Re: RDP & smart cards



dwight
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
Yes I agree it should work with XPe. I have never worked with XPe based
terminals. I have since spoken with Wyse and they assured me that it would
work with XPe. Yes, after thinking about it a little more testing with XPe
proves nothing.
I am in the position to refresh some number of terminals but this not what I
want to do. I am now looking into a Citrix solution. At this time the RDP
within CE5 does not support smart card redirection. I would really like to
see Microsoft fix the RDP in CE5, but it has been this way for a while.

I have not heard of the Eval Toolkit. Whose product is this?

Thanks for the reply


"KM" wrote:

> dwight,
>
> >I am working with a Wyse TC 3150SE running CE 5.0 with RDP 5.5. I am
> > attempting to do smart card authentications to various web sites. I have
> > an
> > ActivCard Reader 2.2 with ActivCard Gold for CAC 3.01 FP2 installed on a
> > Windows 2003 SP1 Terminal Server. Is anyone out there doing such things
> > without using Citrix? This works with out Citrix from a XP PC using RDP
> > but
> > not from a TC in the described set up.
>
> If you made it working from XP Pro, you may be 99.99...% positive you can
> make it working from XPe.
> It would be just a metter of proper componentazation and satisfying
> dependencies of the components you use.
>
> > I have not tried this using XPe does
>
> You can easy try that (with Eval Toolkit, for instance).
> However, it will prove nothing for you CE based terminals.
>
>
> KM
>
>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 10:24 PM
dwight,

> I have not heard of the Eval Toolkit. Whose product is this?


I just meant the XPe Evaluation ToolKit :-)

--
Regards,
KM, BSquare Corp.


> "KM" wrote:
>
> > dwight,
> >
> > >I am working with a Wyse TC 3150SE running CE 5.0 with RDP 5.5. I am
> > > attempting to do smart card authentications to various web sites. I have
> > > an
> > > ActivCard Reader 2.2 with ActivCard Gold for CAC 3.01 FP2 installed on a
> > > Windows 2003 SP1 Terminal Server. Is anyone out there doing such things
> > > without using Citrix? This works with out Citrix from a XP PC using RDP
> > > but
> > > not from a TC in the described set up.
> >
> > If you made it working from XP Pro, you may be 99.99...% positive you can
> > make it working from XPe.
> > It would be just a metter of proper componentazation and satisfying
> > dependencies of the components you use.
> >
> > > I have not tried this using XPe does
> >
> > You can easy try that (with Eval Toolkit, for instance).
> > However, it will prove nothing for you CE based terminals.
> >
> >
> > KM
> >
> >
> >


Re: RDP & smart cards