Change computername and IP adress in command window



GE
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Hi
Is there a comand to change computername and IP adress?

KM
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
GE,

> Hi
> Is there a comand to change computername and

There is no such command supported, neither there is a tool for that in XPe
Repository.
However, it is only one API call (SetComputerName[Ex]) or registry change.
So it would be easier for you to compile your own utility.
Note: reboot is required.

>IP adress?

You can use netsh. You also have a bunch of 3rd party tools to accomplish
that (e.g., ipchange).
Or you can do that with a script (WMI, etc.).

KM

GE
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
"KM" wrote:
> There is no such command supported, neither there is a tool for that in XPe
> Repository.
> However, it is only one API call (SetComputerName[Ex]) or registry change.
> So it would be easier for you to compile your own utility.
> Note: reboot is required.

What registry change do you mean? I have found more than one registry key
that is named so.
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ComputerName\ActiveComputerName
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ComputerName\ComputerName
If I change these keys I can ping the new computername and the old one, too.
In the computername Userinterface the old name is displayed.

KM
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
GE,

> "KM" wrote:
>> There is no such command supported, neither there is a tool for that in XPe
>> Repository.
>> However, it is only one API call (SetComputerName[Ex]) or registry change.
>> So it would be easier for you to compile your own utility.
>> Note: reboot is required.
>
> What registry change do you mean? I have found more than one registry key
> that is named so.
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ComputerName\ActiveComputerName
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ComputerName\ComputerName
> If I change these keys I can ping the new computername and the old one, too.
> In the computername Userinterface the old name is displayed.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\ComputerName\ComputerName],"ComputerName"
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip\Parameters],"Hostname".

You need a reboot so that kernel can read the new name early enough to provide it to the interested drivers (network) and services
(server service, etc).

KM

GE
07-09-2005, 09:26 PM
Thanks it works.


Change computername and IP adress in command window