new XP Home Computer, and Unable to Send files/FTP (downloading da



CJ
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
Hi,
I have a new HP, Home Edition XP V 2002, SP 2. Pent 4, 3.066 GHZ, running
512 RAM on a 200G HD.

I am a web designer, and MUST send files and use FTP programs daily. Since
getting the machine this week, I've already tried:
1. Uninstalling Norton Internet Pack
2. Turning Off Firewalls
3. Setting Up FTP for Passive Mode
4. Setting Exceptions for Ports and Programs
5. Unchecking the "Use Passive FTP" in the Tools menu.

I've been on the phone with my ISP for literally 3 hours at a time, (I am
learning all forms of language.)

I've directly connected my computer to the Satellite Modem, and tried it on
a netgear firewall box and then a netgear port box... nothing, and I mean
nothing is working. When I try to use testmy.net, and other speed test sites,
I can ping, but I can't upload.

I called HP, and they said since I can Ping, it's not something they know
how to fix.

help? I've had to use dialup, so I know that the computer CAN ftp, it simply
won't on high speed broadband lines.

Thanks for any assistance.

Andrew E.
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
Try help/support in xp start menu,select tools,network diagnostics,see what it
shows after the tests.

"CJ" wrote:

> Hi,
> I have a new HP, Home Edition XP V 2002, SP 2. Pent 4, 3.066 GHZ, running
> 512 RAM on a 200G HD.
>
> I am a web designer, and MUST send files and use FTP programs daily. Since
> getting the machine this week, I've already tried:
> 1. Uninstalling Norton Internet Pack
> 2. Turning Off Firewalls
> 3. Setting Up FTP for Passive Mode
> 4. Setting Exceptions for Ports and Programs
> 5. Unchecking the "Use Passive FTP" in the Tools menu.
>
> I've been on the phone with my ISP for literally 3 hours at a time, (I am
> learning all forms of language.)
>
> I've directly connected my computer to the Satellite Modem, and tried it on
> a netgear firewall box and then a netgear port box... nothing, and I mean
> nothing is working. When I try to use testmy.net, and other speed test sites,
> I can ping, but I can't upload.
>
> I called HP, and they said since I can Ping, it's not something they know
> how to fix.
>
> help? I've had to use dialup, so I know that the computer CAN ftp, it simply
> won't on high speed broadband lines.
>
> Thanks for any assistance.
>
>
>

CJ
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
Thanks Andrew,
This was the result, and it appears all has passed. This is why I'm so
flustered. They even asked me to take out SP2, but that's tough on the second
computer..its' a mac.:
DNS Passed
Gateways Passed
No listings under DHCP Server- Passed
IP Address Passed
Nothing under Network Client
localhost Passed

Sharon F
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
On Sun, 12 Jun 2005 21:44:02 -0700, CJ wrote:

> Hi,
> I have a new HP, Home Edition XP V 2002, SP 2. Pent 4, 3.066 GHZ, running
> 512 RAM on a 200G HD.
>
> I am a web designer, and MUST send files and use FTP programs daily. Since
> getting the machine this week, I've already tried:
> 1. Uninstalling Norton Internet Pack
> 2. Turning Off Firewalls
> 3. Setting Up FTP for Passive Mode
> 4. Setting Exceptions for Ports and Programs
> 5. Unchecking the "Use Passive FTP" in the Tools menu.
>
> I've been on the phone with my ISP for literally 3 hours at a time, (I am
> learning all forms of language.)
>
> I've directly connected my computer to the Satellite Modem, and tried it on
> a netgear firewall box and then a netgear port box... nothing, and I mean
> nothing is working. When I try to use testmy.net, and other speed test sites,
> I can ping, but I can't upload.
>
> I called HP, and they said since I can Ping, it's not something they know
> how to fix.
>
> help? I've had to use dialup, so I know that the computer CAN ftp, it simply
> won't on high speed broadband lines.
>
> Thanks for any assistance.

I would have put money on passive FTP being toggled on (or off) having
worked for resolving this issue on your end. What about user
authentication? One of the Windows updates changed how an url including
user name/password works so you might try this method for setting up a
connection to the ftp server instead:
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;308416

My only other suggestion would be to seek out user forums for your service
and ask other subscribers how they are connecting to their ftp space.
There's an off chance that someone may mention a detail that you and the
ISP support are missing. Also should mention that I usually find more
helpful info in the forums at www.broadbandreports.net then I find in my
own ISP's support areas.

--
Sharon F
MS-MVP ~ Windows Shell/User

CJ
07-09-2005, 11:12 PM
one of the Windows updates changed how an url including
> user name/password works so you might try this method for setting up a
> connection to the ftp server instead:
> http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;308416
>

Thanks very much Sharon...I tried this and the setup asks for a port
setting, but doesn't offer my ethernet port as an option, (just LP1, and Com3)

I will do as suggested and check the other boards. You've both been so very
much more helpful than you can imagine. I've learned a lot from both of you.


new XP Home Computer, and Unable to Send files/FTP (downloading da