Please help



yakis
07-10-2005, 12:28 AM
Hi All,
When I clicked on the drop down arrow on my address box in the browser, all
the addresses that have been assigned to were gone.
The same thing happens to the drop down box in my "RUN" command. It seems
that the system does not record history anymore.
Can any one please help me restoring this, I might have done something or
unchecked something some where.
OS Windows XP Pro SP2 IE 6
Thanks.
yakis

GHalleck
07-10-2005, 12:28 AM
yakis wrote:

> Hi All,
> When I clicked on the drop down arrow on my address box in the browser, all
> the addresses that have been assigned to were gone.
> The same thing happens to the drop down box in my "RUN" command. It seems
> that the system does not record history anymore.
> Can any one please help me restoring this, I might have done something or
> unchecked something some where.
> OS Windows XP Pro SP2 IE 6
> Thanks.
> yakis
>
>

Several thoughts, including (a) accidentally "Clear History" in
IE? Or, (b) Ran an anti-adware/anti-spyware scan that also cleared
the MRU list in the Windows Registry? Or (c) played with the
Windows Registry and accidentally corrupted the MRU lists? Any
of these could delete the URL's.

Drew Tognola
07-10-2005, 12:28 AM
Yakis,

If it's still clearing after each reboot:

* Download Tweak UI -
http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/downloads/powertoys/xppowertoys.mspx

* After installing, open Tweak UI > click 'Explorer' > uncheck 'clear
document history on exit'. Also, make sure 'maintain document history' &
'maintain network history' are checked.

Drew

"yakis" <yakisGenghis@empire.com> wrote in message
news:42870135$0$19228$dbd49001@news.wanadoo.nl...
Hi All,
When I clicked on the drop down arrow on my address box in the browser, all
the addresses that have been assigned to were gone.
The same thing happens to the drop down box in my "RUN" command. It seems
that the system does not record history anymore.
Can any one please help me restoring this, I might have done something or
unchecked something some where.
OS Windows XP Pro SP2 IE 6
Thanks.
yakis


Please help