Re: Unable to Install Embedded SP2 Database files



windowsxpejunkie
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Finally broke down and called MS. Ended up with an tech support guy who
elevated the call to upper level since he couldn't figure out what was
wrong. Got a callback from a upperlevel XPEmbedded specialist at
Redmond. We spent a lot of time on the phone. Basically the result is
that I'm running SQL Server 2K with Service Pack 4 on an Active
Directory Domain on Win2K Advanced SP3, with the XP Pro development
system running as a workstation in that one-CPU domain.

I tried using MSDE and the only configuration I could get it to run in
was on the same cpu as the Target Designer. Way TOO SLOOOOOOOOW!

Subsequently, after many attempts, I eventually wiped the Server
partition, reloaded Win2k Advanced from scratch, installed SP3 on it,
then intalled SQL2K and SP4 on it. Then installing XPE Database SP1 and
then SP2. Together with the MS tech support guy, subsequent steps
included setting WES Admin for access on MANTISdb database. Also setting
my domain logon to be the WES Admin group. Re-import all the Components,
reset all the damn folder and file permissions on both the Server and
the XP Pro workstation due to the Active Directory setup.

Re-arranged broken directory settings for the Repository and finally got
a test run compile to go without a compilation error.

I am not a SQL Server expert. Did not ever want to be. Looks like that
will become necessary if there ever is a SP3. What I would like to know
is...Why can't there be a JOIN during an install that is inclusive and
has SP1 and SP2 and User designed components WITHOUT REQUIRING
everything User designed be re-imported? Not to mention the components
required in a MACRO component that didn't get updated in SP1 or SP2?

I've been updating components in the databse with Component Designer for
3 years and when I run a configuration update, the new revised
components replace the old versions without a hickup. Why not do that on
a global level in the database or allow multiple versions from different
Service Packs to co-exist in Target Designer's display after an update?
As far as I can tell, the Service Pack level/revision number could just
be another "property" of the component. Put another switch or two in the
Options, "Use Current Service Pack Level?" "Display Service Pack
Options?" "Use latest Revised Component for User designed components?"
Check boxes would work fine.

KM
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
> ....
> I tried using MSDE and the only configuration I could get it to run in was on the same cpu as the Target Designer. Way TOO
> SLOOOOOOOOW!

TD with database on the same machine is always slow unless you've got enough RAM (>1G) to cache the Mantis DB.

> Subsequently, after many attempts, I eventually wiped the Server partition, reloaded Win2k Advanced from scratch, installed SP3 on
> it, then intalled SQL2K and SP4 on it. Then installing XPE Database SP1 and then SP2. Together with the MS tech support guy,
> subsequent steps included setting WES Admin for access on MANTISdb database. Also setting my domain logon to be the WES Admin
> group. Re-import all the Components, reset all the damn folder and file permissions on both the Server and the XP Pro workstation
> due to the Active Directory setup.
>
> Re-arranged broken directory settings for the Repository and finally got a test run compile to go without a compilation error.
>
> I am not a SQL Server expert. Did not ever want to be. Looks like that will become necessary if there ever is a SP3. What I would
> like to know is...Why can't there be a JOIN during an install that is inclusive and has SP1 and SP2 and User designed components
> WITHOUT REQUIRING everything User designed be re-imported?

It is how it works now with SP2 upgrade. Ok, with proper SP1 installation.
E.g., I had SQL Server 2K SP4 running on my dev machine adn was working with SP1 Toolkit. Then I moved to SP2 and the install went
pretty smooth.
Only difference with your install I can see is one XP Pro dev machine vs Win2K Advanced SP3&XP Pro.

> Not to mention the components required in a MACRO component that didn't get updated in SP1 or SP2?
>
> I've been updating components in the databse with Component Designer for 3 years and when I run a configuration update, the new
> revised components replace the old versions without a hickup. Why not do that on a global level in the database or allow multiple
> versions from different Service Packs to co-exist in Target Designer's display after an update?

Do you mean multiple versions of same component? This would only be allowed for components which have "Enable multiple instances"
property set.
Or do you mean multiple versions of different components with different SP level? Then it is possible with TD now.

> As far as I can tell, the Service Pack level/revision number could just be another "property" of the component.

