.msi file. Says its on a network resource or something. I have
everything because I installed it before.

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:33 AM
Bloke wrote:
> I am trying to reinstall Coldfusion MX on my Windows XP Pro. It starts to
> install and then it stops. A window pops up and says it can't find the
> ColdFusion Mx.msi file. Says its on a network resource or something. I have
> everything because I installed it before.

It would help if you posted the steps you followed to install it and the
exact error message.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

Electric Cowboy
07-10-2005, 12:33 AM
Have you tried clicking the 'start' button, clicking
'set program access and defaults' , clicking 'add new programs'
clicking 'cd or floppy' ?

This method of installing programs bypasses the normal security
which could be fouling it up, but be sure you are logged in as
administrator before giveing this a try.

"Bloke" wrote:

> I am trying to reinstall Coldfusion MX on my Windows XP Pro. It starts to
> install and then it stops. A window pops up and says it can't find the
> ColdFusion Mx.msi file. Says its on a network resource or something. I have
> everything because I installed it before.

Bloke
07-10-2005, 12:34 AM
Its says:
"The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is
unavailable. Click ok to try again or enter an alternate path to a folder
that contains the installation package coldfusionMX.msi below."

Then there is a browse window with the following path in it
C:\\windows\Temp\_isD5\

It says this everytime I try to install it. I also tried a friends version
of it and it said the same thing.

"Electric Cowboy" wrote:

> Have you tried clicking the 'start' button, clicking
> 'set program access and defaults' , clicking 'add new programs'
> clicking 'cd or floppy' ?
>
> This method of installing programs bypasses the normal security
> which could be fouling it up, but be sure you are logged in as
> administrator before giveing this a try.
>
> "Bloke" wrote:
>
> > I am trying to reinstall Coldfusion MX on my Windows XP Pro. It starts to
> > install and then it stops. A window pops up and says it can't find the
> > ColdFusion Mx.msi file. Says its on a network resource or something. I have
> > everything because I installed it before.

Bloke
07-10-2005, 12:35 AM
"Have you tried clicking the 'start' button, clicking
'set program access and defaults' , clicking 'add new programs'
clicking 'cd or floppy' ? "

I tried the above approach also. All this does it starts the installer. I
can click that directly. The problem is it is stopping and pointing to this
temp folder for some reason.

"Bloke" wrote:

> Its says:
> "The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is
> unavailable. Click ok to try again or enter an alternate path to a folder
> that contains the installation package coldfusionMX.msi below."
>
> Then there is a browse window with the following path in it
> C:\\windows\Temp\_isD5\
>
> It says this everytime I try to install it. I also tried a friends version
> of it and it said the same thing.
>
> "Electric Cowboy" wrote:
>
> > Have you tried clicking the 'start' button, clicking
> > 'set program access and defaults' , clicking 'add new programs'
> > clicking 'cd or floppy' ?
> >
> > This method of installing programs bypasses the normal security
> > which could be fouling it up, but be sure you are logged in as
> > administrator before giveing this a try.
> >
> > "Bloke" wrote:
> >
> > > I am trying to reinstall Coldfusion MX on my Windows XP Pro. It starts to
> > > install and then it stops. A window pops up and says it can't find the
> > > ColdFusion Mx.msi file. Says its on a network resource or something. I have
> > > everything because I installed it before.


Missing the ColdFusion msi installer file