iexplorer.exe is "running" but no browser appears



Dolores
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or right-click
Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows
iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've tried double-clicking more than
once there are multiple copies of it. This problem generally is only when I
try to run IE right after turning on the PC.

I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and McAfee
Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm using Comcast
cable high speed internet service. But all of this was true before this
problem started.

Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Checking for/Help with Hijackware
http://aumha.org/a/parasite.htm
http://aumha.org/a/quickfix.htm
http://aumha.net/viewtopic.php?t=5878
http://mvps.org/winhelp2002/unwanted.htm
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/data/prevention.htm
http://inetexplorer.mvps.org/data/tshoot.htm
http://www.mvps.org/sramesh2k/Malware_Defence.htm
http://defendingyourmachine.blogspot.com/

--
~Robear Dyer (PA Bear)
MS MVP-Windows (IE/OE) & Security

Dolores wrote:
> Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or
> right-click Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do
> CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've tried
> double-clicking more than once there are multiple copies of it. This
> problem generally is only when I try to run IE right after turning on the
> PC.
>
> I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and McAfee
> Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm using Comcast
> cable high speed internet service. But all of this was true before this
> problem started.
>
> Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?
>
> Thanks.

David H. Lipman
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
From: "Dolores" <Dolores@discussions.microsoft.com>

| Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or right-click
| Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows
| iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've tried double-clicking more than
| once there are multiple copies of it. This problem generally is only when I
| try to run IE right after turning on the PC.
|
| I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and McAfee
| Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm using Comcast
| cable high speed internet service. But all of this was true before this
| problem started.
|
| Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?
|
| Thanks.


Download CLEAN.EXE from the URL --
http://www.ik-cs.com/programs/virtools/clean.exe

It is a self-extracting ZIP file that contains the Kixtart Script Interpreter
{ http://kixtart.org Kixtart is CareWare } three batch files, two Kixtart scripts, two Link
(.lnk) files and a PDF instruction file.

GETFILES.BAT -- For downloading (FTP) the files needed to run the McAfee Command Line
Scanner. If you are using Windows XP, you may have to disable the Windows XP FireWall to
allow the FTP utility to download the needed files

CLEAN.BAT -- For running within Windows after running c:\mcafee\GetFiles.BAT. If you choose
to scan again at a future date, run this batch file. It will automatically check the date
of the McAfee DAT files and if it is a couple of days old, it will download (FTP) the latest
signature files and install them before performing the scan.

DOSCLEAN.BAT -- For use on a Win9x/ME PC or on a Win2K/WinXP PC that is using FAT32 after
you have booted from an Emergency Boot Disk or DOS disk and have already executed;
c:\mcafee\GetFiles.BAT from within Windows. DOS disk boot images can be obtained from;
http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm

I need you to perform the following...

Execute; CLEAN.EXE
Choose; Unzip
Choose; Close

Execute; c:\mcafee\GetFiles.BAT
{ or Double-click on 'GetFiles Link' in c:\mcafee }

Reboot the PC into Safe Mode [F8 key during boot]

Shutdown as many applications as possible !
It would also help for you to read - "How to perform a clean boot in Windows XP"
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353

Execute; c:\mcafee\CLEAN.BAT
{ or Double-click on 'Clean Link' in c:\mcafee }

A final report in HTML format called C:\mcafee\ScanReport.HTML will be generated. At the
end of the scan, it will be displayed in your browser (Opera, FireFox or Internet Explorer).
It is suggested that you move the report out of c:\mcafee before performing another scan.
It would be a good idea to scan in Safe Mode and in Normal Mode and save a copy of the HTML
report for each session.


--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm

Gunilla
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
David and Robear!

Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with references to
you of course, when giving advice in the one and only Swedish NG? I think
your solutions are good when fighting virus and the like and since you have
it all set and done I would much rather just copy it into a post when
replying. Is it okay?

Kind regards,

Gunilla.

