Boot.ini default load options



Claude
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
I use boot.ini to choose between uniprocessor and multiprocessor hals
using the /hal and /kernel switches. I have a hyperthreading Pentium 4
processor but some software won't work with the multiprocessor hal. I
have the uniprocessor hal and kernel named unihal.dll and unikrnl.exe
and I use /hal=unihal.dll and /kernel=unikrnl.exe load options for one
of the menu choices.

My problem is, when using GoToMyPC.com to remotely access my PC, how do
I change the default load options if I need to reboot?

The /default switch in boot.ini only allows you to set the path (I
think - Am I correct?). Since both choices have the same path with
different load options, which one will XP choose if it has to use the
default. Does the order they are listed in matter?

Doug Knox MS-MVP
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
No, it doesn't matter what order they're listed in. The

default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS

is what determines what get's loaded.

You could create BOOT_1.INI and BOOT_2.INI. Each would contain a different Default value. Then use a BAT file to replace BOOT.INI when you need to reboot remotely, copying the approprite INI file in place of BOOT.INI.
--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows Media Center\Windows Powered Smart Display\Security
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.dougknox.com
--------------------------------
Per user Group Policy Restrictions for XP Home and XP Pro
http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

"Claude" <claudew@ix.netcom.com> wrote in message news:1115836746.502129.141900@g14g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
>I use boot.ini to choose between uniprocessor and multiprocessor hals
> using the /hal and /kernel switches. I have a hyperthreading Pentium 4
> processor but some software won't work with the multiprocessor hal. I
> have the uniprocessor hal and kernel named unihal.dll and unikrnl.exe
> and I use /hal=unihal.dll and /kernel=unikrnl.exe load options for one
> of the menu choices.
>
> My problem is, when using GoToMyPC.com to remotely access my PC, how do
> I change the default load options if I need to reboot?
>
> The /default switch in boot.ini only allows you to set the path (I
> think - Am I correct?). Since both choices have the same path with
> different load options, which one will XP choose if it has to use the
> default. Does the order they are listed in matter?
>

Claude
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
OK, I'll try that. But I'm still curious. Both menu choices point to
the same directory (multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS),
differing only in the load options that follow. Can I include load
options in the default= line and if not, what options (if any) will XP
use when it is forced to use the default?

Doug Knox MS-MVP
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
Hi Claude,

As far as I'm aware, you can't include the load options in the Default= line. As far as which line it would use, I would assume the first of the two choices, if they're identical. It doesn't have a way to differentiate between them.

--
Doug Knox, MS-MVP Windows Media Center\Windows Powered Smart Display\Security
Win 95/98/Me/XP Tweaks and Fixes
http://www.dougknox.com
--------------------------------
Per user Group Policy Restrictions for XP Home and XP Pro
http://www.dougknox.com/xp/utils/xp_securityconsole.htm
--------------------------------
Please reply only to the newsgroup so all may benefit.
Unsolicited e-mail is not answered.

"Claude" <claudew@ix.netcom.com> wrote in message news:1115884135.502068.83040@g49g2000cwa.googlegroups.com...
> OK, I'll try that. But I'm still curious. Both menu choices point to
> the same directory (multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS),
> differing only in the load options that follow. Can I include load
> options in the default= line and if not, what options (if any) will XP
> use when it is forced to use the default?
>


Boot.ini default load options