Locked item in Start/All Programs?



Kardon Coupé
07-09-2005, 11:28 PM
I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for example,
system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed my software for my
Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem to move the start menu point
to within another created folder. How is this possible? I can't even go in
via Explorer and move it that way, comes up with "Cannot read from the
source file/disk". Has me very perplexed?

Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?

Thanks in Advance.
Regards.
Paul.

P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried to move
others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now either? I have just
ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have nothing on my system.....I wonder
if I have spooks?

T. Waters
07-09-2005, 11:29 PM
Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about having All
Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
"...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another created
folder."
Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?


Kardon Coupé wrote:
> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for
> example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed my
> software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem to move
> the start menu point to within another created folder. How is this
> possible? I can't even go in via Explorer and move it that way, comes
> up with "Cannot read from the source file/disk". Has me very
> perplexed?
>
> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>
> Thanks in Advance.
> Regards.
> Paul.
>
> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried to
> move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now either?
> I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have nothing on my
> system.....I wonder if I have spooks?

Kardon Coupé
07-09-2005, 11:29 PM
I have in my Start Menu.

Audio
Graphics
Programing
System
etc

and within Audio, I would have
Winamp
CoolEdit2000
etc

and within Graphics I would have
Adobe Photoshop
Paint Shop Pro
etc

but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless Access point,
and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I want to move it into the
"System" folder in the start menu. The pc/system won't let me, it is locked,
I want to unlock it.

"T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about having
> All
> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another created
> folder."
> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>
>
> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for
>> example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed my
>> software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem to move
>> the start menu point to within another created folder. How is this
>> possible? I can't even go in via Explorer and move it that way, comes
>> up with "Cannot read from the source file/disk". Has me very
>> perplexed?
>>
>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>
>> Thanks in Advance.
>> Regards.
>> Paul.
>>
>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried to
>> move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now either?
>> I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have nothing on my
>> system.....I wonder if I have spooks?
>
>
>

T. Waters
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start menu.
Right-click on the Start Menu
Customize button
Advanced tab
See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
OK and Apply


Kardon Coupé wrote:
> I have in my Start Menu.
>
> Audio
> Graphics
> Programing
> System
> etc
>
> and within Audio, I would have
> Winamp
> CoolEdit2000
> etc
>
> and within Graphics I would have
> Adobe Photoshop
> Paint Shop Pro
> etc
>
> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless Access
> point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I want to
> move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The pc/system
> won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>
> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>> having All
>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>> created folder."
>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>
>>
>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for
>>> example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed my
>>> software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem to
>>> move the start menu point to within another created folder. How is
>>> this possible? I can't even go in via Explorer and move it that
>>> way, comes up with "Cannot read from the source file/disk". Has me
>>> very perplexed?
>>>
>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>
>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>> Regards.
>>> Paul.
>>>
>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried to
>>> move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now
>>> either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have
>>> nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?

Kardon Coupé
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned off, I
can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one particular
shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I can move it within
the first list of programs displayed in "All Programs" but if I try to move
it within one of my custom shortcut folders, it gets that error...

"T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start menu.
> Right-click on the Start Menu
> Customize button
> Advanced tab
> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
> OK and Apply
>
>
> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>
>> Audio
>> Graphics
>> Programing
>> System
>> etc
>>
>> and within Audio, I would have
>> Winamp
>> CoolEdit2000
>> etc
>>
>> and within Graphics I would have
>> Adobe Photoshop
>> Paint Shop Pro
>> etc
>>
>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless Access
>> point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I want to
>> move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The pc/system
>> won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>
>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>> having All
>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>> created folder."
>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>
>>>
>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for
>>>> example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed my
>>>> software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem to
>>>> move the start menu point to within another created folder. How is
>>>> this possible? I can't even go in via Explorer and move it that
>>>> way, comes up with "Cannot read from the source file/disk". Has me
>>>> very perplexed?
>>>>
>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>
>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>> Regards.
>>>> Paul.
>>>>
>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried to
>>>> move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now
>>>> either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have
>>>> nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?
>
>
>

T. Waters
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
That is mysterious behavior, and I all out of answers.
Question"
So you have put custom folders on the "flyout" All Programs part of the
Start Menu, or just on the main Start Menu? If on the All Programs, how did
you do this?

