Running ms dos programs from the command prompt



Benny W
07-10-2005, 12:30 AM
I have a ms dos .PIF that should run when selected. The problem is that even
from the shortcut and the command prompt, i get notified by the (16 bit
subsystem)?? that the file is not suitable for running ms dos and
windows...and the path for the command prompt is c:windowsystem32\autoexec.nt
?this happens some other times with other programs?this is confusing me and i
cant open the files like i should be able to?please help if you can? or let
somebody know who can?

thanks

Doug Knox MS-MVP
07-10-2005, 12:30 AM
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;324767
Error message when you install or start an MS-DOS or 16-bit Windows-based program

--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows Media Center\Windows Powered Smart Display\Security
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.dougknox.com
--------------------------------
Per user Group Policy Restrictions for XP Home and XP Pro
http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

"Benny W" <BennyW@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message news:AA434BC8-BA5F-452E-9BC9-88839C07C570@microsoft.com...
>I have a ms dos .PIF that should run when selected. The problem is that even
> from the shortcut and the command prompt, i get notified by the (16 bit
> subsystem)?? that the file is not suitable for running ms dos and
> windows...and the path for the command prompt is c:windowsystem32\autoexec.nt
> ?this happens some other times with other programs?this is confusing me and i
> cant open the files like i should be able to?please help if you can? or let
> somebody know who can?
>
> thanks

Rock
07-10-2005, 12:30 AM
Benny W wrote:

> I have a ms dos .PIF that should run when selected. The problem is that even
> from the shortcut and the command prompt, i get notified by the (16 bit
> subsystem)?? that the file is not suitable for running ms dos and
> windows...and the path for the command prompt is c:windowsystem32\autoexec.nt
> ?this happens some other times with other programs?this is confusing me and i
> cant open the files like i should be able to?please help if you can? or let
> somebody know who can?
>
> thanks

Error message when you install or start an MS-DOS or 16-bit
Windows-based program
http://support.microsoft.com/?id=324767

Also can be caused by a Trojan installing a file windupdater.exe and
creating registry entries for that file.
http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=5f6f139.0409140618.749324fe%40posting.google.com

AVAST (free antivirus software) can be the cause if SP2 is installed:
http://groups.google.com/groups?selm=8PCdnSzBqtmadsPcRVn-gQ%40comcast.com

You can put back the standard version of autoexec.nt by copying a backup
copy held in windows\repair to windows\system32.

--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User


Running ms dos programs from the command prompt