fbreseal error



Tim
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
I have an image that I've created and we've done extensive testing with our
application and control system. I went to run fbreseal.exe after deploying
image using N Ghost and I got an error that said Sidgen Already Pending” with
the only option to press OK

Another dialog comes up that says something like “User environment message:
windows cannot load… …can not find local profile and is logging you on with
temp profile.”

All profiles originally created are lost.

Any ideas? Does it sound like fbreseal.exe was already run in FBA?
--
Tim

The Rob
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Tim,

From my own experience with fbreseal/cloning:

"Tim" <Tim@discussions.microsoft.com> skrev i meddelandet
news:78D7A435-69F7-49E6-BBAC-7B09D643D397@microsoft.com...
>I have an image that I've created and we've done extensive testing with our
> application and control system. I went to run fbreseal.exe after deploying
> image using N Ghost and I got an error that said Sidgen Already Pending"
> with
> the only option to press OK

As for this problem, I cant understand exactly what you did here. Anyway,
this is how I do and it works fine:
You should set the "cmiResealPhase" property to "0" in the System Cloning
Tool component.
Run FBA, fine tune and/or install your apps, run fbreseal.exe. Restart the
computer and turn it off BEFORE it boots. Duplicate you image (with for
example Norton Ghost), deploy your image and boot your machines. Now the
SIDs start changing.

> Another dialog comes up that says something like "User environment
> message:
> windows cannot load. .can not find local profile and is logging you on
> with
> temp profile."
>
> All profiles originally created are lost.

I had the exact same problem on something like 12 out of 15 systems (but not
all???) Im still not sure what caused it, but my best guess is that some
application(s) were still running when I ran fbreseal.exe. Try closing all
running apps before you run fbreseal.

> Any ideas? Does it sound like fbreseal.exe was already run in FBA?
> --
> Tim

Let us know if this helps.

BR,
Rob

PS. I hope you have a copy of your "golden image", I had ;-) DS.

KM
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Tim,

In order to run fbreseal manually you had to set cmiResealPhase to 0. Did
you do that or did you leave the "System Cloning Tool" component settings
untouched?

As to the profile problems. Make sure the drive letter assigments are NOT
changed when you clone the image. The easiest way would be cleaning up
[HKLM\System\MountedDevices] key and making sure the default drive letter
assigments in the golden image is what you wanted.

KM

> I have an image that I've created and we've done extensive testing with
> our
> application and control system. I went to run fbreseal.exe after deploying
> image using N Ghost and I got an error that said Sidgen Already Pending"
> with
> the only option to press OK
>
> Another dialog comes up that says something like "User environment
> message:
> windows cannot load: :can not find local profile and is logging you on
> with
> temp profile."
>
> All profiles originally created are lost.
>
> Any ideas? Does it sound like fbreseal.exe was already run in FBA?
> --
> Tim


fbreseal error