volume control



kyle
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
i unistalled my volume controls on accident and the windows cds that i have
are service pack 1's and dont work. I have also searched the windows sight
and have not found anything ugh

lvee
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
how did you do that?
do you have you installation disk?
Try a system restore..I'm not sure if that will work or not, but check it
out.
But really, what steps did you take to delete your sound controls? Did you
check the sound options in control panel?
"kyle" <kyle@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:4993120B-EA8B-4426-B741-D814C10794BD@microsoft.com...
>i unistalled my volume controls on accident and the windows cds that i have
> are service pack 1's and dont work. I have also searched the windows sight
> and have not found anything ugh

NotMe
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
You may have removed the icon, I doubt you removed the control itself.
Usually in Control Panel, Sounds and Audio Devices, you will have a checkbox
to show volume control in the system tray. Check it!

--
For evil to prosper requires only that good men remain silent!
"kyle" <kyle@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:4993120B-EA8B-4426-B741-D814C10794BD@microsoft.com...
>i unistalled my volume controls on accident and the windows cds that i have
> are service pack 1's and dont work. I have also searched the windows sight
> and have not found anything ugh

kyle
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
well it doesnt work i unistalled it through add/remove programs windows
compontents and now i have and you can reinstall it with a sp2 disk but my
disk is sp1 and i was just wondering if there was any way doing it other than
reinstalling sp2

lvee
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
There is no option to remove your sound volume control via add/remove
programs.
Do you mean you deleted you Windows Media?

Please type complete sentences...what does this mean, "and now i have and
you can reinstall it with a sp2 disk"

What disk are you referring to as your Sp1 disk? You can send for an SP2
disk, free, from Microsoft.


"kyle" <kyle@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C1AECCC1-F3E5-4F92-991B-DCBCF9893346@microsoft.com...
> well it doesnt work i unistalled it through add/remove programs windows
> compontents and now i have and you can reinstall it with a sp2 disk but my
> disk is sp1 and i was just wondering if there was any way doing it other
> than
> reinstalling sp2
>

NotMe
07-09-2005, 11:35 PM
I don't know if volume control was changed by SP2, but if you try to add it
back the way you removed it, does it ask for the SP2 CD?
Normally Windows knows the SP was downloaded and if the temp install files
are still on the HDD, it will access them automatically.

--
A Professional Amatuer...If anyone knew it all, none of would be here!
"kyle" <kyle@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C1AECCC1-F3E5-4F92-991B-DCBCF9893346@microsoft.com...
> well it doesnt work i unistalled it through add/remove programs windows
> compontents and now i have and you can reinstall it with a sp2 disk but my
> disk is sp1 and i was just wondering if there was any way doing it other
> than
> reinstalling sp2
>


volume control