Using 4GB CF like a HD?



GŁnter Wirth
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Hello,

We like to sell the hardware + Windows on a CF and our customer should be
able to install software onto the device => the CF should work like a HD.
The CF should be 4 GB large.

How can we do that?

I've heard that the EWF manager needs more RAM than the CF size to be
one the save side, but our motherboard supports only 512MB RAM.

Regards
GŁnter

Heidi Linda
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Using EWF, you don't really want the customer installing software - unless
they're turning off the filter to do so - as the overlay will get very large
very quickly. Without EWF, you'll wear out your CF card quite quickly. Out
of interest, why do you want to use a CF card for this?

"GŁnter Wirth" <g.wirth_nospam@extec.de> wrote in message
news:#H04HrPYFHA.1796@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Hello,
>
> We like to sell the hardware + Windows on a CF and our customer should be
> able to install software onto the device => the CF should work like a HD.
> The CF should be 4 GB large.
>
> How can we do that?
>
> I've heard that the EWF manager needs more RAM than the CF size to be
> one the save side, but our motherboard supports only 512MB RAM.
>
> Regards
> GŁnter
>
>

GŁnter Wirth
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
Hello,

It's just because HDs don't like vibrations!
We need a very robust solution without any mechanical parts!

Regards,
GŁnter

"Heidi Linda" <heidi.linda@inspiredbroadcast.net> schrieb im Newsbeitrag
news:Oc6ABQQYFHA.1152@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Using EWF, you don't really want the customer installing software - unless
> they're turning off the filter to do so - as the overlay will get very
large
> very quickly. Without EWF, you'll wear out your CF card quite quickly. Out
> of interest, why do you want to use a CF card for this?
>

KM
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
GŁnter,

> We like to sell the hardware + Windows on a CF and our customer should be
> able to install software onto the device => the CF should work like a HD.

See what M-Systems have. Their firmware will reduce the wear-out factor.
Don't know, though, if they sell 4G cards.

KM

> The CF should be 4 GB large.
>
> How can we do that?
>
> I've heard that the EWF manager needs more RAM than the CF size to be
> one the save side, but our motherboard supports only 512MB RAM.
>
> Regards
> GŁnter
>
>


Using 4GB CF like a HD?