Dynamic disks on a laptop



R. Dana
07-09-2005, 11:33 PM
Does anyone know a way around the restrictions imposed on use of dynamic
disks on laptop computers in XP Pro? I'm a PC tech and I use my laptop
frequently on client sites to do backups, data recovery, and other tasks, but
this ridiculous limitation makes my laptop nearly useless when dealing with
server disks.

I've read the KB article giving the rationale for the restriction, but it's
weak... "it won't be needed in most cases" / "we want to keep people from
shooting themselves in the foot". Well, I'm well-educated in the use of this
particular gun, and my foot is perfectly safe, thank you. Is there a way
around it? How does XP know that it's running on a laptop?

-R

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:33 PM
There is no reason to use a dynamic disk with a laptop.

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"R. Dana" <R. wrote:

| Does anyone know a way around the restrictions imposed on use of dynamic
| disks on laptop computers in XP Pro? I'm a PC tech and I use my laptop
| frequently on client sites to do backups, data recovery, and other tasks, but
| this ridiculous limitation makes my laptop nearly useless when dealing with
| server disks.
|
| I've read the KB article giving the rationale for the restriction, but it's
| weak... "it won't be needed in most cases" / "we want to keep people from
| shooting themselves in the foot". Well, I'm well-educated in the use of this
| particular gun, and my foot is perfectly safe, thank you. Is there a way
| around it? How does XP know that it's running on a laptop?
|
| -R

LOL
07-09-2005, 11:33 PM
"R. Dana" <R. Dana@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:0DC69A38-687E-453C-90FC-4D5E729D78A5@microsoft.com...
<snip>

> I'm a PC tech....
<snip>
> How does XP know that it's running on a laptop?
>

Now I am wondering about the "PC tech" part. And plus the OP is a CDO
poster.

andy smart
07-09-2005, 11:33 PM
LOL wrote:
> "R. Dana" <R. Dana@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:0DC69A38-687E-453C-90FC-4D5E729D78A5@microsoft.com...
> <snip>
>
>>I'm a PC tech....
>
> <snip>
>
>>How does XP know that it's running on a laptop?
>>
>
>
> Now I am wondering about the "PC tech" part. And plus the OP is a CDO
> poster.
>
>
>
>
Actually, how DOES XP know it's running on a laptop (serious question)?
Does it recognize some of the hardware and make an educated assumption?

Bob I
07-09-2005, 11:34 PM
Reverse this?
Laptop May Incorrectly Have Option to Upgrade Basic Disks to Dynamic
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;234308

I have not tried this, So the foot you shoot may be yours.

R. Dana wrote:

> Does anyone know a way around the restrictions imposed on use of dynamic
> disks on laptop computers in XP Pro? I'm a PC tech and I use my laptop
> frequently on client sites to do backups, data recovery, and other tasks, but
> this ridiculous limitation makes my laptop nearly useless when dealing with
> server disks.
>
> I've read the KB article giving the rationale for the restriction, but it's
> weak... "it won't be needed in most cases" / "we want to keep people from
> shooting themselves in the foot". Well, I'm well-educated in the use of this
> particular gun, and my foot is perfectly safe, thank you. Is there a way
> around it? How does XP know that it's running on a laptop?
>
> -R


Dynamic disks on a laptop