2 questions on Windows CD Burning & Remote Desktop woes :S



KevinGPO
07-09-2005, 11:22 PM
3 questions:

1) I've only got around 200MB free space on my C:\ and I really cannot free
anymore up. However I've got 3 GB free space in my D:\ . I do not have time
to uninstall / reinstall things just to free up space in my C:\ .

I want to CD burn using Windows CD Burning. I notice that when one drags
files into their CD-R drive it really gets copied into a folder:

C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\CDBurning (or something)

Is there anyway to tell Windows that you want to use another folder, like
D:\ for CD Burning temp folder?


2) Is there any way I can move a program folder say, C:\Program Files\WinZip
or C:\Program Files\Adobe into D:\Program Files and have Windows
intelligently set/update all the registry configuration associated with that
program? etc.


3) I have been having problems getting MS Remote Desktop Assistant to work.
I am on a flat LAN network and I believe my flat mates router has the ports
blocked for incoming. What are all the Remote Desktop ports I need to open so
that everything runs smoothly. Plus am I correct that the default/1st user
account with no password cannot be used to log into a Remote Desktop?

Yves Leclerc
07-09-2005, 11:22 PM
The standard Remote Desktop port is 3389. You will need to set up a
port-forwarding link from the outside to your PC for this port.


"KevinGPO" <KevinGPO@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E3DD90E5-CA1F-4A70-B2B6-81B95EBDC17A@microsoft.com...
>3 questions:
>
> 1) I've only got around 200MB free space on my C:\ and I really cannot
> free
> anymore up. However I've got 3 GB free space in my D:\ . I do not have
> time
> to uninstall / reinstall things just to free up space in my C:\ .
>
> I want to CD burn using Windows CD Burning. I notice that when one drags
> files into their CD-R drive it really gets copied into a folder:
>
> C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\CDBurning (or
> something)
>
> Is there anyway to tell Windows that you want to use another folder, like
> D:\ for CD Burning temp folder?
>
>
> 2) Is there any way I can move a program folder say, C:\Program
> Files\WinZip
> or C:\Program Files\Adobe into D:\Program Files and have Windows
> intelligently set/update all the registry configuration associated with
> that
> program? etc.
>
>
> 3) I have been having problems getting MS Remote Desktop Assistant to
> work.
> I am on a flat LAN network and I believe my flat mates router has the
> ports
> blocked for incoming. What are all the Remote Desktop ports I need to open
> so
> that everything runs smoothly. Plus am I correct that the default/1st user
> account with no password cannot be used to log into a Remote Desktop?
>
>

Rock
07-09-2005, 11:22 PM
KevinGPO wrote:

Responses inline"

> 3 questions:
>
> 1) I've only got around 200MB free space on my C:\ and I really cannot free
> anymore up. However I've got 3 GB free space in my D:\ . I do not have time
> to uninstall / reinstall things just to free up space in my C:\ .
>
> I want to CD burn using Windows CD Burning. I notice that when one drags
> files into their CD-R drive it really gets copied into a folder:
>
> C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\CDBurning (or something)
>
> Is there anyway to tell Windows that you want to use another folder, like
> D:\ for CD Burning temp folder?

Right drag the folder to the location you want and choose Move.

>
>
> 2) Is there any way I can move a program folder say, C:\Program Files\WinZip
> or C:\Program Files\Adobe into D:\Program Files and have Windows
> intelligently set/update all the registry configuration associated with that
> program? etc.

Not really anything that works reliably. Uninstall and reinstall.

>
>
> 3) I have been having problems getting MS Remote Desktop Assistant to work.
> I am on a flat LAN network and I believe my flat mates router has the ports
> blocked for incoming. What are all the Remote Desktop ports I need to open so
> that everything runs smoothly. Plus am I correct that the default/1st user
> account with no password cannot be used to log into a Remote Desktop?
>
>


--
Rock
MS MVP Windows - Shell/User

Kevin C.
07-09-2005, 11:22 PM
>> I want to CD burn using Windows CD Burning. I notice that when one drags
>> files into their CD-R drive it really gets copied into a folder:
>>
>> C:\Documents and Settings\<username>\Application Data\CDBurning (or
>> something)
>>
>> Is there anyway to tell Windows that you want to use another folder, like
>> D:\ for CD Burning temp folder?
>
> Right drag the folder to the location you want and choose Move.
>

Does this really work?


2 questions on Windows CD Burning & Remote Desktop woes :S