Dialog box font error - DB4400Error1.PNG (0/1)



Nicolas Staelens
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Hi,

I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem is
that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
displayed.

Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
me?

As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.

Best regards,

Nicolas

Brad Combs
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Hello Nicholas,

Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned),
missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to troubleshoot maybe try my
font macro at xpefiles. http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17

This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international control
panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry data. Let us know if
it helps,

Brad

"Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message
news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
> Hi,
>
> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem is
> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
> displayed.
>
> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
> me?
>
> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>
> Best regards,
>
> Nicolas

KM
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
[HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]

Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by some local fonts.

KM

> Hello Nicholas,
>
> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned), missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles. http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>
> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
> data. Let us know if it helps,
>
> Brad
>
> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>> Hi,
>>
>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem is
>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>> displayed.
>>
>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>> me?
>>
>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>>
>> Best regards,
>>
>> Nicolas
>
>

Nicolas Staelens
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Hello,

I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.

Best regards,

Nicolas

>It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
>up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
> [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
>
>Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by some local fonts.
>
>KM
>
>> Hello Nicholas,
>>
>> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned), missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
>> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles. http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>>
>> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
>> data. Let us know if it helps,
>>
>> Brad
>>
>> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>>> Hi,
>>>
>>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem is
>>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>>> displayed.
>>>
>>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>>> me?
>>>
>>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>>>
>>> Best regards,
>>>
>>> Nicolas
>>
>>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Nicolas,

Are you sure you are not missing some fonts from your image?

You've got at least two options:
- Try the broken dialog apps with XPPRoEmulation (www.xpefiles.com)
- On a dev machine open the app's exe with VS Resource Editor (just resource section) and see what fonts are used in the dialogs
that you can't see properly.

KM

> Hello,
>
> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
>
> Best regards,
>
> Nicolas
>
>>It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English language support components included in the Configuration) to
>>clean
>>up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
>> [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
>>
>>Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by some local fonts.
>>
>>KM
>>
>>> Hello Nicholas,
>>>
>>> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned), missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
>>> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles. http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>>>
>>> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
>>> data. Let us know if it helps,
>>>
>>> Brad
>>>
>>> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>>>> Hi,
>>>>
>>>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>>>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem is
>>>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>>>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>>>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>>>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>>>> displayed.
>>>>
>>>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>>>> me?
>>>>
>>>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>>>>
>>>> Best regards,
>>>>
>>>> Nicolas
>>>
>>>
>>
>

Paul
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Nicolas,

I've had similar problems with touch screen drivers dialogs... I resolved
the problem by using an application called resource hack (reshack... just
google that one) which allows you to open the EXE, DLL or CPL files and
browse to find the dialog box that is giving you the problem. What is really
useful is under each dialog is a list of all the fonts name that are used by
the dialog. In my case i had to install MS Sans Sharif.

Paul
"Nicolas Staelens" wrote:

> Hello,
>
> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
>
> Best regards,
>
> Nicolas
>
> >It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
> >up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
> > [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
> >
> >Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by some local fonts.
> >
> >KM
> >
> >> Hello Nicholas,
> >>
> >> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned), missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
> >> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles. http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
> >>
> >> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
> >> data. Let us know if it helps,
> >>
> >> Brad
> >>
> >> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
> >>> Hi,
> >>>
> >>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
> >>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem is
> >>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
> >>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
> >>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
> >>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
> >>> displayed.
> >>>
> >>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
> >>> me?
> >>>
> >>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
> >>>
> >>> Best regards,
> >>>
> >>> Nicolas
> >>
> >>
> >
>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Paul,

There is no need for the Resource Hack app (great tool, btw) if you happened
to have VS (any vesion) installed. VS 2003/2005 Resource editor is probably
the best to edit MS resource sections.

