Able to connect, except for Symantec live update site.



Kristin
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
Any ideas appreciated.

I'm trying to run LiveUpdate, version 2.5. I receive the error which reads,
"unable to connect to host. live update could not connect to your isp." My
internet is through Roadrunner (cable) and is always on. I tried to go to
the site: www.service.symantec.com on internet explorer, but it will not
allow me to access this site and several other support sites by symantec.
Furthermore, in trying to turn off my firewall, I'm having problems with my
NETWORK CONNECTIONS as well. I go to control panel, network connections,
then right click on my connection to go to properties. When I do this, the
window just shutS down without explanation. I cannot get to my connection
properties. This has been going on for a year.

Thanks,
Erin

Kerry Brown
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
"Kristin" <khrysalis@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:%23xuihL8VFHA.3488@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Any ideas appreciated.
>
> I'm trying to run LiveUpdate, version 2.5. I receive the error which
> reads,
> "unable to connect to host. live update could not connect to your isp." My
> internet is through Roadrunner (cable) and is always on. I tried to go to
> the site: www.service.symantec.com on internet explorer, but it will not
> allow me to access this site and several other support sites by symantec.
> Furthermore, in trying to turn off my firewall, I'm having problems with
> my
> NETWORK CONNECTIONS as well. I go to control panel, network connections,
> then right click on my connection to go to properties. When I do this, the
> window just shutS down without explanation. I cannot get to my connection
> properties. This has been going on for a year.
>
> Thanks,
> Erin
>
>

You may have a virus. Go to a site that has an online scanner. Use "Safe
Mode With Networking" and scan your computer.

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

http://www.pandasoftware.com/products/activescan/com/activescan_principal.htm

Kerry

Torgeir Bakken \(MVP\)
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
Kristin wrote:

> Any ideas appreciated.
>
> I'm trying to run LiveUpdate, version 2.5. I receive the error which reads,
> "unable to connect to host. live update could not connect to your isp." My
> internet is through Roadrunner (cable) and is always on. I tried to go to
> the site: www.service.symantec.com on internet explorer, but it will not
> allow me to access this site and several other support sites by symantec.
> Furthermore, in trying to turn off my firewall, I'm having problems with my
> NETWORK CONNECTIONS as well. I go to control panel, network connections,
> then right click on my connection to go to properties. When I do this, the
> window just shutS down without explanation. I cannot get to my connection
> properties. This has been going on for a year.
Hi,

Your hosts file could be compromised by spyware, malware etc.,
edit the following file with Notepad:

Win95/98/ME: %windir%\hosts
Windows NT/2000/XP: %windir%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Click Start >> Run >>
Type the follow command in the Open box.
"notepad %windir%\system32\drivers\etc\hosts" (w/o quotes)
Press Ok

If there is anything within the file, remove anything but the line

127.0.0.1 localhost

and the comment lines at the top.

Be sure to go to the end of the file, sometimes the bad
app have added a lot of blank lines before the host entries
added to the file.


To check for Spyware and Parasites on a broader level, you can
run e.g. the tools mentioned in the links below...

The Parasite Fight Quick Fix Protocol
http://aumha.org/a/quickfix.htm

Dealing with Unwanted Spyware and Parasites
http://www.mvps.org/winhelp2002/unwanted.htm



--
torgeir, Microsoft MVP Scripting and WMI, Porsgrunn Norway
Administration scripting examples and an ONLINE version of
the 1328 page Scripting Guide:
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/scriptcenter/default.mspx

andy smart
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
Kristin wrote:
> Any ideas appreciated.
>
> I'm trying to run LiveUpdate, version 2.5. I receive the error which reads,
> "unable to connect to host. live update could not connect to your isp." My
> internet is through Roadrunner (cable) and is always on. I tried to go to
> the site: www.service.symantec.com on internet explorer, but it will not
> allow me to access this site and several other support sites by symantec.
> Furthermore, in trying to turn off my firewall, I'm having problems with my
> NETWORK CONNECTIONS as well. I go to control panel, network connections,
> then right click on my connection to go to properties. When I do this, the
> window just shutS down without explanation. I cannot get to my connection
> properties. This has been going on for a year.
>
> Thanks,
> Erin
>
>
What anti-virus are you running, and is it up to date?

There are various bits of malware which will attempt to prevent you
accessing the anti-virus websites. Can you access others like mcafee,
sophos, kaspersky etc? Look in your 'hosts' file to see if there are
entries in there for symantec too
c:\winnt\system32\drivers\etc\hosts

Kristin
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
I want to thank all of you for the information! I submitted this for my
daughter, Erin. Indeed, her host file was POLLUTED! There was no local
host entry, but all of the major players in the AV field made the list,
along with some I had not heard of. I had her paste in the "local host"
entry and delete the remainder. Hope this is right. She is now able to
open the Symantec site. (Running NAV 2005...I do not know if she has it set
to auto-update....which is the best option for this college kid). She also
has the most current Adaware/Adwatch on her system. (Which she prolly turned
off temporarily.)

This has been an "eye-opener" for her, and I learned something myself! At
this point she is running the online scans (several).

She still is not able to access the properties info of the LAN connection
(It just shuts the window). Is this related to this topic or does she need
an XP repair?

kristin

Kerry Brown
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
"Kristin" <khrysalis@earthlink.net> wrote in message
news:eE6qHw9VFHA.1384@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
>I want to thank all of you for the information! I submitted this for my
> daughter, Erin. Indeed, her host file was POLLUTED! There was no local
> host entry, but all of the major players in the AV field made the list,
> along with some I had not heard of. I had her paste in the "local host"
> entry and delete the remainder. Hope this is right. She is now able to
> open the Symantec site. (Running NAV 2005...I do not know if she has it
> set
> to auto-update....which is the best option for this college kid). She also
> has the most current Adaware/Adwatch on her system. (Which she prolly
> turned
> off temporarily.)
>
> This has been an "eye-opener" for her, and I learned something myself! At
> this point she is running the online scans (several).
>
> She still is not able to access the properties info of the LAN connection
> (It just shuts the window). Is this related to this topic or does she
> need
> an XP repair?
>
> kristin
>

She needs to scan for a virus with something other than Norton. It may have
been compromised.

Kerry

andy smart
07-10-2005, 12:25 AM
Kristin wrote:
> I want to thank all of you for the information! I submitted this for my
> daughter, Erin. Indeed, her host file was POLLUTED! There was no local
> host entry, but all of the major players in the AV field made the list,
> along with some I had not heard of. I had her paste in the "local host"
> entry and delete the remainder. Hope this is right. She is now able to
> open the Symantec site. (Running NAV 2005...I do not know if she has it set
> to auto-update....which is the best option for this college kid). She also
> has the most current Adaware/Adwatch on her system. (Which she prolly turned
> off temporarily.)
>
> This has been an "eye-opener" for her, and I learned something myself! At
> this point she is running the online scans (several).
>
> She still is not able to access the properties info of the LAN connection
> (It just shuts the window). Is this related to this topic or does she need
> an XP repair?
>
> kristin
>
>
>
>
Glad the suggestions worked, thanks for filling us in regarding the cause!


Able to connect, except for Symantec live update site.