Shutdown scheduling



Jayso
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Now i know that you can use the task sheduler for running a program when the
computer starts up (as well as all the other ways to make it start up), but
how do i get a program to run on shutdown?

Is it Possible?

Thanks,
--
Jayso

gerom
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
shutdown -s -f

"Jayso" <jayso_chinnery@hotmail.com(nospam)> wrote in message
news:E4E6C178-B50C-492F-B6F0-4022A5503CEB@microsoft.com...
> Now i know that you can use the task sheduler for running a program when
> the
> computer starts up (as well as all the other ways to make it start up),
> but
> how do i get a program to run on shutdown?
>
> Is it Possible?
>
> Thanks,
> --
> Jayso

Thorsten Matzner
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
"Jayso" <jayso_chinnery@hotmail.com(nospam)> wrote:

>Now i know that you can use the task sheduler for running a program when the
>computer starts up (as well as all the other ways to make it start up), but
>how do i get a program to run on shutdown?

Create a batch file to run the program and add a command-line for
SHUTDOWN after the command-line for the program. Details about
SHUTDOWN are available from a DOS prompt: type
SHUTDOWN /?
there.

--
(tm)

Jon
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Easier with XP Pro than XP Home (no group policy snap-in)


http://www.microsoft.com/resources/documentation/windows/xp/all/proddocs/en-us/gptext_assigncomputershutdownscripts.mspx



Jon


"Jayso" <jayso_chinnery@hotmail.com(nospam)> wrote in message
news:E4E6C178-B50C-492F-B6F0-4022A5503CEB@microsoft.com...
> Now i know that you can use the task sheduler for running a program when
> the
> computer starts up (as well as all the other ways to make it start up),
> but
> how do i get a program to run on shutdown?
>
> Is it Possible?
>
> Thanks,
> --
> Jayso

S.Sengupta
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
To see all available options for this command, click Start, click Run,
and type:

SHUTDOWN /?

Very handy:-
Shutdown.exe

http://www.budja.com/shutdown/

regards,
ssg MS-MVP





Jayso wrote:

> Now i know that you can use the task sheduler for running a program when the
> computer starts up (as well as all the other ways to make it start up), but
> how do i get a program to run on shutdown?
>
> Is it Possible?
>
> Thanks,

Anthony
07-09-2005, 11:23 PM
Hi Jayso
I have used "Switch Off" for months now and is very reliable.
Download it from http://yasoft.km.ru/eng/

Good Luck
Anthony
----------------------------

"Jayso" wrote:

> Now i know that you can use the task sheduler for running a program when the
> computer starts up (as well as all the other ways to make it start up), but
> how do i get a program to run on shutdown?
>
> Is it Possible?
>
> Thanks,
> --
> Jayso


Shutdown scheduling