Network Switching



Sypher
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
Hello, i've got a problem ...
I have a notebook that have to be able to go in 2 different networks ....
The main problem is that those 2 network dosnt have DHCP, so its a pain to
switch manually everytime
(since one is totally different from another).

Do you guys know some tricks to automatize the switching process ?
Or some (freeware) utility that will do that for me ?

Thanks in advance to anyone that will answer ...

Sypher

steve
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
I use this and find it works well http://www.netswitcher.com/
--
there are no problems, just challenges


"Sypher" wrote:

> Hello, i've got a problem ...
> I have a notebook that have to be able to go in 2 different networks ....
> The main problem is that those 2 network dosnt have DHCP, so its a pain to
> switch manually everytime
> (since one is totally different from another).
>
> Do you guys know some tricks to automatize the switching process ?
> Or some (freeware) utility that will do that for me ?
>
> Thanks in advance to anyone that will answer ...
>
> Sypher
>
>
>

andy smart
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
Sypher wrote:
> Hello, i've got a problem ...
> I have a notebook that have to be able to go in 2 different networks ....
> The main problem is that those 2 network dosnt have DHCP, so its a pain to
> switch manually everytime
> (since one is totally different from another).
>
> Do you guys know some tricks to automatize the switching process ?
> Or some (freeware) utility that will do that for me ?
>
> Thanks in advance to anyone that will answer ...
>
> Sypher
>
>
XP supports two sets of TCP/IP properties - the main one and an
'alternate' one - that might be of use to you.

Right click on your network connection, choose properties and then
TCP/IP - you'll see the properties displayed but there is also an
alternate tab. My understanding is that the alternate is used when the
main ones do not work.

Sypher
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
"andy smart" <anonymus@discussions.microsoft.com> ha scritto nel messaggio
news:d6cnkv$j3v$1@newsfeed.th.ifl.net...
> XP supports two sets of TCP/IP properties - the main one and an
> 'alternate' one - that might be of use to you.
>
> Right click on your network connection, choose properties and then
> TCP/IP - you'll see the properties displayed but there is also an
> alternate tab. My understanding is that the alternate is used when the
> main ones do not work.

That one is a SP2 feature i think. But i cant decide to install SP2 over
that notebook (its not mine but of a colleague.)

Any freeware software?

Thanks in advance,
Sypher.

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
The "alternate" tabe exists in every versions of XP, not just SP2,


"Sypher" <sypher@nospamplz.com> wrote in message
news:4289e299_1@x-privat.org...
>
> "andy smart" <anonymus@discussions.microsoft.com> ha scritto nel messaggio
> news:d6cnkv$j3v$1@newsfeed.th.ifl.net...
>> XP supports two sets of TCP/IP properties - the main one and an
>> 'alternate' one - that might be of use to you.
>>
>> Right click on your network connection, choose properties and then
>> TCP/IP - you'll see the properties displayed but there is also an
>> alternate tab. My understanding is that the alternate is used when the
>> main ones do not work.
>
> That one is a SP2 feature i think. But i cant decide to install SP2 over
> that notebook (its not mine but of a colleague.)
>
> Any freeware software?
>
> Thanks in advance,
> Sypher.
>

Steve N.
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
Sypher wrote:

> "andy smart" <anonymus@discussions.microsoft.com> ha scritto nel messaggio
> news:d6cnkv$j3v$1@newsfeed.th.ifl.net...
>
>>XP supports two sets of TCP/IP properties - the main one and an
>>'alternate' one - that might be of use to you.
>>
>>Right click on your network connection, choose properties and then
>>TCP/IP - you'll see the properties displayed but there is also an
>>alternate tab. My understanding is that the alternate is used when the
>>main ones do not work.
>
>
> That one is a SP2 feature i think. But i cant decide to install SP2 over
> that notebook (its not mine but of a colleague.)
>
> Any freeware software?
>
> Thanks in advance,
> Sypher.
>

It is not an SP2 specific feature.

Steve


Network Switching