KM

> Nicolas,
>
> I've had similar problems with touch screen drivers dialogs... I resolved
> the problem by using an application called resource hack (reshack... just
> google that one) which allows you to open the EXE, DLL or CPL files and
> browse to find the dialog box that is giving you the problem. What is
> really
> useful is under each dialog is a list of all the fonts name that are used
> by
> the dialog. In my case i had to install MS Sans Sharif.
>
> Paul
> "Nicolas Staelens" wrote:
>
>> Hello,
>>
>> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
>> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
>> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
>>
>> Best regards,
>>
>> Nicolas
>>
>> >It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English
>> >language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
>> >up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
>> > [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
>> >
>> >Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by
>> >some local fonts.
>> >
>> >KM
>> >
>> >> Hello Nicholas,
>> >>
>> >> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned),
>> >> missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
>> >> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles.
>> >> http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>> >>
>> >> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international
>> >> control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
>> >> data. Let us know if it helps,
>> >>
>> >> Brad
>> >>
>> >> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message
>> >> news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>> >>> Hi,
>> >>>
>> >>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>> >>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem
>> >>> is
>> >>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>> >>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>> >>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>> >>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>> >>> displayed.
>> >>>
>> >>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>> >>> me?
>> >>>
>> >>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>> >>>
>> >>> Best regards,
>> >>>
>> >>> Nicolas
>> >>
>> >>
>> >
>>
>>

Nicolas Staelens
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Hi,

I opened the exe using resouce editor (Resource Hack & VS .NET 2003).
The only font I could find is "MS Shell Dlg". When I lookup the
registry key 'FontSubstitutes', I see that 'MS Shell Dlg' is mapped to
'Tahoma' and I am sure that this font is Installed. Further, 'MS Shell
Dlg2' maps to 'Microsoft Sans Serif'.
When the FBA is runnig, a dialog box is shown with a progressbar, but
at one time I also see a '#' appearing on that dialog box instead of
readable text.
It is a very strange problem and I don't know how I can fix it.

Best regards,

Nicolas

On Tue, 24 May 2005 10:31:59 -0700, "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com>
wrote:

>Paul,
>
>There is no need for the Resource Hack app (great tool, btw) if you happened
>to have VS (any vesion) installed. VS 2003/2005 Resource editor is probably
>the best to edit MS resource sections.
>
>KM
>
>> Nicolas,
>>
>> I've had similar problems with touch screen drivers dialogs... I resolved
>> the problem by using an application called resource hack (reshack... just
>> google that one) which allows you to open the EXE, DLL or CPL files and
>> browse to find the dialog box that is giving you the problem. What is
>> really
>> useful is under each dialog is a list of all the fonts name that are used
>> by
>> the dialog. In my case i had to install MS Sans Sharif.
>>
>> Paul
>> "Nicolas Staelens" wrote:
>>
>>> Hello,
>>>
>>> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
>>> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
>>> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
>>>
>>> Best regards,
>>>
>>> Nicolas
>>>
>>> >It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English
>>> >language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
>>> >up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
>>> > [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
>>> >
>>> >Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by
>>> >some local fonts.
>>> >
>>> >KM
>>> >
>>> >> Hello Nicholas,
>>> >>
>>> >> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned),
>>> >> missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
>>> >> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles.
>>> >> http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>>> >>
>>> >> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international
>>> >> control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
>>> >> data. Let us know if it helps,
>>> >>
>>> >> Brad
>>> >>
>>> >> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message
>>> >> news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>>> >>> Hi,
>>> >>>
>>> >>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>>> >>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem
>>> >>> is
>>> >>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>>> >>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>>> >>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>>> >>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>>> >>> displayed.
>>> >>>
>>> >>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>>> >>> me?
>>> >>>
>>> >>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>>> >>>
>>> >>> Best regards,
>>> >>>
>>> >>> Nicolas
>>> >>
>>> >>
>>> >
>>>
>>>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 10:25 PM
Nicolas,

Let's finish with the Fonts first. On www.xpefiles.com you will find Fonts.slx project that includes all the fonts from XPe
database. You can add you Platform macro to the project and all software components you set up in your current image. Resolve
dependencies and build the image. If the image don't repro the problem, the issue is a missing Font.

The same can be done to find out if it is a missing dependency issue. Then you can use XPProEmulation image from the same website.

