ramdisk won't work



Beezle
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Hi,

I have a problem with MS ramdisk. XPE is booting from a DiskOnChip. Our
customer want's to have a ramdisk with about 8MB.
In the Component Designer I made a component, by importing the inf
file. That did not work within XPE. Ramdisk was not loaded. I used the
sample driver:
http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb%3Ben-us%3B257405&x=7&y=11

Then I worked with InCtrl to find the correct entries in the registry
and put them in the component.
Same Result. Ramdisk was not loaded.

Then I tried to install the ramdisk manually within XPE. I did it with
the already installed inf file. However the install process said
something like "There are no hardware information found". Then I mapped
a network share and used the same inf file to install the ramdisk.
Everything worked as expected.

If I now shutdown the computer and going to clone this configuration to
another flash, or make a cold boot with the installed system the ramdisk
is loaded but not working.

Within XP Professional on the same hardware everything works fine.

Any suggestions?

Regards


--
BeezlePosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

Slobodan Brcin \(eMVP\)
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Beezle,

Ramdisk is very simple integral driver and you should not have problems preinstalling it.

Prepopulate in registry:
HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\.... Sub key that belong to RAM Disk.
HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\ramdisk

These two should be enough, if not in HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\.... There should be another entry.

Question1: Do you have user mode PnP component?
Q2: Do you have EWF? If you do commit it before reboot.

Regards,
Slobodan







"Beezle" <Beezle.1pu3qa@> wrote in message news:MJ-dnWXd45MkXgffRVn_vg@giganews.com...
>
> Hi,
>
> I have a problem with MS ramdisk. XPE is booting from a DiskOnChip. Our
> customer want's to have a ramdisk with about 8MB.
> In the Component Designer I made a component, by importing the inf
> file. That did not work within XPE. Ramdisk was not loaded. I used the
> sample driver:
> http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb%3Ben-us%3B257405&x=7&y=11
>
> Then I worked with InCtrl to find the correct entries in the registry
> and put them in the component.
> Same Result. Ramdisk was not loaded.
>
> Then I tried to install the ramdisk manually within XPE. I did it with
> the already installed inf file. However the install process said
> something like "There are no hardware information found". Then I mapped
> a network share and used the same inf file to install the ramdisk.
> Everything worked as expected.
>
> If I now shutdown the computer and going to clone this configuration to
> another flash, or make a cold boot with the installed system the ramdisk
> is loaded but not working.
>
> Within XP Professional on the same hardware everything works fine.
>
> Any suggestions?
>
> Regards
>
>
> --
> BeezlePosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access
>

Beezle
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Slobodan Brcin \(eMVP\) Wrote:
> Beezle,
>
> Ramdisk is very simple integral driver and you should not have problems
> preinstalling it.
>

I also thought it is as you say. :)

>
> Prepopulate in registry:
> HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Enum\.... Sub key that belong to RAM
> Disk.
> HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Services\ramdisk
>
> These two should be enough, if not in
> HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\.... There should be
> another entry.
>

I have checked these entries so many times. Everything looks perfect.

>
> Question1: Do you have user mode PnP component?
>

Yes I have.

The driver is installed. The registry entries are correct, I hope. The
ramdisk is loaded and I have an icon in explorer. If I try to access
the drive, the error message: "X: ..not accessible" occurs.

Regards

Beezle


--
BeezlePosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

KM
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Beezle,

> The driver is installed. The registry entries are correct, I hope. The
> ramdisk is loaded and I have an icon in explorer. If I try to access
> the drive, the error message: "X: ..not accessible" occurs.

Do you have FAT FS component included in your Configuration?

KM

Beezle
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Yes. FAT is included. The registry settings for "start" is set with "4"
by default. Is this correct?


--
BeezlePosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

Beezle
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Hi,

The problem is solved! For the ramdisk FAT component is needed.
However start of the service "FastFat" must be set to "switched on"
thus "1" within component registry settings. Default is "4" (disabled).


Thank's.


--
BeezlePosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access

KM
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Beezle,

> Yes. FAT is included. The registry settings for "start" is set with "4"
> by default. Is this correct?

Do you mean Fastfat driver service Start value? Yes, it must be enabled ("4"
means disabled). You can set it to "1" or "2".

Also, try to start/stop the ramdisk driver at run tme (use devcon). If it
fails, analyze setupapi.log.

Also, after the driver installation do you get
[HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{78A1C341-4539-11d3-B88D-00C04FAD5171}
reg key ?

KM

Beezle
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Thank you KM!

You gave me the crucial hint!

Regards

Beezle


--
BeezlePosted from http://www.pcreview.co.uk/ newsgroup access


ramdisk won't work