Cleanup and useraccount



Steve
07-10-2005, 12:31 AM
I'm running a program that does a "cleanup" by running a few DOS Commands
after installation. I'm also logging into a domain. Even though I'm
designated as Administrator (in my user type), I see this DOS window flash.
If I'm logged on using the Administrator account to the domain or if I log in
as myself to the local account, I don't see that DOS window. Is there a
setting in my user account that does that?

Thanks.

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:31 AM
If the XP Pro is "not" OEM, you can! The only problem you may have is that
the XP Home may already have SP2 installed in to it and your XP Pro CD does
not. If this is the case, you will need to "slipstream" SP2 into your XP
Pro set up. Autostreamer is a very helpful utility to "slipstream" service
pack into Windows XP.

"Steve" <Steve@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F51C66EE-EC39-4F9B-9812-70090987C686@microsoft.com...
> I'm running a program that does a "cleanup" by running a few DOS Commands
> after installation. I'm also logging into a domain. Even though I'm
> designated as Administrator (in my user type), I see this DOS window
> flash.
> If I'm logged on using the Administrator account to the domain or if I log
> in
> as myself to the local account, I don't see that DOS window. Is there a
> setting in my user account that does that?
>
> Thanks.

Yves Leclerc
07-10-2005, 12:31 AM
OPPS! Sorry about my previous reply! Placed it on the wrong message.


"Steve" <Steve@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:F51C66EE-EC39-4F9B-9812-70090987C686@microsoft.com...
> I'm running a program that does a "cleanup" by running a few DOS Commands
> after installation. I'm also logging into a domain. Even though I'm
> designated as Administrator (in my user type), I see this DOS window
> flash.
> If I'm logged on using the Administrator account to the domain or if I log
> in
> as myself to the local account, I don't see that DOS window. Is there a
> setting in my user account that does that?
>
> Thanks.

Steve N.
07-10-2005, 12:31 AM
Steve wrote:

> I'm running a program that does a "cleanup" by running a few DOS Commands
> after installation. I'm also logging into a domain. Even though I'm
> designated as Administrator (in my user type), I see this DOS window flash.
> If I'm logged on using the Administrator account to the domain or if I log in
> as myself to the local account, I don't see that DOS window. Is there a
> setting in my user account that does that?
>
> Thanks.

You're unfortunately leaving out important details needed for anyone to
be able to help you and what you've written seems almost contradictory.
Please elaborate and supply accurate details. For starters, what is the
program the does this "cleanup"?

Steve

Steve
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
Sorry.

It's a program that my company wrote called AutoManager. It sets up the
program then runs cleanup commands that deletes temporary files that were
copied. It does it through the command prompt.

Thanks.

"Steve N." wrote:

> Steve wrote:
>
> > I'm running a program that does a "cleanup" by running a few DOS Commands
> > after installation. I'm also logging into a domain. Even though I'm
> > designated as Administrator (in my user type), I see this DOS window flash.
> > If I'm logged on using the Administrator account to the domain or if I log in
> > as myself to the local account, I don't see that DOS window. Is there a
> > setting in my user account that does that?
> >
> > Thanks.
>
> You're unfortunately leaving out important details needed for anyone to
> be able to help you and what you've written seems almost contradictory.
> Please elaborate and supply accurate details. For starters, what is the
> program the does this "cleanup"?
>
> Steve
>
>

Steve
07-10-2005, 12:32 AM
Actually, I need to clarify this. We created the file using an old software
called PC-Install. It creates an executable file for the end-user to run,
which installs our software. It's after running that executable that it does
the cleanup. I looked at the code that we feed into PC-install and it
doesn't have any cleanup routines, which leads me to believe that PC-install
is the one that does the post-cleanup. Unfortunately the company went out of
business so I can't ask them.

"Steve" wrote:

> Sorry.
>
> It's a program that my company wrote called AutoManager. It sets up the
> program then runs cleanup commands that deletes temporary files that were
> copied. It does it through the command prompt.
>
> Thanks.
>
> "Steve N." wrote:
>
> > Steve wrote:
> >
> > > I'm running a program that does a "cleanup" by running a few DOS Commands
> > > after installation. I'm also logging into a domain. Even though I'm
> > > designated as Administrator (in my user type), I see this DOS window flash.
> > > If I'm logged on using the Administrator account to the domain or if I log in
> > > as myself to the local account, I don't see that DOS window. Is there a
> > > setting in my user account that does that?
> > >
> > > Thanks.
> >
> > You're unfortunately leaving out important details needed for anyone to
> > be able to help you and what you've written seems almost contradictory.
> > Please elaborate and supply accurate details. For starters, what is the
> > program the does this "cleanup"?
> >
> > Steve
> >
> >


Cleanup and useraccount