BSD on XP When FSB set to 400Mhz



John T
07-09-2005, 11:28 PM
I get a blue screen a death every time if I set the FSB to 200Mhz. I have
512 of DDR400 memory and an AMD Athlon 3200+ processor. If I set the CPU to
3200+ in the BIOS, The memory defaults to 400Mhz as it should, and I get a
BSD after logging in to XP Pro. If I set the FSB to 166Mhz and used the
multiplier to clock up to 3200, it works fine. The BIOS then reports my CPU
as 1833Mhz. Has anyone found a fix for this problem?

Augustus
07-09-2005, 11:28 PM
"John T" <jtyce@charter.net> wrote in message
news:O$%23jY2PWFHA.3076@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>I get a blue screen a death every time if I set the FSB to 200Mhz. I have
> 512 of DDR400 memory and an AMD Athlon 3200+ processor. If I set the CPU
> to
> 3200+ in the BIOS, The memory defaults to 400Mhz as it should, and I get a
> BSD after logging in to XP Pro. If I set the FSB to 166Mhz and used the
> multiplier to clock up to 3200, it works fine. The BIOS then reports my
> CPU
> as 1833Mhz. Has anyone found a fix for this problem?

If you set the FSB at 166Mhz then the CPU is running at 1883Mhz. Changing
the multiplier in the BIOS does nothing on a locked processor. And any
Barton made prior to week 39 in 2003 is multiplier locked. I would be
checking for proper temps, contact between the processor and h/s fan
assembly, as well as testing the memory. The Barton 2500 (1883Mhz) and the
Barton 3200 (2200Mhz) share the same locked 11.0 multiplier. The only real
difference is the FSB speed and AMD's certification and chip marking that
the XP3200+ will function at 200FSB. If it won't do it, it's almost
invariably something other than the CPU at fault.

Ted Ruoff
07-09-2005, 11:28 PM
John,

The BSOD you are getting at 200MHZ really isn't a problem with XP.
Overclocking the processor also means you may have to tweak your voltages so
that it is all stable. I've been running a Barton XP2500+ at 2.2GHZ stable
for a year and a half, but I had to bump up my voltages in the BIOS to do
it. If I could remeber what they were I'd share. If you Google on
"overclocking AMD 2500" you will get lots of sites with the numbers that
people used to get their speed up. As Augustas stated though, watch your
temps. Overclocking will raise your processor temps so make sure you have
good cooling.
"John T" <jtyce@charter.net> wrote in message
news:O$%23jY2PWFHA.3076@TK2MSFTNGP12.phx.gbl...
>I get a blue screen a death every time if I set the FSB to 200Mhz. I have
> 512 of DDR400 memory and an AMD Athlon 3200+ processor. If I set the CPU
> to
> 3200+ in the BIOS, The memory defaults to 400Mhz as it should, and I get a
> BSD after logging in to XP Pro. If I set the FSB to 166Mhz and used the
> multiplier to clock up to 3200, it works fine. The BIOS then reports my
> CPU
> as 1833Mhz. Has anyone found a fix for this problem?
>
>

Augustus
07-09-2005, 11:28 PM
"Ted Ruoff" <tmruoff2 AT hotmail.com> wrote in message
news:uDRR$3RWFHA.2852@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
> John,
>
> The BSOD you are getting at 200MHZ really isn't a problem with XP.
> Overclocking the processor also means you may have to tweak your voltages
> so that it is all stable.

He isn't overclocking it at all. It's a Barton 3200+ and the stock FSB
setting is 200Mhz. What you say about overvolting is true, I do the same on
my Barton 2500 to get Barton 3200 spec. But you should never have to
overvolt any processor to make it stable at it's stock setting.

Ted Ruoff
07-09-2005, 11:29 PM
You are correct and somehow I misread that. Sorry. Too late in the evening
and just home from the baseball game.

Ted

"Augustus" <augustus@wrtt.net> wrote in message
news:PuIhe.56523$vN2.10294@clgrps13...
>
> "Ted Ruoff" <tmruoff2 AT hotmail.com> wrote in message
> news:uDRR$3RWFHA.2852@TK2MSFTNGP10.phx.gbl...
>> John,
>>
>> The BSOD you are getting at 200MHZ really isn't a problem with XP.
>> Overclocking the processor also means you may have to tweak your voltages
>> so that it is all stable.
>
> He isn't overclocking it at all. It's a Barton 3200+ and the stock FSB
> setting is 200Mhz. What you say about overvolting is true, I do the same
> on my Barton 2500 to get Barton 3200 spec. But you should never have to
> overvolt any processor to make it stable at it's stock setting.
>

Steve N.
07-09-2005, 11:30 PM
John T wrote:

> I get a blue screen a death every time if I set the FSB to 200Mhz. I have
> 512 of DDR400 memory and an AMD Athlon 3200+ processor. If I set the CPU to
> 3200+ in the BIOS, The memory defaults to 400Mhz as it should, and I get a
> BSD after logging in to XP Pro. If I set the FSB to 166Mhz and used the
> multiplier to clock up to 3200, it works fine. The BIOS then reports my CPU
> as 1833Mhz. Has anyone found a fix for this problem?
>
>

Sounds like it might be a RAM problem. Test RAM using memtest86:

www.memtest86.com

And with the MS memory diagnostic:

oca.microsoft.com/en/windiag.asp

Use both and do multiple passes. I've had RAM pass one and fail the other.

Steve


BSD on XP When FSB set to 400Mhz