Re: adding a location in start menu



Pebbles02865
07-09-2005, 11:13 PM
Hi...
With regards to adding a program under Run: Is it possible to add more
than one. I followed the instructions from the link below and noticed
that it will only allow me to put one program there...Is there a
differnt setup to add another...Also, Is there any way to add an icon
other than the folder? My goal is to add both Clipboard and Event
Viewer under Run, but so far I have only accomplished adding one or the
other program, but not the associated icon. Any suggestions?
_________________________________________________________________


Or you can add a folder under Search and Run. Note: If you running
an[/color]
OEM,[color=green]
it will replace their link.

Add a Folder Under the Run Command (Line 180)
http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm


--
Pebbles02865

David Candy
07-09-2005, 11:13 PM
No, they are all hard coded. You are using the one that is hidden on retail builds and on OEM versions has Dell's (or whoever's) Help or Support.

The Start Panel is hard coded to stop program writers adding crap to it. Think programs like Winzip that already add themselves everywhere, but many of the locations were designed for the user's use not a program's use. The left hand column works complicated so program's can't add themselves to it. It's for you to add stuff to.

--
----------------------------------------------------------

"Pebbles02865" <Pebbles02865.1p1p1m@pcbanter.net> wrote in message news:Pebbles02865.1p1p1m@pcbanter.net...
>
> Hi...
> With regards to adding a program under Run: Is it possible to add more
> than one. I followed the instructions from the link below and noticed
> that it will only allow me to put one program there...Is there a
> differnt setup to add another...Also, Is there any way to add an icon
> other than the folder? My goal is to add both Clipboard and Event
> Viewer under Run, but so far I have only accomplished adding one or the
> other program, but not the associated icon. Any suggestions?
> _________________________________________________________________
>
>
> Or you can add a folder under Search and Run. Note: If you running
> an
> OEM,
> it will replace their link.
>
> Add a Folder Under the Run Command (Line 180)
> http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm
>
>
> --
> Pebbles02865

Pebbles02865
07-09-2005, 11:13 PM
Oh, well...Worth the try...Thanks Anyway :)


David Candy Wrote:
> No, they are all hard coded. You are using the one that is hidden on =
> retail builds and on OEM versions has Dell's (or whoever's) Help or =
> Support.
>
> The Start Panel is hard coded to stop program writers adding crap to
> it. =
> Think programs like Winzip that already add themselves everywhere, but
> =
> many of the locations were designed for the user's use not a program's
> =
> use. The <a style='text-decoration: none; border-bottom: 3px double;'
> href="http://www.serverlogic3.com/lm/rtl3.asp?si=22&k=left%20hand"
> onmouseover="window.status='left hand'; return true;"
> onmouseout="window.status=''; return true;">left hand</a> column works
> complicated so program's can't add =
> themselves to it. It's for you to add stuff to.
>
> --=20
> ----------------------------------------------------------
>
> "Pebbles02865" Pebbles02865.1p1p1m@pcbanter.net wrote in message =
> news:Pebbles02865.1p1p1m@pcbanter.net...-
> =20
> Hi...
> With regards to adding a program under Run: Is it possible to add =-
> more-
> than one. I followed the instructions from the link below and
> noticed
> that it will only allow me to put one program there...Is there a
> differnt setup to add another...Also, Is there any way to add an icon
> other than the folder? My goal is to add both Clipboard and Event
> Viewer under Run, but so far I have only accomplished adding one or
> =-
> the-
> other program, but not the associated icon. Any suggestions?
> _________________________________________________________________
> =20
> =20
> Or you can add a folder under Search and Run. Note: If you running
> an
> OEM,
> it will replace their link.
> =20
> Add a Folder Under the Run Command (Line 180)
> http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm
> =20
> =20
> --=20
> Pebbles02865-


--
Pebbles02865


Re: adding a location in start menu