"David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> skrev i meddelandet
news:eBCKttlWFHA.616@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> From: "Dolores" <Dolores@discussions.microsoft.com>
>
> | Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or
> right-click
> | Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows
> | iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've tried double-clicking more
> than
> | once there are multiple copies of it. This problem generally is only
> when I
> | try to run IE right after turning on the PC.
> |
> | I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and McAfee
> | Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm using
> Comcast
> | cable high speed internet service. But all of this was true before this
> | problem started.
> |
> | Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?
> |
> | Thanks.
>
>
> Download CLEAN.EXE from the URL --
> http://www.ik-cs.com/programs/virtools/clean.exe
>
> It is a self-extracting ZIP file that contains the Kixtart Script
> Interpreter
> { http://kixtart.org Kixtart is CareWare } three batch files, two Kixtart
> scripts, two Link
> (.lnk) files and a PDF instruction file.
>
> GETFILES.BAT -- For downloading (FTP) the files needed to run the McAfee
> Command Line
> Scanner. If you are using Windows XP, you may have to disable the Windows
> XP FireWall to
> allow the FTP utility to download the needed files
>
> CLEAN.BAT -- For running within Windows after running
> c:\mcafee\GetFiles.BAT. If you choose
> to scan again at a future date, run this batch file. It will
> automatically check the date
> of the McAfee DAT files and if it is a couple of days old, it will
> download (FTP) the latest
> signature files and install them before performing the scan.
>
> DOSCLEAN.BAT -- For use on a Win9x/ME PC or on a Win2K/WinXP PC that is
> using FAT32 after
> you have booted from an Emergency Boot Disk or DOS disk and have already
> executed;
> c:\mcafee\GetFiles.BAT from within Windows. DOS disk boot images can be
> obtained from;
> http://www.bootdisk.com/bootdisk.htm
>
> I need you to perform the following...
>
> Execute; CLEAN.EXE
> Choose; Unzip
> Choose; Close
>
> Execute; c:\mcafee\GetFiles.BAT
> { or Double-click on 'GetFiles Link' in c:\mcafee }
>
> Reboot the PC into Safe Mode [F8 key during boot]
>
> Shutdown as many applications as possible !
> It would also help for you to read - "How to perform a clean boot in
> Windows XP"
> http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310353
>
> Execute; c:\mcafee\CLEAN.BAT
> { or Double-click on 'Clean Link' in c:\mcafee }
>
> A final report in HTML format called C:\mcafee\ScanReport.HTML will be
> generated. At the
> end of the scan, it will be displayed in your browser (Opera, FireFox or
> Internet Explorer).
> It is suggested that you move the report out of c:\mcafee before
> performing another scan.
> It would be a good idea to scan in Safe Mode and in Normal Mode and save a
> copy of the HTML
> report for each session.
>
>
> --
> Dave
> http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
> http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm
>
>

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Copy away. Anything posted here is public information, Gunilla.
--
~PA Bear

Gunilla wrote:
> David and Robear!
>
> Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with references
> to you of course, when giving advice in the one and only Swedish NG? I
> think your solutions are good when fighting virus and the like and since
> you have it all set and done I would much rather just copy it into a post
> when replying. Is it okay?
>
> Kind regards,
>
> Gunilla.

Gunilla
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Thanks to thee! '-))

Gunilla

"PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
news:uOyClHmWFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> Copy away. Anything posted here is public information, Gunilla.
> --
> ~PA Bear
>
> Gunilla wrote:
>> David and Robear!
>>
>> Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with references
>> to you of course, when giving advice in the one and only Swedish NG? I
>> think your solutions are good when fighting virus and the like and since
>> you have it all set and done I would much rather just copy it into a post
>> when replying. Is it okay?
>>
>> Kind regards,
>>
>> Gunilla.

David H. Lipman
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
From: "Gunilla" <kakaomumsathotmaildotcom>

| David and Robear!
|
| Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with references to
| you of course, when giving advice in the one and only Swedish NG? I think
| your solutions are good when fighting virus and the like and since you have
| it all set and done I would much rather just copy it into a post when
| replying. Is it okay?
|
| Kind regards,
|
| Gunilla.
|

Please, go right ahead !

--
Dave
http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
BTW, what is the one and only Swedish-language newsgroup?
--
~PA Bear

Gunilla wrote:
> Thanks to thee! '-))
>
> Gunilla
>
> "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
> news:uOyClHmWFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > Copy away. Anything posted here is public information, Gunilla.
> > --
> > ~PA Bear
> >
> > Gunilla wrote:
> > > David and Robear!
> > >
> > > Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with
> > > references to you of course, when giving advice in the one and only
> > > Swedish NG? I think your solutions are good when fighting virus and
> > > the like and since you have it all set and done I would much rather
> > > just copy it into a post when replying. Is it okay?
> > >
> > > Kind regards,
> > >
> > > Gunilla.

Gunilla
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Thanks David! :-))

Gunilla.

