IIS component doesn't install in Windows XP professional



bond
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
I have a Toshiba laptop which came with a pre-installed version of XP
professional. It is about two years old. They didn't supply me with an XP
disc, which I guess is the norm these days. I also installed Windows SP SP2.

When I go into Control Panel
-> Add remove programmes
-> Add/remove windows components
--> click on IIS (ie to install it)

The programme starts going through the set up. It then comes up with an
error message saying:

"Setup cannot copy the file staxmem.dll
Ensure that the location specified below is corect or change it and insert
'Windows XP Professional Service Pace 2 CD' in the drive you specify.
Copy files from: c:\windows\system32"

If I click on retry. It has the same message. I have verified that the
file does exist in that directory. If I place the Microsoft Windows XP SP2
disc in my CD drive and select it, it still comes up with the same message.

Any ideas on how to solve this?

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
Hi bond,

> I have a Toshiba laptop which came with a pre-installed version of XP
> professional. It is about two years old. They didn't supply me with an
> XP
> disc, which I guess is the norm these days. I also installed Windows SP
> SP2.
>
> When I go into Control Panel
> -> Add remove programmes
> -> Add/remove windows components
> --> click on IIS (ie to install it)
>
> The programme starts going through the set up. It then comes up with an
> error message saying:
>
> "Setup cannot copy the file staxmem.dll
> Ensure that the location specified below is corect or change it and insert
> 'Windows XP Professional Service Pace 2 CD' in the drive you specify.
> Copy files from: c:\windows\system32"
>
> If I click on retry. It has the same message. I have verified that the
> file does exist in that directory. If I place the Microsoft Windows XP
> SP2 disc in my CD drive and select it, it still comes up with the same
> message.
>
> Any ideas on how to solve this?

See if there is an I386 folder hidden on the root of C:\. If so, copy the
file from there to the C:\Windows\system32 folder. It may be that the
system is looking for the original system files in the wrong place, this is
not unusual in an imaged system, and you can correct it following the steps
here:
http://rickrogers.org/fixes.htm#I386

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

bond
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Rick
I have tried the instructions in the link. Unfortunately it didn't work.
The problem doesn't seem to be finding the files. The error message is that
it can't COPY the file.

Any other thoughts are welcome.

"Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:

> Hi bond,
>
> > I have a Toshiba laptop which came with a pre-installed version of XP
> > professional. It is about two years old. They didn't supply me with an
> > XP
> > disc, which I guess is the norm these days. I also installed Windows SP
> > SP2.
> >
> > When I go into Control Panel
> > -> Add remove programmes
> > -> Add/remove windows components
> > --> click on IIS (ie to install it)
> >
> > The programme starts going through the set up. It then comes up with an
> > error message saying:
> >
> > "Setup cannot copy the file staxmem.dll
> > Ensure that the location specified below is corect or change it and insert
> > 'Windows XP Professional Service Pace 2 CD' in the drive you specify.
> > Copy files from: c:\windows\system32"
> >
> > If I click on retry. It has the same message. I have verified that the
> > file does exist in that directory. If I place the Microsoft Windows XP
> > SP2 disc in my CD drive and select it, it still comes up with the same
> > message.
> >
> > Any ideas on how to solve this?
>
> See if there is an I386 folder hidden on the root of C:\. If so, copy the
> file from there to the C:\Windows\system32 folder. It may be that the
> system is looking for the original system files in the wrong place, this is
> not unusual in an imaged system, and you can correct it following the steps
> here:
> http://rickrogers.org/fixes.htm#I386
>
> --
> Best of Luck,
>
> Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
> Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
> www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
> Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
>

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
Hi,

It can't copy what it can't find. Resolve the first problem (find) and that
should resolve the second (copy).

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"bond" <bond@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:6A0D3A4D-248D-49A5-AA3F-32E56A4DFAB6@microsoft.com...
> Rick
> I have tried the instructions in the link. Unfortunately it didn't work.
> The problem doesn't seem to be finding the files. The error message is
> that
> it can't COPY the file.
>
> Any other thoughts are welcome.
>
> "Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:
>
>> Hi bond,
>>
>> > I have a Toshiba laptop which came with a pre-installed version of XP
>> > professional. It is about two years old. They didn't supply me with
>> > an
>> > XP
>> > disc, which I guess is the norm these days. I also installed Windows
>> > SP
>> > SP2.
>> >
>> > When I go into Control Panel
>> > -> Add remove programmes
>> > -> Add/remove windows components
>> > --> click on IIS (ie to install it)
>> >
>> > The programme starts going through the set up. It then comes up with
>> > an
>> > error message saying:
>> >
>> > "Setup cannot copy the file staxmem.dll
>> > Ensure that the location specified below is corect or change it and
>> > insert
>> > 'Windows XP Professional Service Pace 2 CD' in the drive you specify.
>> > Copy files from: c:\windows\system32"
>> >
>> > If I click on retry. It has the same message. I have verified that
>> > the
>> > file does exist in that directory. If I place the Microsoft Windows XP
>> > SP2 disc in my CD drive and select it, it still comes up with the same
>> > message.
>> >
>> > Any ideas on how to solve this?
>>
>> See if there is an I386 folder hidden on the root of C:\. If so, copy the
>> file from there to the C:\Windows\system32 folder. It may be that the
>> system is looking for the original system files in the wrong place, this
>> is
>> not unusual in an imaged system, and you can correct it following the
>> steps
>> here:
>> http://rickrogers.org/fixes.htm#I386
>>
>> --
>> Best of Luck,
>>
>> Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
>> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
>> Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
>> www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
>> Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
>>

Star Fleet Admiral Q
07-09-2005, 11:31 PM
When it asks for the WinXP Pro SP2 CD, point the prompt to the
C:\WINDOWS\ServicePackFiles folder on your harddrive - that's provided you
didn't remove it after installing SP2.

--

Star Fleet Admiral Q @ your Service!

http://www.google.com
Google is your "Friend"

"bond" <bond@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:870B8F93-E40B-4259-9AE8-6636A9EEBDB1@microsoft.com...
>I have a Toshiba laptop which came with a pre-installed version of XP
> professional. It is about two years old. They didn't supply me with an
> XP
> disc, which I guess is the norm these days. I also installed Windows SP
> SP2.
>
> When I go into Control Panel
> -> Add remove programmes
> -> Add/remove windows components
> --> click on IIS (ie to install it)
>
> The programme starts going through the set up. It then comes up with an
> error message saying:
>
> "Setup cannot copy the file staxmem.dll
> Ensure that the location specified below is corect or change it and insert
> 'Windows XP Professional Service Pace 2 CD' in the drive you specify.
> Copy files from: c:\windows\system32"
>
> If I click on retry. It has the same message. I have verified that the
> file does exist in that directory. If I place the Microsoft Windows XP
> SP2
> disc in my CD drive and select it, it still comes up with the same
> message.
>
> Any ideas on how to solve this?


IIS component doesn't install in Windows XP professional