Windows Script Engines - Bug re-introduced????



SilentCode
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
Hi,

I'm experiencing the problem where vbs files can not be run by double
clicking them in explorer if they have long file names.

Registry data:
VBSFile\Shell\Open2\Command:=%11%\CScript.exe %1

where it should be:
%11%\WScript.exe "%1" %*

This is in version : 5.1.2600.2180

Is this a re-introduced bug?
Is there a hot fix for SP2 as well?

Thanks

KM
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
SilentCode,

> I'm experiencing the problem where vbs files can not be run by double
> clicking them in explorer if they have long file names.
>
> Registry data:
> VBSFile\Shell\Open2\Command:=%11%\CScript.exe %1
>
> where it should be:
> %11%\WScript.exe "%1" %*

You were looking at the wrong key. Open2 is responsible for "Open with Command Prompt" menu item in shell.
The key you should take a look at is VBSFile\Shell\Open\Command.

However, the bug is still there (no quotes) and instead of the right (XP Pro) value you mentioned above it says:
%11%\WScript.exe %1

> This is in version : 5.1.2600.2180
>
> Is this a re-introduced bug?
> Is there a hot fix for SP2 as well?


I don't think so.
But you can fix the component in your Configuration by yourself :-)

KM

SilentCode
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
Thanks,

I noticed the error in my post shortly after I sent it. Doh.

I added the fix to my configuration but I'm becoming concerned with the
number of "fixes" that I'm having to make. One more nuance to keep track of,
one more chance to get it wrong.

It's the little things like this that tarnish XP embedded's reputation.
Some of the "out of the box" functionality should work out of the box.

"KM" wrote:

> SilentCode,
>
> > I'm experiencing the problem where vbs files can not be run by double
> > clicking them in explorer if they have long file names.
> >
> > Registry data:
> > VBSFile\Shell\Open2\Command:=%11%\CScript.exe %1
> >
> > where it should be:
> > %11%\WScript.exe "%1" %*
>
> You were looking at the wrong key. Open2 is responsible for "Open with Command Prompt" menu item in shell.
> The key you should take a look at is VBSFile\Shell\Open\Command.
>
> However, the bug is still there (no quotes) and instead of the right (XP Pro) value you mentioned above it says:
> %11%\WScript.exe %1
>
> > This is in version : 5.1.2600.2180
> >
> > Is this a re-introduced bug?
> > Is there a hot fix for SP2 as well?
>
>
> I don't think so.
> But you can fix the component in your Configuration by yourself :-)
>
> KM
>
>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 09:25 PM
SilentCode,

> I added the fix to my configuration but I'm becoming concerned with the
> number of "fixes" that I'm having to make. One more nuance to keep track of,
> one more chance to get it wrong.

It may be easy for you to "upgrage" the MS WSH component.
What you will have to do is:
- Launch the SP2 install and grab the install's SLD files from a temp folder under the root of the drive (cooked.sld, etc.)
- Open the SLD with CD and find the WSH component of SP2
- Either copy the component to a separate SLD file (preferable) or change it in place (cooked.sld). You will have to "update"
the component first.
- Fix the component resources, release it and import in DB.
- Upgrade your Config(s)

If you do the above (basically fixing the problem by yourself) you won't have a need to remember the fix. But just keep your own
version of the component (SLD) in your corp MS QFE folder.

> It's the little things like this that tarnish XP embedded's reputation.
> Some of the "out of the box" functionality should work out of the box.

Well.. I can't comment on behave of Microsoft :-)

KM

>> SilentCode,
>>
>> > I'm experiencing the problem where vbs files can not be run by double
>> > clicking them in explorer if they have long file names.
>> >
>> > Registry data:
>> > VBSFile\Shell\Open2\Command:=%11%\CScript.exe %1
>> >
>> > where it should be:
>> > %11%\WScript.exe "%1" %*
>>
>> You were looking at the wrong key. Open2 is responsible for "Open with Command Prompt" menu item in shell.
>> The key you should take a look at is VBSFile\Shell\Open\Command.
>>
>> However, the bug is still there (no quotes) and instead of the right (XP Pro) value you mentioned above it says:
>> %11%\WScript.exe %1
>>
>> > This is in version : 5.1.2600.2180
>> >
>> > Is this a re-introduced bug?
>> > Is there a hot fix for SP2 as well?
>>
>>
>> I don't think so.
>> But you can fix the component in your Configuration by yourself :-)
>>
>> KM
>>
>>
>>


Windows Script Engines - Bug re-introduced????