"David H. Lipman" <DLipman~nospam~@Verizon.Net> skrev i meddelandet
news:evl0igmWFHA.1044@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> From: "Gunilla" <kakaomumsathotmaildotcom>
>
> | David and Robear!
> |
> | Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with
> references to
> | you of course, when giving advice in the one and only Swedish NG? I
> think
> | your solutions are good when fighting virus and the like and since you
> have
> | it all set and done I would much rather just copy it into a post when
> | replying. Is it okay?
> |
> | Kind regards,
> |
> | Gunilla.
> |
>
> Please, go right ahead !
>
> --
> Dave
> http://www.claymania.com/removal-trojan-adware.html
> http://www.ik-cs.com/got-a-virus.htm
>
>

Gunilla
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
It is this one news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.sv.ie4 but now
we are discussing to change it so it fits to more program and users.

Gunilla

"PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
news:eTS1flmWFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> BTW, what is the one and only Swedish-language newsgroup?
> --
> ~PA Bear
>
> Gunilla wrote:
>> Thanks to thee! '-))
>>
>> Gunilla
>>
>> "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
>> news:uOyClHmWFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> > Copy away. Anything posted here is public information, Gunilla.
>> > --
>> > ~PA Bear
>> >
>> > Gunilla wrote:
>> > > David and Robear!
>> > >
>> > > Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with
>> > > references to you of course, when giving advice in the one and only
>> > > Swedish NG? I think your solutions are good when fighting virus and
>> > > the like and since you have it all set and done I would much rather
>> > > just copy it into a post when replying. Is it okay?
>> > >
>> > > Kind regards,
>> > >
>> > > Gunilla.

PA Bear
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
I've pinged a contact in MS Newsgroup Admin to see if they might be able to
help address this, Gunilla.
--
~PA Bear

Gunilla wrote:
> It is this one news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.sv.ie4 but
> now we are discussing to change it so it fits to more program and users.
>
> Gunilla
>
> "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
> news:eTS1flmWFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > BTW, what is the one and only Swedish-language newsgroup?
> > --
> > ~PA Bear
> >
> > Gunilla wrote:
> > > Thanks to thee! '-))
> > >
> > > Gunilla
> > >
> > > "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
> > > news:uOyClHmWFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
> > > > Copy away. Anything posted here is public information, Gunilla.
> > > > --
> > > > ~PA Bear
> > > >
> > > > Gunilla wrote:
> > > > > David and Robear!
> > > > >
> > > > > Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with
> > > > > references to you of course, when giving advice in the one and
> > > > > only Swedish NG? I think your solutions are good when fighting
> > > > > virus and the like and since you have it all set and done I would
> > > > > much rather just copy it into a post when replying. Is it okay?
> > > > >
> > > > > Kind regards,
> > > > >
> > > > > Gunilla.

Gunilla
07-09-2005, 11:32 PM
Thank PA...that's very nice! :-))

Gunilla.

"PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
news:uklZpooWFHA.3184@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> I've pinged a contact in MS Newsgroup Admin to see if they might be able
> to help address this, Gunilla.
> --
> ~PA Bear
>
> Gunilla wrote:
>> It is this one news://msnews.microsoft.com/microsoft.public.sv.ie4 but
>> now we are discussing to change it so it fits to more program and users.
>>
>> Gunilla
>>
>> "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
>> news:eTS1flmWFHA.612@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> > BTW, what is the one and only Swedish-language newsgroup?
>> > --
>> > ~PA Bear
>> >
>> > Gunilla wrote:
>> > > Thanks to thee! '-))
>> > >
>> > > Gunilla
>> > >
>> > > "PA Bear" <PABearMVP@gmail.com> skrev i meddelandet
>> > > news:uOyClHmWFHA.2420@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>> > > > Copy away. Anything posted here is public information, Gunilla.
>> > > > --
>> > > > ~PA Bear
>> > > >
>> > > > Gunilla wrote:
>> > > > > David and Robear!
>> > > > >
>> > > > > Have you two anything against that I copy your solutions, with
>> > > > > references to you of course, when giving advice in the one and
>> > > > > only Swedish NG? I think your solutions are good when fighting
>> > > > > virus and the like and since you have it all set and done I would
>> > > > > much rather just copy it into a post when replying. Is it okay?
>> > > > >
>> > > > > Kind regards,
>> > > > >
>> > > > > Gunilla.
>

Jungle Jim
07-10-2005, 12:11 AM
"=?Utf-8?B?RG9sb3Jlcw==?=" <Dolores@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote
in news:366986EA-BD90-4C16-A2C1-913B71473822@microsoft.com:

> Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or
> right-click Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do
> CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've
> tried double-clicking more than once there are multiple copies of
> it. This problem generally is only when I try to run IE right
> after turning on the PC.
>
> I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and
> McAfee Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm
> using Comcast cable high speed internet service. But all of this
> was true before this problem started.
>
> Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?
>
> Thanks.

