input signal out of range



Jerome
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
“input signal out of range” and screen remains black.

I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)

Thanks in advance,
Jerome.

R. McCarty
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Try Safe Mode, enable VGA mode.
Once back to normal mode - check your monitor definition and if
set to "Plug-&-Play" get your LG driver package and set it to the
exact model you have.

"Jerome" <Jerome@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:7C50201C-6B4A-4349-A6BA-1170134779F1@microsoft.com...
> When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> "input signal out of range" and screen remains black.
>
> I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
>
> Thanks in advance,
> Jerome.
>

S.Sengupta
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
The "Signal Out of Range" error indicates that your monitor no longer
receiving any usable input from your video card.

Boot into VGA Mode and then set the display to something that your
monitor can handle.

regards,
ssg MS-MVP




Jerome wrote:
> When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> “input signal out of range” and screen remains black.
>
> I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
>
> Thanks in advance,
> Jerome.
>

jerome
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
thanks for your reply.
i cheked:
- vga mode works fine.
- safe mode remains problematic.
- correct monitor is selected
any suggestions?

"R. McCarty" wrote:

> Try Safe Mode, enable VGA mode.
> Once back to normal mode - check your monitor definition and if
> set to "Plug-&-Play" get your LG driver package and set it to the
> exact model you have.
>
> "Jerome" <Jerome@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:7C50201C-6B4A-4349-A6BA-1170134779F1@microsoft.com...
> > When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> > "input signal out of range" and screen remains black.
> >
> > I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> > I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> > Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
> >
> > Thanks in advance,
> > Jerome.
> >
>
>
>

jerome
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
thanks for your reply.
i checked:
- vga mode works fine.
- 640x480x256x60hz can be handled, but
- safe mode remains problematic (same error)
any suggestions?

"S.Sengupta" wrote:

> The "Signal Out of Range" error indicates that your monitor no longer
> receiving any usable input from your video card.
>
> Boot into VGA Mode and then set the display to something that your
> monitor can handle.
>
> regards,
> ssg MS-MVP
>
>
>
>
> Jerome wrote:
> > When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> > “input signal out of range” and screen remains black.
> >
> > I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> > I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> > Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
> >
> > Thanks in advance,
> > Jerome.
> >
>

andy smart
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Jerome wrote:
> When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> “input signal out of range” and screen remains black.
>
> I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
>
> Thanks in advance,
> Jerome.
>
What graphics card are you using? Is it a basic one or something exotic
:-) Does it need drivers which are not being loaded when the machine
boots into safe mode?

jerome
07-09-2005, 11:24 PM
i use sis-651 chip, onboard on asus p4s533-mx board.
i have latest drivers and bios running, but this does not help me further...:(


"andy smart" wrote:

> Jerome wrote:
> > When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> > “input signal out of range” and screen remains black.
> >
> > I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> > I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> > Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
> >
> > Thanks in advance,
> > Jerome.
> >
> What graphics card are you using? Is it a basic one or something exotic
> :-) Does it need drivers which are not being loaded when the machine
> boots into safe mode?
>

Steve N.
07-09-2005, 11:24 PM
jerome wrote:

> i use sis-651 chip, onboard on asus p4s533-mx board.
> i have latest drivers and bios running, but this does not help me further...:(
>
>

Contact LGE and see if they have a solution since they made the monitor.

Steve

> "andy smart" wrote:
>
>
>>Jerome wrote:
>>
>>>When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
>>>input signal out of range and screen remains black.
>>>
>>>I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
>>>I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
>>>Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
>>>
>>>Thanks in advance,
>>>Jerome.
>>>
>>
>>What graphics card are you using? Is it a basic one or something exotic
>>:-) Does it need drivers which are not being loaded when the machine
>>boots into safe mode?
>>

nospam.please@ualberta.ca
07-09-2005, 11:25 PM
=?Utf-8?B?SmVyb21l?= <Jerome@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
news:7C50201C-6B4A-4349-A6BA-1170134779F1@microsoft.com:

> When i start windows xp in safe mode, i get
> “input signal out of range” and screen remains black.
>
> I have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz but problem remains the same.
> I use LG Flatron L1715S lcd monitor.
> Windows XP SP2 (incl. all patches)
>
> Thanks in advance,
> Jerome.
>
>

Are you saying that it does the "input signal out of range" when you
enter safe mode, but not when you boot normally?
You must be able to get it to display in some mode, otherwise you would
not have been able to "have tried 640x480x256, 60 hz".

If I am not mistaken, XP does not allow resolutions lower than 800x600
for its normal desktop, but perhaps it does go to 640x480 in safe mode?

An LCD monitor only has one resolution that really works properly, which
is the one that you should select. When a different resolution is sent
to the monitor, it either resizes the picture (which will cause some sort
of distortion), or it pans around in a larger virtual screen, or displays
a smaller screen by only using part of the LCD area.

I would suspect that what is happening is that it is switching to a
higher refresh rate (like 75 Hz or higher), which the LCD screen does not
like.
Depending on what video card you have, you may be able to set it to
ignore the DDC information from the monitor, and manually set the max
refresh rate to 60.


input signal out of range