Safe to turn of computer?



HQuinonez
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
When I do a shut down... the computer that I'm installing WinXPe on will go
through the entire shutdown and even go to a black screen, but it can't
completely shut down... as the unit has a manual switch. How do I get
WinXPe to display the "It is safe to turn the computer off" screen?

KM
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
HQuinonez,

> When I do a shut down... the computer that I'm installing WinXPe on will go through the entire shutdown and even go to a black
> screen, but it can't completely shut down... as the unit has a manual switch. How do I get WinXPe to display the "It is safe to
> turn the computer off" screen?

It will only be there if your board is not ACPI compatible (check out BIOS settings) and APM is disabled.

KM

HQuinonez
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
Looks like I should disable those features... as the board supports it.. but
the way the P.S. is setup... you have to manually turn the unit off.

"KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:Os0X7FjWFHA.1240@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> HQuinonez,
>
>> When I do a shut down... the computer that I'm installing WinXPe on will
>> go through the entire shutdown and even go to a black screen, but it
>> can't completely shut down... as the unit has a manual switch. How do I
>> get WinXPe to display the "It is safe to turn the computer off" screen?
>
> It will only be there if your board is not ACPI compatible (check out BIOS
> settings) and APM is disabled.
>
> KM
>
>

KM
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
HQuinonez,

You can try to switch to Standard PC HAL instead of an ACPI one. But no promise it is going to show the Turn off screen with ACPI
board. You will have to give it a try.

--
Regards,
KM, BSquare Corp.


> Looks like I should disable those features... as the board supports it.. but
> the way the P.S. is setup... you have to manually turn the unit off.
>
> "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:Os0X7FjWFHA.1240@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> > HQuinonez,
> >
> >> When I do a shut down... the computer that I'm installing WinXPe on will
> >> go through the entire shutdown and even go to a black screen, but it
> >> can't completely shut down... as the unit has a manual switch. How do I
> >> get WinXPe to display the "It is safe to turn the computer off" screen?
> >
> > It will only be there if your board is not ACPI compatible (check out BIOS
> > settings) and APM is disabled.
> >
> > KM
> >
> >
>
>

Andrew Roy
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
We have the same situation and we use the Standard PC HAL instead of ACPI.
It does show the "It is safe to turn the computer off" just as you would
expect.

Andrew

"KM" wrote:

> HQuinonez,
>
> You can try to switch to Standard PC HAL instead of an ACPI one. But no promise it is going to show the Turn off screen with ACPI
> board. You will have to give it a try.
>
> --
> Regards,
> KM, BSquare Corp.
>
>
> > Looks like I should disable those features... as the board supports it.. but
> > the way the P.S. is setup... you have to manually turn the unit off.
> >
> > "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> wrote in message
> > news:Os0X7FjWFHA.1240@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
> > > HQuinonez,
> > >
> > >> When I do a shut down... the computer that I'm installing WinXPe on will
> > >> go through the entire shutdown and even go to a black screen, but it
> > >> can't completely shut down... as the unit has a manual switch. How do I
> > >> get WinXPe to display the "It is safe to turn the computer off" screen?
> > >
> > > It will only be there if your board is not ACPI compatible (check out BIOS
> > > settings) and APM is disabled.
> > >
> > > KM
> > >
> > >
> >
> >
>
>
>

HQuinonez
07-09-2005, 09:24 PM
THANKS! I'm in the process of trying to get our vendor to support an ATX
P.S. instead of the AT one that is currently in the machine. We have a few
POS clients that are asking for that, so hopefully this will become a
non-issue, but until then... at least I have a solution. Thanks again!

"Andrew Roy" <Yakima, WA> wrote in message
news:87ECE2A6-4233-42FE-9EF2-7A11C45D3021@microsoft.com...
> We have the same situation and we use the Standard PC HAL instead of ACPI.
> It does show the "It is safe to turn the computer off" just as you would
> expect.
>
> Andrew
>
> "KM" wrote:
>
>> HQuinonez,
>>
>> You can try to switch to Standard PC HAL instead of an ACPI one. But no
>> promise it is going to show the Turn off screen with ACPI
>> board. You will have to give it a try.
>>
>> --
>> Regards,
>> KM, BSquare Corp.
>>
>>
>> > Looks like I should disable those features... as the board supports
>> > it.. but
>> > the way the P.S. is setup... you have to manually turn the unit off.
>> >
>> > "KM" <konstmor@nospam_yahoo.com> wrote in message
>> > news:Os0X7FjWFHA.1240@TK2MSFTNGP14.phx.gbl...
>> > > HQuinonez,
>> > >
>> > >> When I do a shut down... the computer that I'm installing WinXPe on
>> > >> will
>> > >> go through the entire shutdown and even go to a black screen, but it
>> > >> can't completely shut down... as the unit has a manual switch. How
>> > >> do I
>> > >> get WinXPe to display the "It is safe to turn the computer off"
>> > >> screen?
>> > >
>> > > It will only be there if your board is not ACPI compatible (check out
>> > > BIOS
>> > > settings) and APM is disabled.
>> > >
>> > > KM
>> > >
>> > >
>> >
>> >
>>
>>
>>


Safe to turn of computer?