KM

> Hi,
>
> I opened the exe using resouce editor (Resource Hack & VS .NET 2003).
> The only font I could find is "MS Shell Dlg". When I lookup the
> registry key 'FontSubstitutes', I see that 'MS Shell Dlg' is mapped to
> 'Tahoma' and I am sure that this font is Installed. Further, 'MS Shell
> Dlg2' maps to 'Microsoft Sans Serif'.
> When the FBA is runnig, a dialog box is shown with a progressbar, but
> at one time I also see a '#' appearing on that dialog box instead of
> readable text.
> It is a very strange problem and I don't know how I can fix it.
>
> Best regards,
>
> Nicolas
>
> On Tue, 24 May 2005 10:31:59 -0700, "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com>
> wrote:
>
>>Paul,
>>
>>There is no need for the Resource Hack app (great tool, btw) if you happened
>>to have VS (any vesion) installed. VS 2003/2005 Resource editor is probably
>>the best to edit MS resource sections.
>>
>>KM
>>
>>> Nicolas,
>>>
>>> I've had similar problems with touch screen drivers dialogs... I resolved
>>> the problem by using an application called resource hack (reshack... just
>>> google that one) which allows you to open the EXE, DLL or CPL files and
>>> browse to find the dialog box that is giving you the problem. What is
>>> really
>>> useful is under each dialog is a list of all the fonts name that are used
>>> by
>>> the dialog. In my case i had to install MS Sans Sharif.
>>>
>>> Paul
>>> "Nicolas Staelens" wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hello,
>>>>
>>>> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
>>>> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
>>>> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
>>>>
>>>> Best regards,
>>>>
>>>> Nicolas
>>>>
>>>> >It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English
>>>> >language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
>>>> >up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
>>>> > [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
>>>> >
>>>> >Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by
>>>> >some local fonts.
>>>> >
>>>> >KM
>>>> >
>>>> >> Hello Nicholas,
>>>> >>
>>>> >> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned),
>>>> >> missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
>>>> >> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles.
>>>> >> http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>>>> >>
>>>> >> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international
>>>> >> control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
>>>> >> data. Let us know if it helps,
>>>> >>
>>>> >> Brad
>>>> >>
>>>> >> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message
>>>> >> news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>>>> >>> Hi,
>>>> >>>
>>>> >>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>>>> >>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem
>>>> >>> is
>>>> >>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>>>> >>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>>>> >>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>>>> >>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>>>> >>> displayed.
>>>> >>>
>>>> >>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>>>> >>> me?
>>>> >>>
>>>> >>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>>>> >>>
>>>> >>> Best regards,
>>>> >>>
>>>> >>> Nicolas
>>>> >>
>>>> >>
>>>> >
>>>>
>>>>
>>
>

Nicolas
07-09-2005, 10:26 PM
Hi,

I solved the problem by including the 'System Fonts' component in the
image. The component can be downloaded from xpefiles.com (search for
the component 'sysfonts').

