DSL DNS ERROR



Keith
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
I have a D-Link DSL modem (302G) USB connected to my PC. Everytime I turn on
the PC I get s DNS error - "...shdock.dll\dnserror.htm" - I think since it
all happens so fast. Then I get the "cannot connect" IE error page. I have
to reboot the modem to get a connection. I have checked the error logs and
nothing seems to be captured. Has anyone experienced the same problem? Is
there a cause/fix?

Thanks, Keith.

Yves Leclerc
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
First, always check with the manufacturer (in this case: D-Link @
www.d-link.com) so as to see if there is any info on this and any updates
for your DSL modem (including drivers.)

"Keith" <Keith@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:7C09B624-2B99-43D1-876C-D6C65E21A62A@microsoft.com...
>I have a D-Link DSL modem (302G) USB connected to my PC. Everytime I turn
>on
> the PC I get s DNS error - "...shdock.dll\dnserror.htm" - I think since it
> all happens so fast. Then I get the "cannot connect" IE error page. I
> have
> to reboot the modem to get a connection. I have checked the error logs
> and
> nothing seems to be captured. Has anyone experienced the same problem?
> Is
> there a cause/fix?
>
> Thanks, Keith.

Keith
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Yves,
thanks for the reply. I have been in touch with the manufacturer.
Downloaded latest drivers and made suggested changes which included
explicitly defining DNS address. They also suggested removing any DNS
entries on the DSL modem. Wan't sure how to do that, but was unable to get
clarification from them.

Telco suggested it might be hardware (PC) related as I am running an IBM 386
Aptiva. They also suggested that USB mode of attachment is less reliable
than ethernet. Wanted to get a second opinion from you guys.

Keith.

"Yves Leclerc" wrote:

> First, always check with the manufacturer (in this case: D-Link @
> www.d-link.com) so as to see if there is any info on this and any updates
> for your DSL modem (including drivers.)
>
> "Keith" <Keith@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:7C09B624-2B99-43D1-876C-D6C65E21A62A@microsoft.com...
> >I have a D-Link DSL modem (302G) USB connected to my PC. Everytime I turn
> >on
> > the PC I get s DNS error - "...shdock.dll\dnserror.htm" - I think since it
> > all happens so fast. Then I get the "cannot connect" IE error page. I
> > have
> > to reboot the modem to get a connection. I have checked the error logs
> > and
> > nothing seems to be captured. Has anyone experienced the same problem?
> > Is
> > there a cause/fix?
> >
> > Thanks, Keith.
>
>
>

Yves Leclerc
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
You can always try to flush the DNS info in your XP:

Start ---> RUN ---> CMD

ipconfig /flsuhdns


"Keith" <Keith@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:C80BCFD7-D9A8-4D9B-BFF5-CBAF3D07500A@microsoft.com...
> Yves,
> thanks for the reply. I have been in touch with the manufacturer.
> Downloaded latest drivers and made suggested changes which included
> explicitly defining DNS address. They also suggested removing any DNS
> entries on the DSL modem. Wan't sure how to do that, but was unable to
> get
> clarification from them.
>
> Telco suggested it might be hardware (PC) related as I am running an IBM
> 386
> Aptiva. They also suggested that USB mode of attachment is less reliable
> than ethernet. Wanted to get a second opinion from you guys.
>
> Keith.
>
> "Yves Leclerc" wrote:
>
>> First, always check with the manufacturer (in this case: D-Link @
>> www.d-link.com) so as to see if there is any info on this and any updates
>> for your DSL modem (including drivers.)
>>
>> "Keith" <Keith@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
>> news:7C09B624-2B99-43D1-876C-D6C65E21A62A@microsoft.com...
>> >I have a D-Link DSL modem (302G) USB connected to my PC. Everytime I
>> >turn
>> >on
>> > the PC I get s DNS error - "...shdock.dll\dnserror.htm" - I think since
>> > it
>> > all happens so fast. Then I get the "cannot connect" IE error page. I
>> > have
>> > to reboot the modem to get a connection. I have checked the error logs
>> > and
>> > nothing seems to be captured. Has anyone experienced the same problem?
>> > Is
>> > there a cause/fix?
>> >
>> > Thanks, Keith.
>>
>>
>>

Keith
07-09-2005, 11:26 PM
no luck flushing dns. Problem still occurs on starft-up.

Keith.

"Yves Leclerc" wrote:

> You can always try to flush the DNS info in your XP:
>
> Start ---> RUN ---> CMD
>
> ipconfig /flsuhdns
>
>
> "Keith" <Keith@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:C80BCFD7-D9A8-4D9B-BFF5-CBAF3D07500A@microsoft.com...
> > Yves,
> > thanks for the reply. I have been in touch with the manufacturer.
> > Downloaded latest drivers and made suggested changes which included
> > explicitly defining DNS address. They also suggested removing any DNS
> > entries on the DSL modem. Wan't sure how to do that, but was unable to
> > get
> > clarification from them.
> >
> > Telco suggested it might be hardware (PC) related as I am running an IBM
> > 386
> > Aptiva. They also suggested that USB mode of attachment is less reliable
> > than ethernet. Wanted to get a second opinion from you guys.
> >
> > Keith.
> >
> > "Yves Leclerc" wrote:
> >
> >> First, always check with the manufacturer (in this case: D-Link @
> >> www.d-link.com) so as to see if there is any info on this and any updates
> >> for your DSL modem (including drivers.)
> >>
> >> "Keith" <Keith@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> >> news:7C09B624-2B99-43D1-876C-D6C65E21A62A@microsoft.com...
> >> >I have a D-Link DSL modem (302G) USB connected to my PC. Everytime I
> >> >turn
> >> >on
> >> > the PC I get s DNS error - "...shdock.dll\dnserror.htm" - I think since
> >> > it
> >> > all happens so fast. Then I get the "cannot connect" IE error page. I
> >> > have
> >> > to reboot the modem to get a connection. I have checked the error logs
> >> > and
> >> > nothing seems to be captured. Has anyone experienced the same problem?
> >> > Is
> >> > there a cause/fix?
> >> >
> >> > Thanks, Keith.
> >>
> >>
> >>
>
>
>


DSL DNS ERROR