IE problem...



Brimstone1392
07-10-2005, 12:21 AM
I posted this question earlier, but can't seem to find it now to see if it
was answered, so I'll ask it again.

Nothing is showing up in IE. No matter where I go, I get a "page cannot be
displayed" error. Normally, I don't even use it. I prefer firefox, which is
still working without a problem. However, I seem to need IE to download
updates for Mcafee Virus Scan.

Please, HELP!!!

Kelly
07-10-2005, 12:21 AM
Using an NNTP Newsreader
http://www.microsoft.com/communities/guide/nntpnews.mspx


--

All the Best,
Kelly (MS-MVP)

Troubleshooting Windows XP
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com


"Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E5A44674-8F93-4314-85F5-072397B892A1@microsoft.com...
>I posted this question earlier, but can't seem to find it now to see if it
> was answered, so I'll ask it again.
>
> Nothing is showing up in IE. No matter where I go, I get a "page cannot
> be
> displayed" error. Normally, I don't even use it. I prefer firefox, which
> is
> still working without a problem. However, I seem to need IE to download
> updates for Mcafee Virus Scan.
>
> Please, HELP!!!

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 12:21 AM
Hi,

Reinstall Internet Explorer. Click start/run, then copy/paste this command
and click ok:

rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132
%windir%\Inf\ie.inf

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E5A44674-8F93-4314-85F5-072397B892A1@microsoft.com...
>I posted this question earlier, but can't seem to find it now to see if it
> was answered, so I'll ask it again.
>
> Nothing is showing up in IE. No matter where I go, I get a "page cannot
> be
> displayed" error. Normally, I don't even use it. I prefer firefox, which
> is
> still working without a problem. However, I seem to need IE to download
> updates for Mcafee Virus Scan.
>
> Please, HELP!!!

Brimstone1392
07-10-2005, 12:30 AM
Just tried your suggestion. It says installation failed.
Any other ideas?

"Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Reinstall Internet Explorer. Click start/run, then copy/paste this command
> and click ok:
>
> rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132
> %windir%\Inf\ie.inf
>
> --
> Best of Luck,
>
> Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
> http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
> Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
> www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
> Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
>
> "Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> news:E5A44674-8F93-4314-85F5-072397B892A1@microsoft.com...
> >I posted this question earlier, but can't seem to find it now to see if it
> > was answered, so I'll ask it again.
> >
> > Nothing is showing up in IE. No matter where I go, I get a "page cannot
> > be
> > displayed" error. Normally, I don't even use it. I prefer firefox, which
> > is
> > still working without a problem. However, I seem to need IE to download
> > updates for Mcafee Virus Scan.
> >
> > Please, HELP!!!
>
>
>

Brimstone1392
07-10-2005, 12:30 AM
Okay. Forget about the last post I made. I'm an idiot. I finally got it to
work, though. However, now it says that a file is needed: IEXPLORE.exe on
the Service pack 2 cd. I placed the cd in the drive, but I can't find
iexplore. I tried searching the cd, but to no avail.

HELP... please. :)

"Brimstone1392" wrote:

> Just tried your suggestion. It says installation failed.
> Any other ideas?
>
> "Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:
>
> > Hi,
> >
> > Reinstall Internet Explorer. Click start/run, then copy/paste this command
> > and click ok:
> >
> > rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132
> > %windir%\Inf\ie.inf
> >
> > --
> > Best of Luck,
> >
> > Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
> > http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
> > Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
> > www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
> > Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
> >
> > "Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
> > news:E5A44674-8F93-4314-85F5-072397B892A1@microsoft.com...
> > >I posted this question earlier, but can't seem to find it now to see if it
> > > was answered, so I'll ask it again.
> > >
> > > Nothing is showing up in IE. No matter where I go, I get a "page cannot
> > > be
> > > displayed" error. Normally, I don't even use it. I prefer firefox, which
> > > is
> > > still working without a problem. However, I seem to need IE to download
> > > updates for Mcafee Virus Scan.
> > >
> > > Please, HELP!!!
> >
> >
> >

Rick \Nutcase\ Rogers
07-10-2005, 12:30 AM
Hi,

Try this folder:

C:\Windows\Servicepackfiles\I386

--
Best of Luck,

Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
Windows help - www.rickrogers.org

"Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:E717EC6A-FB63-4978-8032-49B6CF4EB2CF@microsoft.com...
> Okay. Forget about the last post I made. I'm an idiot. I finally got it
> to
> work, though. However, now it says that a file is needed: IEXPLORE.exe
> on
> the Service pack 2 cd. I placed the cd in the drive, but I can't find
> iexplore. I tried searching the cd, but to no avail.
>
> HELP... please. :)
>
> "Brimstone1392" wrote:
>
>> Just tried your suggestion. It says installation failed.
>> Any other ideas?
>>
>> "Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:
>>
>> > Hi,
>> >
>> > Reinstall Internet Explorer. Click start/run, then copy/paste this
>> > command
>> > and click ok:
>> >
>> > rundll32.exe setupapi,InstallHinfSection DefaultInstall 132
>> > %windir%\Inf\ie.inf
>> >
>> > --
>> > Best of Luck,
>> >
>> > Rick Rogers, aka "Nutcase" - Microsoft MVP
>> > http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/
>> > Associate Expert - WindowsXP Expert Zone
>> > www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/expertzone
>> > Windows help - www.rickrogers.org
>> >
>> > "Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in
>> > message
>> > news:E5A44674-8F93-4314-85F5-072397B892A1@microsoft.com...
>> > >I posted this question earlier, but can't seem to find it now to see
>> > >if it
>> > > was answered, so I'll ask it again.
>> > >
>> > > Nothing is showing up in IE. No matter where I go, I get a "page
>> > > cannot
>> > > be
>> > > displayed" error. Normally, I don't even use it. I prefer firefox,
>> > > which
>> > > is
>> > > still working without a problem. However, I seem to need IE to
>> > > download
>> > > updates for Mcafee Virus Scan.
>> > >
>> > > Please, HELP!!!
>> >
>> >
>> >

Brimstone1392
07-10-2005, 12:33 AM
Okay. Found it. Thank you very much.
Unfortunately, now it says I need mswrd632.wpc on the windows xp home
edition cd. BUT, since I purchased my computer from Dell, I don't have a
windows CD... Just the reinstall CD from Dell.

Oh... And I have a splitting headache too.

"Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:

> Hi,
>
> Try this folder:
>
> C:\Windows\Servicepackfiles\I386

Gene K
07-10-2005, 12:33 AM
Dell usually provides the full version on their CD.
Gene K
"Brimstone1392" <Brimstone1392@discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:BA46D6E0-6A39-4CC4-A76A-A43033835CF2@microsoft.com...
> Okay. Found it. Thank you very much.
> Unfortunately, now it says I need mswrd632.wpc on the windows xp home
> edition cd. BUT, since I purchased my computer from Dell, I don't have a
> windows CD... Just the reinstall CD from Dell.
>
> Oh... And I have a splitting headache too.
>
> "Rick "Nutcase" Rogers" wrote:
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> Try this folder:
>>
>> C:\Windows\Servicepackfiles\I386


IE problem...