Thanks to all for your help,

best regards,

Nicolas



>Nicolas,
>
>Let's finish with the Fonts first. On www.xpefiles.com you will find Fonts.slx project that includes all the fonts from XPe
>database. You can add you Platform macro to the project and all software components you set up in your current image. Resolve
>dependencies and build the image. If the image don't repro the problem, the issue is a missing Font.
>
>The same can be done to find out if it is a missing dependency issue. Then you can use XPProEmulation image from the same website.
>
>KM
>
>> Hi,
>>
>> I opened the exe using resouce editor (Resource Hack & VS .NET 2003).
>> The only font I could find is "MS Shell Dlg". When I lookup the
>> registry key 'FontSubstitutes', I see that 'MS Shell Dlg' is mapped to
>> 'Tahoma' and I am sure that this font is Installed. Further, 'MS Shell
>> Dlg2' maps to 'Microsoft Sans Serif'.
>> When the FBA is runnig, a dialog box is shown with a progressbar, but
>> at one time I also see a '#' appearing on that dialog box instead of
>> readable text.
>> It is a very strange problem and I don't know how I can fix it.
>>
>> Best regards,
>>
>> Nicolas
>>
>> On Tue, 24 May 2005 10:31:59 -0700, "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com>
>> wrote:
>>
>>>Paul,
>>>
>>>There is no need for the Resource Hack app (great tool, btw) if you happened
>>>to have VS (any vesion) installed. VS 2003/2005 Resource editor is probably
>>>the best to edit MS resource sections.
>>>
>>>KM
>>>
>>>> Nicolas,
>>>>
>>>> I've had similar problems with touch screen drivers dialogs... I resolved
>>>> the problem by using an application called resource hack (reshack... just
>>>> google that one) which allows you to open the EXE, DLL or CPL files and
>>>> browse to find the dialog box that is giving you the problem. What is
>>>> really
>>>> useful is under each dialog is a list of all the fonts name that are used
>>>> by
>>>> the dialog. In my case i had to install MS Sans Sharif.
>>>>
>>>> Paul
>>>> "Nicolas Staelens" wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> Hello,
>>>>>
>>>>> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
>>>>> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
>>>>> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
>>>>>
>>>>> Best regards,
>>>>>
>>>>> Nicolas
>>>>>
>>>>> >It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English
>>>>> >language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
>>>>> >up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
>>>>> > [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
>>>>> >
>>>>> >Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by
>>>>> >some local fonts.
>>>>> >
>>>>> >KM
>>>>> >
>>>>> >> Hello Nicholas,
>>>>> >>
>>>>> >> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned),
>>>>> >> missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
>>>>> >> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles.
>>>>> >> http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
>>>>> >>
>>>>> >> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international
>>>>> >> control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
>>>>> >> data. Let us know if it helps,
>>>>> >>
>>>>> >> Brad
>>>>> >>
>>>>> >> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message
>>>>> >> news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
>>>>> >>> Hi,
>>>>> >>>
>>>>> >>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
>>>>> >>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem
>>>>> >>> is
>>>>> >>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
>>>>> >>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
>>>>> >>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
>>>>> >>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
>>>>> >>> displayed.
>>>>> >>>
>>>>> >>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
>>>>> >>> me?
>>>>> >>>
>>>>> >>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
>>>>> >>>
>>>>> >>> Best regards,
>>>>> >>>
>>>>> >>> Nicolas
>>>>> >>
>>>>> >>
>>>>> >
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>
>>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 10:26 PM
Nicolas,

Glad you finally fixed it.
I never knew and worked with Sysfont components from www.xpefiles.com but I was just wondering whether you problem was related to
the OEM fonts?
That was one more "font" fix (beside FontSubstitute) I should suggest to you earlier. Some long time ago I spent whole day figuring
out the OEM font problems on XPE :-(

Thanks for posting info about your problem fix. It always helps others.

--
Regards,
KM, BSquare Corp.