And it is. That is the cmiServicePackLevel extended property which exists for every instance in Configuration.
It is hard to play with different Revisions in TD, however. Only from a custom CMI script.

> Put another switch or two in the Options, "Use Current Service Pack Level?" "Display Service Pack Options?"

You can play with the cmiServicePackLevel property.

> "Use latest Revised Component for User designed components?"
> Check boxes would work fine.

KM

Slobodan Brcin \(eMVP\)
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Make sure that your opinion is known with the right people, give MS a feedback:
http://msdn.microsoft.com/embedded/community/community/feedback/feedxp/default.aspx

Regards,
Slobodan


"windowsxpejunkie" <windowsxpejunkie@yahoo.com> wrote in message news:OBJOjEBYFHA.3584@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> Finally broke down and called MS. Ended up with an tech support guy who
> elevated the call to upper level since he couldn't figure out what was
> wrong. Got a callback from a upperlevel XPEmbedded specialist at
> Redmond. We spent a lot of time on the phone. Basically the result is
> that I'm running SQL Server 2K with Service Pack 4 on an Active
> Directory Domain on Win2K Advanced SP3, with the XP Pro development
> system running as a workstation in that one-CPU domain.
>
> I tried using MSDE and the only configuration I could get it to run in
> was on the same cpu as the Target Designer. Way TOO SLOOOOOOOOW!
>
> Subsequently, after many attempts, I eventually wiped the Server
> partition, reloaded Win2k Advanced from scratch, installed SP3 on it,
> then intalled SQL2K and SP4 on it. Then installing XPE Database SP1 and
> then SP2. Together with the MS tech support guy, subsequent steps
> included setting WES Admin for access on MANTISdb database. Also setting
> my domain logon to be the WES Admin group. Re-import all the Components,
> reset all the damn folder and file permissions on both the Server and
> the XP Pro workstation due to the Active Directory setup.
>
> Re-arranged broken directory settings for the Repository and finally got
> a test run compile to go without a compilation error.
>
> I am not a SQL Server expert. Did not ever want to be. Looks like that
> will become necessary if there ever is a SP3. What I would like to know
> is...Why can't there be a JOIN during an install that is inclusive and
> has SP1 and SP2 and User designed components WITHOUT REQUIRING
> everything User designed be re-imported? Not to mention the components
> required in a MACRO component that didn't get updated in SP1 or SP2?
>
> I've been updating components in the databse with Component Designer for
> 3 years and when I run a configuration update, the new revised
> components replace the old versions without a hickup. Why not do that on
> a global level in the database or allow multiple versions from different
> Service Packs to co-exist in Target Designer's display after an update?
> As far as I can tell, the Service Pack level/revision number could just
> be another "property" of the component. Put another switch or two in the
> Options, "Use Current Service Pack Level?" "Display Service Pack
> Options?" "Use latest Revised Component for User designed components?"
> Check boxes would work fine.

windowsjunkie
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Well everything is now running nicely. Yes the Service Pack version
number IS a property of the component.
The biggest problem I kept running into was that the URLs to the
Knowledge Base articles that the guys at Redmond were pointing me too
were all related to SQL Server 2000 and yes they talked about similar
issues but it turns out that the MANTISdb uses CUSTOM or USER
attributes to control access, WSExxxxxx etc. The SQL Server guys
didn't know why I couldn't turn on the access and the Embedded guys
didn't know enough SQL Server 2000 stuff to point exactly at the
issues.
We spent about 2 and half hours on the phone and stepped through a
number of "look-here" and "set that" and "try it out" steps and finally
got it running.
I wasn't exactly pleased with the amount of aggravation it took to get
through the process but they did get me going and I didn't get too far
behind.
I also discovered that doubling my RAM to 1GB in both computers really
made a difference in my compile times, from 336 seconds to 150 seconds
on the exact same build. The other thing I've done is double up the
Ethernet connections so that there are two 100 Mbs NICs connected with
2 crossover cables between the two computers with fixed IPs and 2
permanent routes in the routing tables. The next upgrade will be some
Gigabit NICs when they become more affordable!



--
windowsjunkie
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted via http://www.mcse.ms
------------------------------------------------------------------------
View this thread: http://www.mcse.ms/message1609873.html


Re: Unable to Install Embedded SP2 Database files