Kardon Coupé wrote:
> I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned
> off, I can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one
> particular shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I
> can move it within the first list of programs displayed in "All
> Programs" but if I try to move it within one of my custom shortcut
> folders, it gets that error...
>
> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
> news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
>> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start menu.
>> Right-click on the Start Menu
>> Customize button
>> Advanced tab
>> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
>> OK and Apply
>>
>>
>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>>
>>> Audio
>>> Graphics
>>> Programing
>>> System
>>> etc
>>>
>>> and within Audio, I would have
>>> Winamp
>>> CoolEdit2000
>>> etc
>>>
>>> and within Graphics I would have
>>> Adobe Photoshop
>>> Paint Shop Pro
>>> etc
>>>
>>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless Access
>>> point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I want to
>>> move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The pc/system
>>> won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>>
>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>>> having All
>>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>> created folder."
>>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for
>>>>> example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed
>>>>> my software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem
>>>>> to move the start menu point to within another created folder.
>>>>> How is this possible? I can't even go in via Explorer and move it
>>>>> that way, comes up with "Cannot read from the source file/disk".
>>>>> Has me very perplexed?
>>>>>
>>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>>
>>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>>> Regards.
>>>>> Paul.
>>>>>
>>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried
>>>>> to move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now
>>>>> either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have
>>>>> nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?

Kardon Coupé
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
Now I confused by your question... :)

"T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
news:%23dZ5XTcWFHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> That is mysterious behavior, and I all out of answers.
> Question"
> So you have put custom folders on the "flyout" All Programs part of the
> Start Menu, or just on the main Start Menu? If on the All Programs, how
> did
> you do this?
>
> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>> I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned
>> off, I can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one
>> particular shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I
>> can move it within the first list of programs displayed in "All
>> Programs" but if I try to move it within one of my custom shortcut
>> folders, it gets that error...
>>
>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>> news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
>>> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start menu.
>>> Right-click on the Start Menu
>>> Customize button
>>> Advanced tab
>>> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
>>> OK and Apply
>>>
>>>
>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>>>
>>>> Audio
>>>> Graphics
>>>> Programing
>>>> System
>>>> etc
>>>>
>>>> and within Audio, I would have
>>>> Winamp
>>>> CoolEdit2000
>>>> etc
>>>>
>>>> and within Graphics I would have
>>>> Adobe Photoshop
>>>> Paint Shop Pro
>>>> etc
>>>>
>>>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless Access
>>>> point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I want to
>>>> move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The pc/system
>>>> won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>>>
>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>>>> having All
>>>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>> created folder."
>>>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier, for
>>>>>> example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I installed
>>>>>> my software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I can't seem
>>>>>> to move the start menu point to within another created folder.
>>>>>> How is this possible? I can't even go in via Explorer and move it
>>>>>> that way, comes up with "Cannot read from the source file/disk".
>>>>>> Has me very perplexed?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>>>> Regards.
>>>>>> Paul.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then tried
>>>>>> to move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't move now
>>>>>> either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and I have
>>>>>> nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?
>
>
>

T. Waters
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
Never mind....
I think I will go to sleep.

Kardon Coupé wrote:
> Now I confused by your question... :)
>
> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
> news:%23dZ5XTcWFHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>> That is mysterious behavior, and I all out of answers.
>> Question"
>> So you have put custom folders on the "flyout" All Programs part of
>> the Start Menu, or just on the main Start Menu? If on the All
>> Programs, how did
>> you do this?
>>
>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>> I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned
>>> off, I can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one
>>> particular shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I
>>> can move it within the first list of programs displayed in "All
>>> Programs" but if I try to move it within one of my custom shortcut
>>> folders, it gets that error...
>>>
>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>> news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>>> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
>>>> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start
>>>> menu. Right-click on the Start Menu
>>>> Customize button
>>>> Advanced tab
>>>> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
>>>> OK and Apply
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>>>>
>>>>> Audio
>>>>> Graphics
>>>>> Programing
>>>>> System
>>>>> etc
>>>>>
>>>>> and within Audio, I would have
>>>>> Winamp
>>>>> CoolEdit2000
>>>>> etc
>>>>>
>>>>> and within Graphics I would have
>>>>> Adobe Photoshop
>>>>> Paint Shop Pro
>>>>> etc
>>>>>
>>>>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless
>>>>> Access point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I
>>>>> want to move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The
>>>>> pc/system won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>>>>
>>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>>>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>>>>> having All
>>>>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>>>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>> created folder."
>>>>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier,
>>>>>>> for example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I
>>>>>>> installed my software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I
>>>>>>> can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>> created folder. How is this possible? I can't even go in via
>>>>>>> Explorer and move it that way, comes up with "Cannot read from
>>>>>>> the source file/disk". Has me very perplexed?
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>>>>> Regards.
>>>>>>> Paul.
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then
>>>>>>> tried to move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't
>>>>>>> move now either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and
>>>>>>> I have nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?

