Delete Confirmation



David Gorick
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box asking me if I'm sure I
want to delete it. I've unchecked the "Display delete confirmation dialog"
box under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry key I can hack to
make this dialog box go away permanently?

Thanks,
David

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
Hi David,

That "Display delete confirmation dialog" box only turns off the
confirmation when you delete file and sent it to the recycle bin. It
does not turn off the confirmation when you empty the recycle bin.

--
Regards,
Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/

David Gorick wrote:
> Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box
> asking me if I'm sure I want to delete it. I've
> unchecked the "Display delete confirmation dialog" box
> under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry
> key I can hack to make this dialog box go away
> permanently?
> Thanks,
> David

David Gorick
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
Well darn. It sure is annoying. I send stuff to the recycle bin because I
don't want it and when I empty the recycle bin I really, really don't want
it. I guess I'll just have to live with it. Thanks Bert


"Bert Kinney" <bert@NSmvps.org> wrote in message
news:u3FzIZDeFHA.2584@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
> Hi David,
>
> That "Display delete confirmation dialog" box only turns off the
> confirmation when you delete file and sent it to the recycle bin. It does
> not turn off the confirmation when you empty the recycle bin.
>
> --
> Regards,
> Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
> http://dts-l.org/
>
> David Gorick wrote:
>> Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box
>> asking me if I'm sure I want to delete it. I've
>> unchecked the "Display delete confirmation dialog" box
>> under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry
>> key I can hack to make this dialog box go away
>> permanently?
>> Thanks,
>> David
>
>

Crios
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
Do this:

R click on Recycle Bin Icon/Properties/Global/ check "Do not move files to R
Bin..."


"David Gorick" <dgorick@adelphia.net> wrote in message
news:OFolsQBeFHA.1504@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box asking me if I'm sure
> I want to delete it. I've unchecked the "Display delete confirmation
> dialog" box under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry key I
> can hack to make this dialog box go away permanently?
>
> Thanks,
> David
>

Bert Kinney
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
I know what you mean David. This article discuses to methods of
bypassing the Recycle Bin.
HOW TO: Bypass the Recycle Bin When You Delete Files and Folders in
Windows XP.
http://support.microsoft.com/Default.aspx?kbid=320031

--
Regards,
Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
http://dts-l.org/

David Gorick wrote:
> Well darn. It sure is annoying. I send stuff to the
> recycle bin because I don't want it and when I empty the
> recycle bin I really, really don't want it. I guess I'll
> just have to live with it. Thanks Bert
>
> "Bert Kinney" <bert@NSmvps.org> wrote in message
> news:u3FzIZDeFHA.2584@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> Hi David,
>>
>> That "Display delete confirmation dialog" box only turns
>> off the confirmation when you delete file and sent it to
>> the recycle bin. It does not turn off the confirmation
>> when you empty the recycle bin. --
>> Regards,
>> Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
>> http://dts-l.org/
>>
>> David Gorick wrote:
>>> Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box
>>> asking me if I'm sure I want to delete it. I've
>>> unchecked the "Display delete confirmation dialog" box
>>> under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry
>>> key I can hack to make this dialog box go away
>>> permanently?
>>> Thanks,
>>> David

Atreju
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
On Thu, 23 Jun 2005 22:48:09 -0700, "David Gorick"
<dgorick@adelphia.net> wrote:

>Well darn. It sure is annoying. I send stuff to the recycle bin because I
>don't want it and when I empty the recycle bin I really, really don't want
>it. I guess I'll just have to live with it. Thanks Bert

Although you (like everyone, obviously) send stuff to the recycle bin
because you don't want it, you'd be surprised how often someone
realizes much later that they need a file which they've deleted.

The recycle bin exists as a precautionary measure: as a way of
avoiding accidental deletions as well as allowing you to restore a
file you thought (even were _SURE_) you didn't need.

A lot of people get in the habit of constantly emptying the thing, and
for the life of me, I can't figure out why, aside from sheer naivete.
It is there as a benefit, use it! The only reason to empty it so often
is if you really need the information to be gone, and even then, if
the information is so sensitive you'd likely be better off with a
security program that truly wipes information away. It really is never
_GONE_ until the actual disk space is re-used.

This is why I always recommend to people to just leave the thing
alone. Set the maximum amount of space you want it to use, and leave
it at that. It could save you from a major headache one day when you
least expect it.

And in case you're under this misconception, emptying the recycle bin
does not free up space (you free up the space when you delete
something), nor does it improve your system in any way. All it
accomplishes is erasing your chance at recovering something which
you've deleted, and that's not a very good thing usually.

I don't mean to lecture, just to impart my advice.



>
>
>"Bert Kinney" <bert@NSmvps.org> wrote in message
>news:u3FzIZDeFHA.2584@tk2msftngp13.phx.gbl...
>> Hi David,
>>
>> That "Display delete confirmation dialog" box only turns off the
>> confirmation when you delete file and sent it to the recycle bin. It does
>> not turn off the confirmation when you empty the recycle bin.
>>
>> --
>> Regards,
>> Bert Kinney MS-MVP Shell/User
>> http://dts-l.org/
>>
>> David Gorick wrote:
>>> Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box
>>> asking me if I'm sure I want to delete it. I've
>>> unchecked the "Display delete confirmation dialog" box
>>> under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry
>>> key I can hack to make this dialog box go away
>>> permanently?
>>> Thanks,
>>> David
>>
>>
>



---Atreju---

Atreju
07-10-2005, 12:15 AM
On Fri, 24 Jun 2005 13:29:07 +0300, "Crios"
<cristian.iosifescu@ugal.ro> wrote:

>Do this:
>
>R click on Recycle Bin Icon/Properties/Global/ check "Do not move files to R
>Bin..."

Usually an extremely inadvisable thing to do.

>
>
>"David Gorick" <dgorick@adelphia.net> wrote in message
>news:OFolsQBeFHA.1504@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> Everytime I empty my recycle bin I get a dialog box asking me if I'm sure
>> I want to delete it. I've unchecked the "Display delete confirmation
>> dialog" box under the recycle bin properties. Is there a registry key I
>> can hack to make this dialog box go away permanently?
>>
>> Thanks,
>> David
>>
>



---Atreju---


Delete Confirmation