WPA



steve
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
For reasons unknown MS is asking me to activate my OS. OK. Fine. When I
run the command "oobe /msoobe /a" absolutely nothing happens. I have a copy
of msoobe in my windows folder, my windows/system32 folder and in my
windows/system32/dllcache folder. I've turned on all sorts of services and
completely deactivated my firewall. What am I missing? Thanks.

Carey Frisch [MVP]
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
Copy and paste the following in the Run box,
then hit enter: oobe/msoobe /a

--
Carey Frisch
Microsoft MVP
Windows XP - Shell/User
Microsoft Newsgroups

Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"steve" wrote:

| For reasons unknown MS is asking me to activate my OS. OK. Fine. When I
| run the command "oobe /msoobe /a" absolutely nothing happens. I have a copy
| of msoobe in my windows folder, my windows/system32 folder and in my
| windows/system32/dllcache folder. I've turned on all sorts of services and
| completely deactivated my firewall. What am I missing? Thanks.


---
avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean.
Virus Database (VPS): 0519-2, 05/12/2005
Tested on: 5/13/2005 9:55:43 PM
avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2005 ALWIL Software.
http://www.avast.com

steve
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
I copied and entered the command in run. Now I get a message saying 'windows
cannot find the command oobe/msoobe'. I did find an error log with the
message
[Failure0]
LoadLibrary=LoadLibrary(OOBE_MAIN_DLL) failed. GetLastError=126
NtCurrentTeb=Teb.LastStatusValue = c0000135. I have no idea what it means
except for the word failed.

"Carey Frisch [MVP]" wrote:

> Copy and paste the following in the Run box,
> then hit enter: oobe/msoobe /a
>
> --
> Carey Frisch
> Microsoft MVP
> Windows XP - Shell/User
> Microsoft Newsgroups
>
> Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
> http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx
>
> -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>
> "steve" wrote:
>
> | For reasons unknown MS is asking me to activate my OS. OK. Fine. When I
> | run the command "oobe /msoobe /a" absolutely nothing happens. I have a copy
> | of msoobe in my windows folder, my windows/system32 folder and in my
> | windows/system32/dllcache folder. I've turned on all sorts of services and
> | completely deactivated my firewall. What am I missing? Thanks.
>
>
> ---
> avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean.
> Virus Database (VPS): 0519-2, 05/12/2005
> Tested on: 5/13/2005 9:55:43 PM
> avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2005 ALWIL Software.
> http://www.avast.com
>
>
>
>

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
Hi,

Your slashes are backwards, use:

%SYSTEMROOT%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /A

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"steve" <steve@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:FD1098E8-11D6-4EBB-BB58-796BF623B6E7@microsoft.com...
>I copied and entered the command in run. Now I get a message saying
>'windows
> cannot find the command oobe/msoobe'. I did find an error log with the
> message
> [Failure0]
> LoadLibrary=LoadLibrary(OOBE_MAIN_DLL) failed. GetLastError=126
> NtCurrentTeb=Teb.LastStatusValue = c0000135. I have no idea what it means
> except for the word failed.
>
> "Carey Frisch [MVP]" wrote:
>
>> Copy and paste the following in the Run box,
>> then hit enter: oobe/msoobe /a
>>
>> --
>> Carey Frisch
>> Microsoft MVP
>> Windows XP - Shell/User
>> Microsoft Newsgroups
>>
>> Get Windows XP Service Pack 2 with Advanced Security Technologies:
>> http://www.microsoft.com/athome/security/protect/windowsxp/choose.mspx
>>
>> -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>
>> "steve" wrote:
>>
>> | For reasons unknown MS is asking me to activate my OS. OK. Fine.
>> When I
>> | run the command "oobe /msoobe /a" absolutely nothing happens. I have a
>> copy
>> | of msoobe in my windows folder, my windows/system32 folder and in my
>> | windows/system32/dllcache folder. I've turned on all sorts of services
>> and
>> | completely deactivated my firewall. What am I missing? Thanks.
>>
>>
>> ---
>> avast! Antivirus: Outbound message clean.
>> Virus Database (VPS): 0519-2, 05/12/2005
>> Tested on: 5/13/2005 9:55:43 PM
>> avast! - copyright (c) 1988-2005 ALWIL Software.
>> http://www.avast.com
>>
>>
>>
>>

kurttrail
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
Rick "Nutcase" Rogers wrote:
> Hi,
>
> Your slashes are backwards, use:
>
> %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /A

Doesn't matter.

Either your or Carey's way works.

--
Peace!
Kurt
Self-anointed Moderator
microscum.pubic.windowsexp.gonorrhea
http://microscum.com/mscommunity
"Trustworthy Computing" is only another example of an Oxymoron!
"Produkt-Aktivierung macht frei"

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-09-2005, 11:27 PM
Yup, you're right, it should still work. But he may have an environment
problem as well, so I included the variable.

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"kurttrail" <dontemailme@anywhereintheknowuniverse.org> wrote in message
news:OaGAd%23HWFHA.132@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Rick "Nutcase" Rogers wrote:
>> Hi,
>>
>> Your slashes are backwards, use:
>>
>> %SYSTEMROOT%\system32\oobe\msoobe.exe /A
>
> Doesn't matter.
>
> Either your or Carey's way works.
>
> --
> Peace!
> Kurt
> Self-anointed Moderator
> microscum.pubic.windowsexp.gonorrhea
> http://microscum.com/mscommunity
> "Trustworthy Computing" is only another example of an Oxymoron!
> "Produkt-Aktivierung macht frei"
>


WPA