Kelly
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
Are you up yet to answer?

--

All the Best,
Kelly (MS-MVP)

Troubleshooting Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com


"T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
news:O3aBtscWFHA.2428@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> Never mind....
> I think I will go to sleep.
>
> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>> Now I confused by your question... :)
>>
>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>> news:%23dZ5XTcWFHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>>> That is mysterious behavior, and I all out of answers.
>>> Question"
>>> So you have put custom folders on the "flyout" All Programs part of
>>> the Start Menu, or just on the main Start Menu? If on the All
>>> Programs, how did
>>> you do this?
>>>
>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>> I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned
>>>> off, I can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one
>>>> particular shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I
>>>> can move it within the first list of programs displayed in "All
>>>> Programs" but if I try to move it within one of my custom shortcut
>>>> folders, it gets that error...
>>>>
>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>> news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>>>> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
>>>>> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start
>>>>> menu. Right-click on the Start Menu
>>>>> Customize button
>>>>> Advanced tab
>>>>> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
>>>>> OK and Apply
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Audio
>>>>>> Graphics
>>>>>> Programing
>>>>>> System
>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>
>>>>>> and within Audio, I would have
>>>>>> Winamp
>>>>>> CoolEdit2000
>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>
>>>>>> and within Graphics I would have
>>>>>> Adobe Photoshop
>>>>>> Paint Shop Pro
>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>
>>>>>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless
>>>>>> Access point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I
>>>>>> want to move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The
>>>>>> pc/system won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>>>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>>>>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>>>>>> having All
>>>>>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>>>>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>> created folder."
>>>>>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier,
>>>>>>>> for example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I
>>>>>>>> installed my software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I
>>>>>>>> can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>>> created folder. How is this possible? I can't even go in via
>>>>>>>> Explorer and move it that way, comes up with "Cannot read from
>>>>>>>> the source file/disk". Has me very perplexed?
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>>>>>> Regards.
>>>>>>>> Paul.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then
>>>>>>>> tried to move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't
>>>>>>>> move now either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and
>>>>>>>> I have nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?
>
>
>

Kardon Coupé
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
I think he's (she's) still asleep.....but then again, I'll be in bed for my
reply, coz I'm going now.....

ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzz

"Kelly" <kelly@mvps.org> wrote in message
news:e65xG0dWFHA.2768@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Are you up yet to answer?
>
> --
>
> All the Best,
> Kelly (MS-MVP)
>
> Troubleshooting Windows XP
> http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com
>
>
> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
> news:O3aBtscWFHA.2428@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>> Never mind....
>> I think I will go to sleep.
>>
>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>> Now I confused by your question... :)
>>>
>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>> news:%23dZ5XTcWFHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>>>> That is mysterious behavior, and I all out of answers.
>>>> Question"
>>>> So you have put custom folders on the "flyout" All Programs part of
>>>> the Start Menu, or just on the main Start Menu? If on the All
>>>> Programs, how did
>>>> you do this?
>>>>
>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>> I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned
>>>>> off, I can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one
>>>>> particular shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I
>>>>> can move it within the first list of programs displayed in "All
>>>>> Programs" but if I try to move it within one of my custom shortcut
>>>>> folders, it gets that error...
>>>>>
>>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>>> news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>>>>> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
>>>>>> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start
>>>>>> menu. Right-click on the Start Menu
>>>>>> Customize button
>>>>>> Advanced tab
>>>>>> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
>>>>>> OK and Apply
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> Audio
>>>>>>> Graphics
>>>>>>> Programing
>>>>>>> System
>>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> and within Audio, I would have
>>>>>>> Winamp
>>>>>>> CoolEdit2000
>>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> and within Graphics I would have
>>>>>>> Adobe Photoshop
>>>>>>> Paint Shop Pro
>>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless
>>>>>>> Access point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I
>>>>>>> want to move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The
>>>>>>> pc/system won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>>>>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>>>>>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>>>>>>> having All
>>>>>>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>>>>>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>>> created folder."
>>>>>>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier,
>>>>>>>>> for example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I
>>>>>>>>> installed my software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I
>>>>>>>>> can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>>>> created folder. How is this possible? I can't even go in via
>>>>>>>>> Explorer and move it that way, comes up with "Cannot read from
>>>>>>>>> the source file/disk". Has me very perplexed?
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>>>>>>> Regards.
>>>>>>>>> Paul.
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then
>>>>>>>>> tried to move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't
>>>>>>>>> move now either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and
>>>>>>>>> I have nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?
>>
>>
>>
>
>

Kelly
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
<LOL> Same here. 'Night!

