Browsing as Admin



Franklin
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
if any here use Linux, you know this good practice not to run as root/admin.
You're able to browse folders as root/admin which gives you full access to
those folders/files. You just close it when done.

In Windows, I run certain Apps by holding shift, right click, and "run as"
an admin. I restrict all users to prevent malacious software installation
especially when online. My question is how do I browse folders as an Admin
without having to logout and login as an Admin?

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
"Franklin" <Franklin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F0955ADA-9BB8-4D1F-9046-EFD68BA62309@microsoft.com...
> if any here use Linux, you know this good practice not to run as
> root/admin.
> You're able to browse folders as root/admin which gives you full
> access to
> those folders/files. You just close it when done.
>
> In Windows, I run certain Apps by holding shift, right click, and "run
> as"
> an admin. I restrict all users to prevent malacious software
> installation
> especially when online. My question is how do I browse folders as an
> Admin
> without having to logout and login as an Admin?


In the command prompt type:

runas /user:administrator "explorer"

--
William

Franklin
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Thanks for the quick reply,

that almost works, after typing the instruction, it gives the command prompt
asking for pwd, after I type the pwd, it just disapears. I also tried other
paths, but same result.

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
"Franklin" <Franklin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A4D3D4C8-1787-4B95-997E-C6F33C775C45@microsoft.com...
> Thanks for the quick reply,
>
> that almost works, after typing the instruction, it gives the command
> prompt
> asking for pwd, after I type the pwd, it just disapears. I also tried
> other
> paths, but same result.


Works perfectly on my system. In the command propmt type:

runas /?

this will give you the parameters details.

--
William

Franklin
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Thanks again,

You got me to a point where I can probably figure it out. I did a little
research, some say you must kill explorer for it to work. I did that, it
worked, but that's not what am looking for. I just want to be able to browse
folders via GUI as an admin while logged in as a user. Thanks for your help.

WTC
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
"Franklin" <Franklin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E3096AD1-45AF-4525-AF4D-3C3F5E907128@microsoft.com...
>
> Thanks again,
>
> You got me to a point where I can probably figure it out. I did a
> little
> research, some say you must kill explorer for it to work. I did that,
> it
> worked, but that's not what am looking for. I just want to be able to
> browse
> folders via GUI as an admin while logged in as a user. Thanks for your
> help.


You're welcome, hope it works out for you.

--
William

Kelly
07-09-2005, 11:32 PM
Why not browse them via your admin account?

--

All the Best,
Kelly (MS-MVP)

Troubleshooting Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com


"Franklin" <Franklin@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E3096AD1-45AF-4525-AF4D-3C3F5E907128@microsoft.com...
>
> Thanks again,
>
> You got me to a point where I can probably figure it out. I did a little
> research, some say you must kill explorer for it to work. I did that, it
> worked, but that's not what am looking for. I just want to be able to
> browse
> folders via GUI as an admin while logged in as a user. Thanks for your
> help.

Nospam
07-09-2005, 11:33 PM
Kelly wrote:
> Why not browse them via your admin account?
>
just copy the shortcut from the start menu for windows explorer, right
click it and select runas then select the username you want to use

Franklin
07-09-2005, 11:37 PM
I hold shift, just right click ie and run as admin. issue resolved

the other idea here with creating shortcut works just as well.

Thanks all for the response.

simonc
07-10-2005, 12:42 AM
I also want to do exactly this - but the various solutions shown here never
produce a visible Windows Explorer window. I can see Explorer is running in
the task manager, but it doesn't appear on the desktop. I have tried the
command prompt options of /noprofile, and /env which seemed to be applicable,
but it always responds with
Attempting to start explorer as user "Computer Name\Administrator" ...
then nothing more happens.

"Franklin" wrote:

> I hold shift, just right click ie and run as admin. issue resolved
>
> the other idea here with creating shortcut works just as well.
>
> Thanks all for the response.

David Candy
07-10-2005, 12:42 AM
Use Internet Explorer, just type C:\ in the address bar.

--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://webdiary.smh.com.au/archives/_comment/001075.html
=================================================
"simonc" <simonc@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:95E08829-DECE-438E-A243-DC2403EBA454@microsoft.com...
>I also want to do exactly this - but the various solutions shown here never
> produce a visible Windows Explorer window. I can see Explorer is running in
> the task manager, but it doesn't appear on the desktop. I have tried the
> command prompt options of /noprofile, and /env which seemed to be applicable,
> but it always responds with
> Attempting to start explorer as user "Computer Name\Administrator" ...
> then nothing more happens.
>
> "Franklin" wrote:
>
>> I hold shift, just right click ie and run as admin. issue resolved
>>
>> the other idea here with creating shortcut works just as well.
>>
>> Thanks all for the response.

simonc
07-10-2005, 12:42 AM
Many thanks for this. It works!!

Is there a way of specifying command line options for Internet Explorer the
way you can for Windows Explorer? I would like to set up the shortcut to open
IE in C: with the Folders tab open, but without necessarily changing the
default Internet Options for Internet Explorer.

"David Candy" wrote:

> Use Internet Explorer, just type C:\ in the address bar.
>
> --
> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
> http://webdiary.smh.com.au/archives/_comment/001075.html
> =================================================
> "simonc" <simonc@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:95E08829-DECE-438E-A243-DC2403EBA454@microsoft.com...
> >I also want to do exactly this - but the various solutions shown here never
> > produce a visible Windows Explorer window. I can see Explorer is running in
> > the task manager, but it doesn't appear on the desktop. I have tried the
> > command prompt options of /noprofile, and /env which seemed to be applicable,
> > but it always responds with
> > Attempting to start explorer as user "Computer Name\Administrator" ...
> > then nothing more happens.
> >
> > "Franklin" wrote:
> >
> >> I hold shift, just right click ie and run as admin. issue resolved
> >>
> >> the other idea here with creating shortcut works just as well.
> >>
> >> Thanks all for the response.
>

David Candy
07-10-2005, 12:42 AM
iexplore c:\

Can't turn folders on though.


--
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
http://webdiary.smh.com.au/archives/_comment/001075.html
=================================================
"simonc" <simonc@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:D7AB7C96-FD5A-47F7-8FBF-38FC32ABD55A@microsoft.com...
> Many thanks for this. It works!!
>
> Is there a way of specifying command line options for Internet Explorer the
> way you can for Windows Explorer? I would like to set up the shortcut to open
> IE in C: with the Folders tab open, but without necessarily changing the
> default Internet Options for Internet Explorer.
>
> "David Candy" wrote:
>
>> Use Internet Explorer, just type C:\ in the address bar.
>>
>> --
>> --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>> http://webdiary.smh.com.au/archives/_comment/001075.html
>> =================================================
>> "simonc" <simonc@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:95E08829-DECE-438E-A243-DC2403EBA454@microsoft.com...
>> >I also want to do exactly this - but the various solutions shown here never
>> > produce a visible Windows Explorer window. I can see Explorer is running in
>> > the task manager, but it doesn't appear on the desktop. I have tried the
>> > command prompt options of /noprofile, and /env which seemed to be applicable,
>> > but it always responds with
>> > Attempting to start explorer as user "Computer Name\Administrator" ....
>> > then nothing more happens.
>> >
>> > "Franklin" wrote:
>> >
>> >> I hold shift, just right click ie and run as admin. issue resolved
>> >>
>> >> the other idea here with creating shortcut works just as well.
>> >>
>> >> Thanks all for the response.
>>


Browsing as Admin