I am having a similar problem, but in my case, if I walk away from the
computer and come back a few minutes later, IE is up and going. YTry
it and see if it eventually does start. In my case I have traced the
problem to "Enabled hird party extensions" - specifically Google
toolbar. I run it and also Al Roboform. Unhecking the above option in
Internet Tools/Advanced and then restarting IE will put everything back
to normal, ut w/o the extensions. For chuckles, I did an uninstall and
an install of Googletoolbar and then turned back on the Enable third
party extensions and things went back to nornal. But wait, when I did
a Restart of Win XP, the problem returned. Don't know why. Have done
Adaware, Spybot, Norton Antivirus, and MS Antispyware all with negative
results (both normal and safe modes).

sO I DON'T KNOW - DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE A CLUE ?

Dead_Dad
07-10-2005, 12:11 AM
Jungle Jim wrote:
> "=?Utf-8?B?RG9sb3Jlcw==?=" <Dolores@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote
> in news:366986EA-BD90-4C16-A2C1-913B71473822@microsoft.com:
>
>
>>Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or
>>right-click Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do
>>CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've
>>tried double-clicking more than once there are multiple copies of
>>it. This problem generally is only when I try to run IE right
>>after turning on the PC.
>>
>>I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and
>>McAfee Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm
>>using Comcast cable high speed internet service. But all of this
>>was true before this problem started.
>>
>>Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?
>>
>>Thanks.
>
>
> I am having a similar problem, but in my case, if I walk away from the
> computer and come back a few minutes later, IE is up and going. YTry
> it and see if it eventually does start. In my case I have traced the
> problem to "Enabled hird party extensions" - specifically Google
> toolbar. I run it and also Al Roboform. Unhecking the above option in
> Internet Tools/Advanced and then restarting IE will put everything back
> to normal, ut w/o the extensions. For chuckles, I did an uninstall and
> an install of Googletoolbar and then turned back on the Enable third
> party extensions and things went back to nornal. But wait, when I did
> a Restart of Win XP, the problem returned. Don't know why. Have done
> Adaware, Spybot, Norton Antivirus, and MS Antispyware all with negative
> results (both normal and safe modes).
>
> sO I DON'T KNOW - DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE A CLUE ?

One more reason to get Firefox. 498 extensions (and counting) is
another.....

--
Thnik about it!
Deadly_Dad

gonopoietic@impectinatet.org
labiolingual@Pierre.perityphliticw.gov
decisiveness@atmospherefula.com
strengthener@homologizer.phyllophagousv.com
crunt@dovefoote.mil

j9
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
In task manager, kill all instances of iexplore.exe

then reinstall the latest MSIE service pack (your browser should work well
enough at this point to get to windowsupdate....

"Jungle Jim" <jungle22jim@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Xns96749261E5B4jungle22jimyahoocom@207.46.248.16...
> "=?Utf-8?B?RG9sb3Jlcw==?=" <Dolores@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote
> in news:366986EA-BD90-4C16-A2C1-913B71473822@microsoft.com:
>
>> Recently I've had a problem getting IE to run. I double-click or
>> right-click Open, but it doesn't appear. However, when I do
>> CTRL-ATL-DEL, it shows iexplorer.exe under "processes". If I've
>> tried double-clicking more than once there are multiple copies of
>> it. This problem generally is only when I try to run IE right
>> after turning on the PC.
>>
>> I run under Windows XP professional. I have Mcafee VirusScan and
>> McAfee Firewall Express running (at Standard security level). I'm
>> using Comcast cable high speed internet service. But all of this
>> was true before this problem started.
>>
>> Has something become corrupted? Does anyone have any ideas?
>>
>> Thanks.
>
> I am having a similar problem, but in my case, if I walk away from the
> computer and come back a few minutes later, IE is up and going. YTry
> it and see if it eventually does start. In my case I have traced the
> problem to "Enabled hird party extensions" - specifically Google
> toolbar. I run it and also Al Roboform. Unhecking the above option in
> Internet Tools/Advanced and then restarting IE will put everything back
> to normal, ut w/o the extensions. For chuckles, I did an uninstall and
> an install of Googletoolbar and then turned back on the Enable third
> party extensions and things went back to nornal. But wait, when I did
> a Restart of Win XP, the problem returned. Don't know why. Have done
> Adaware, Spybot, Norton Antivirus, and MS Antispyware all with negative
> results (both normal and safe modes).
>
> sO I DON'T KNOW - DOES ANYONE ELSE HAVE A CLUE ?


iexplorer.exe is "running" but no browser appears