> Hi,
>
> I solved the problem by including the 'System Fonts' component in the
> image. The component can be downloaded from xpefiles.com (search for
> the component 'sysfonts').
>
> Thanks to all for your help,
>
> best regards,
>
> Nicolas
>
>
>
> >Nicolas,
> >
> >Let's finish with the Fonts first. On www.xpefiles.com you will find Fonts.slx project that includes all the fonts from XPe
> >database. You can add you Platform macro to the project and all software components you set up in your current image. Resolve
> >dependencies and build the image. If the image don't repro the problem, the issue is a missing Font.
> >
> >The same can be done to find out if it is a missing dependency issue. Then you can use XPProEmulation image from the same
website.
> >
> >KM
> >
> >> Hi,
> >>
> >> I opened the exe using resouce editor (Resource Hack & VS .NET 2003).
> >> The only font I could find is "MS Shell Dlg". When I lookup the
> >> registry key 'FontSubstitutes', I see that 'MS Shell Dlg' is mapped to
> >> 'Tahoma' and I am sure that this font is Installed. Further, 'MS Shell
> >> Dlg2' maps to 'Microsoft Sans Serif'.
> >> When the FBA is runnig, a dialog box is shown with a progressbar, but
> >> at one time I also see a '#' appearing on that dialog box instead of
> >> readable text.
> >> It is a very strange problem and I don't know how I can fix it.
> >>
> >> Best regards,
> >>
> >> Nicolas
> >>
> >> On Tue, 24 May 2005 10:31:59 -0700, "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com>
> >> wrote:
> >>
> >>>Paul,
> >>>
> >>>There is no need for the Resource Hack app (great tool, btw) if you happened
> >>>to have VS (any vesion) installed. VS 2003/2005 Resource editor is probably
> >>>the best to edit MS resource sections.
> >>>
> >>>KM
> >>>
> >>>> Nicolas,
> >>>>
> >>>> I've had similar problems with touch screen drivers dialogs... I resolved
> >>>> the problem by using an application called resource hack (reshack... just
> >>>> google that one) which allows you to open the EXE, DLL or CPL files and
> >>>> browse to find the dialog box that is giving you the problem. What is
> >>>> really
> >>>> useful is under each dialog is a list of all the fonts name that are used
> >>>> by
> >>>> the dialog. In my case i had to install MS Sans Sharif.
> >>>>
> >>>> Paul
> >>>> "Nicolas Staelens" wrote:
> >>>>
> >>>>> Hello,
> >>>>>
> >>>>> I tried both solutions, but none could fix the error. I still see some
> >>>>> dialog boxes that are unreadable. It is very strange as some dialogs
> >>>>> do display the text correctly, while others are completely unreadable.
> >>>>>
> >>>>> Best regards,
> >>>>>
> >>>>> Nicolas
> >>>>>
> >>>>> >It also helps sometimes (especially if you have some non-English
> >>>>> >language support components included in the Configuration) to clean
> >>>>> >up the following key at runtime (and reboot):
> >>>>> > [HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\FontSubstitutes]
> >>>>> >
> >>>>> >Then some important fonts (like MS Sanf Serif) won't be substitutes by
> >>>>> >some local fonts.
> >>>>> >
> >>>>> >KM
> >>>>> >
> >>>>> >> Hello Nicholas,
> >>>>> >>
> >>>>> >> Sometimes dialog problems are from missing fonts (like you mentioned),
> >>>>> >> missing codepages, sometimes other items. Just to
> >>>>> >> troubleshoot maybe try my font macro at xpefiles.
> >>>>> >> http://www.xpefiles.com/viewtopic.php?t=17
> >>>>> >>
> >>>>> >> This will add some fonts that may be missing, the international
> >>>>> >> control panel (known to fix some DPI issues) and some registry
> >>>>> >> data. Let us know if it helps,
> >>>>> >>
> >>>>> >> Brad
> >>>>> >>
> >>>>> >> "Nicolas Staelens" <N.Staelens@televic.com> wrote in message
> >>>>> >> news:dojo81htpg86hi7fls816hrgahq096530h@4ax.com...
> >>>>> >>> Hi,
> >>>>> >>>
> >>>>> >>> I created an XP embedded image and I have a strange problem when I
> >>>>> >>> want to install other software (on the deployed image). The problem
> >>>>> >>> is
> >>>>> >>> that when I install new software (by using a setup program) some
> >>>>> >>> dialogs are completely unreadable. It is like I don't have the right
> >>>>> >>> font installed to display to text in the dialogboxes. In these dialog
> >>>>> >>> boxes, captions like 'Next' 'Previous' and 'Cancel' aren't even
> >>>>> >>> displayed.
> >>>>> >>>
> >>>>> >>> Does this sound familiar for anyone? And is there anyone who can help
> >>>>> >>> me?
> >>>>> >>>
> >>>>> >>> As attachments, i made a screenshot of such dialog.
> >>>>> >>>
> >>>>> >>> Best regards,
> >>>>> >>>
> >>>>> >>> Nicolas
> >>>>> >>
> >>>>> >>
> >>>>> >
> >>>>>
> >>>>>
> >>>
> >>
> >
>


Dialog box font error - DB4400Error1.PNG (0/1)