"Accent" and "Grave accent" on keyboard



Svein Terje Gaup
07-10-2005, 12:11 AM
Hi, I have a problem with my keyboad that i quite annoying. I cannot type
the "Accent" or "Grave accent" characters directly on the keyboard, but have
to get them from the "Character map". For instance I want to write the word
"Samigiella" (means "Sami language") that should have an accent on the first
"a", like this "Sāmigiella". I have to go to Word, then select Insert
Symbol, to get the character.

It used to work by me pressing first "Alt-Gr" + the "Backslash" key, then
the character that should be accented. Now when I do this two-step process,
during the first step two accents are displayed immediately ( ´´ or `` ), so
I cannot get them over the letter where I want them,

I have a Norwegian keyboard layout (layout ID=414). The keyboad is a
Standrad 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 keyboard. Codepages: ANSI
1252, OEM 850.

Hope someone can please tell me what to do to fix this problem...

Sincerely
Svein Terje Gaup

Svein Terje Gaup
07-10-2005, 12:11 AM
By the way, I cannot use the character map. It only gives me an "Accent" and
no character to be "accented", so I have to use Word: Insert > Symbol.

"Svein Terje Gaup" <gaupen@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:O7z8ed5XFHA.160@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
> Hi, I have a problem with my keyboad that i quite annoying. I cannot type
> the "Accent" or "Grave accent" characters directly on the keyboard, but
> have to get them from the "Character map". For instance I want to write
> the word "Samigiella" (means "Sami language") that should have an accent
> on the first "a", like this "Sāmigiella". I have to go to Word, then
> select Insert Symbol, to get the character.
>
> It used to work by me pressing first "Alt-Gr" + the "Backslash" key, then
> the character that should be accented. Now when I do this two-step
> process, during the first step two accents are displayed immediately ( ´´
> or `` ), so I cannot get them over the letter where I want them,
>
> I have a Norwegian keyboard layout (layout ID=414). The keyboad is a
> Standrad 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 keyboard. Codepages: ANSI
> 1252, OEM 850.
>
> Hope someone can please tell me what to do to fix this problem...
>
> Sincerely
> Svein Terje Gaup
>
>

Svein Terje Gaup
07-10-2005, 12:11 AM
Found the explanation. I've been using a keylogger to record my actions
during my working time (Home Keylogger), and this program was the reason for
the problem. When I stop the program, the problem is gone.

Sincerely
Svein Terje Gaup

"Svein Terje Gaup" <gaupen@yahoo.com> wrote in message
news:%23I6fIg5XFHA.2520@TK2MSFTNGP09.phx.gbl...
> By the way, I cannot use the character map. It only gives me an "Accent"
> and no character to be "accented", so I have to use Word: Insert > Symbol.
>
> "Svein Terje Gaup" <gaupen@yahoo.com> wrote in message
> news:O7z8ed5XFHA.160@TK2MSFTNGP15.phx.gbl...
>> Hi, I have a problem with my keyboad that i quite annoying. I cannot type
>> the "Accent" or "Grave accent" characters directly on the keyboard, but
>> have to get them from the "Character map". For instance I want to write
>> the word "Samigiella" (means "Sami language") that should have an accent
>> on the first "a", like this "Sāmigiella". I have to go to Word, then
>> select Insert Symbol, to get the character.
>>
>> It used to work by me pressing first "Alt-Gr" + the "Backslash" key, then
>> the character that should be accented. Now when I do this two-step
>> process, during the first step two accents are displayed immediately ( ´´
>> or `` ), so I cannot get them over the letter where I want them,
>>
>> I have a Norwegian keyboard layout (layout ID=414). The keyboad is a
>> Standrad 101/102-Key or Microsoft Natural PS/2 keyboard. Codepages: ANSI
>> 1252, OEM 850.
>>
>> Hope someone can please tell me what to do to fix this problem...
>>
>> Sincerely
>> Svein Terje Gaup
>>
>>
>
>


"Accent" and "Grave accent" on keyboard