--

All the Best,
Kelly (MS-MVP)

Troubleshooting Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com


"Kardon Coupé" <prefer.to@readon.newsgroups> wrote in message
news:d69duf$jq6$1@nwrdmz01.dmz.ncs.ea.ibs-infra.bt.com...
>I think he's (she's) still asleep.....but then again, I'll be in bed for my
>reply, coz I'm going now.....
>
> ZZZZZZZzzzzzzzz
>
> "Kelly" <kelly@mvps.org> wrote in message
> news:e65xG0dWFHA.2768@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> Are you up yet to answer?
>>
>> --
>>
>> All the Best,
>> Kelly (MS-MVP)
>>
>> Troubleshooting Windows XP
>> http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com
>>
>>
>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>> news:O3aBtscWFHA.2428@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>>> Never mind....
>>> I think I will go to sleep.
>>>
>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>> Now I confused by your question... :)
>>>>
>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>> news:%23dZ5XTcWFHA.2256@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>>>>> That is mysterious behavior, and I all out of answers.
>>>>> Question"
>>>>> So you have put custom folders on the "flyout" All Programs part of
>>>>> the Start Menu, or just on the main Start Menu? If on the All
>>>>> Programs, how did
>>>>> you do this?
>>>>>
>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>> I have *now* re-enabled "Dragging and Dropping" dunno how it turned
>>>>>> off, I can move all the others now, but I still can't move this one
>>>>>> particular shortcut, says. "Cannot read from source file or disk" I
>>>>>> can move it within the first list of programs displayed in "All
>>>>>> Programs" but if I try to move it within one of my custom shortcut
>>>>>> folders, it gets that error...
>>>>>>
>>>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>>>> news:%2398dRmbWFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>>>>>>> It may be that you do not have "dragging and dropping" enabled.
>>>>>>> Not enabling dragging and dropping effectively locks the Start
>>>>>>> menu. Right-click on the Start Menu
>>>>>>> Customize button
>>>>>>> Advanced tab
>>>>>>> See that the box for "Enable dragging and dropping" is checked.
>>>>>>> OK and Apply
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>
>>>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>>>> I have in my Start Menu.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> Audio
>>>>>>>> Graphics
>>>>>>>> Programing
>>>>>>>> System
>>>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> and within Audio, I would have
>>>>>>>> Winamp
>>>>>>>> CoolEdit2000
>>>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> and within Graphics I would have
>>>>>>>> Adobe Photoshop
>>>>>>>> Paint Shop Pro
>>>>>>>> etc
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> but I have a start menu an item to do with my Dlink Wireless
>>>>>>>> Access point, and i can't move it, to keep my sysyem organised. I
>>>>>>>> want to move it into the "System" folder in the start menu. The
>>>>>>>> pc/system won't let me, it is locked, I want to unlock it.
>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>> "T. Waters" <@$%$%#^@jdjgkl.com> wrote in message
>>>>>>>> news:ODftEVXWFHA.2648@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>>>>>>>>> Kardon, I do not understand part of your post. I understand about
>>>>>>>>> having All
>>>>>>>>> Programs in order, but what is the "start menu point"?
>>>>>>>>> "...I can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>>>> created folder."
>>>>>>>>> Can you provide more detail regarding your problem?
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>> Kardon Coupé wrote:
>>>>>>>>>> I generally have all my programs in order to make like easier,
>>>>>>>>>> for example, system, graphics, audio, archiving, etc, but I
>>>>>>>>>> installed my software for my Dlink Wireless Access point, and I
>>>>>>>>>> can't seem to move the start menu point to within another
>>>>>>>>>> created folder. How is this possible? I can't even go in via
>>>>>>>>>> Explorer and move it that way, comes up with "Cannot read from
>>>>>>>>>> the source file/disk". Has me very perplexed?
>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>> Anybody else ever experienced this, and found a solution?
>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>> Thanks in Advance.
>>>>>>>>>> Regards.
>>>>>>>>>> Paul.
>>>>>>>>>>
>>>>>>>>>> P.s. Just before sending this, I have tried again, and then
>>>>>>>>>> tried to move others (which I could yesterday) and they won't
>>>>>>>>>> move now either? I have just ran Ad-Aware, Spybot and NAV, and
>>>>>>>>>> I have nothing on my system.....I wonder if I have spooks?
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>
>>
>
>


Locked item in Start/All Programs?