PC wont Start, even in safemode



dave
07-10-2005, 12:22 AM
Hi all

I have a very strange problem, when i started me PC last night it wouldn't
load into windows. It went through the bios fine, but then its just a blank
screen.

I reset the pc and tried again and it still did it. I then used Last know
good configuration and safe mode.

LKGC did exactly the same but in safe mode it just hung when it was loading
c:\win\sys32\giveio.sys

I have a dual boot system, and on the other partition of my HD it does
exactly the same.

I have reset the bios and taken out all removable devices

Any ideas?

BNR
07-10-2005, 12:22 AM
Take out one stick of DDRAM. If it boots with one, there is your problem.
Manually enter the correct latency for sticks into BIOS. For example
2-2-2-5. If still fails, try different set of memory.

That's where I am with this problem too. I have this same issue right now
and am looking into purchasing some more compatible memory for my P4C800
Deluxe.

My 1yr old KHX3200(2-2-2-6)/512s have been discontinued. They were working
with a tweaked RtC(2-2-3-5), but now... Low latency DDRAM seems to be on
the way out of mainstream computing. Kingston rep, said they no longer make
these sticks with 2 RtC. I viewed their product list, he was right. They
make a 2-2-3-6 stick. It's called KHX3200A. I have seen this trend on the
Corsair site, too. Price hasn't dropped on the low latency, if you can get
some that work, great, they sure are fast, but they run hot and live short
lives.

But unlike you, I get this OC error sometimes. And sometimes it just loads
normal then crashes under stress.

I never overvolted anything, I think its a catch all error for
dead/noncompatible devices. In doctor terms, a CYA(cover your ass) error.
Because if it were OCing, wouldn't my onboard C.O.P catch the heat increase
and aleart me? I bought this feature rich Mobo, to avoid nuisance errors.
Could be C.O.P only watches CPU and Mobo heat, and not DDRAM heat.

Thank you for allowing me to help. Good day.

"dave" <dave@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:A481E016-C3FB-4AB4-9B5F-E623CDD796FB@microsoft.com...
> Hi all
>
> I have a very strange problem, when i started me PC last night it wouldn't
> load into windows. It went through the bios fine, but then its just a
blank
> screen.
>
> I reset the pc and tried again and it still did it. I then used Last know
> good configuration and safe mode.
>
> LKGC did exactly the same but in safe mode it just hung when it was
loading
> c:\win\sys32\giveio.sys
>
> I have a dual boot system, and on the other partition of my HD it does
> exactly the same.
>
> I have reset the bios and taken out all removable devices
>
> Any ideas?
>

Byte
07-10-2005, 12:22 AM
Boot using your XP installation disk, it is a bootable disk.
Installing GiveIO is only needed if you will be using a Polhemus 3Space
Isotrack tracking device. If you do not have the Isotrack, you may have
picked up some
malware/spyware. You now have several choices:
1. How to Perform a Windows XP Repair Install
http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
2. Run a System Restore, you can go back up to 90 days.
Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>System Restore
3. Ad-Aware SE Personal Edition - Download Free version and Run It!
http://www.download.com/3000-2144-10045910.html?part=69274&subj=dlpage&tag=button
--
Today is the first day of the rest of
your life.


"dave" wrote:

> Hi all
>
> I have a very strange problem, when i started me PC last night it wouldn't
> load into windows. It went through the bios fine, but then its just a blank
> screen.
>
> I reset the pc and tried again and it still did it. I then used Last know
> good configuration and safe mode.
>
> LKGC did exactly the same but in safe mode it just hung when it was loading
> c:\win\sys32\giveio.sys
>
> I have a dual boot system, and on the other partition of my HD it does
> exactly the same.
>
> I have reset the bios and taken out all removable devices
>
> Any ideas?
>


PC wont Start, even in safemode